Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it
I really enjoyed the first game so I had high expectations and it didn't disappoint, it was a really good game. I love post apocalyptic games and this has it's own edge to it. You do need to play the first game to have a true understanding to what is going on with the politics and the monsters you are fighting but if you take your time and listen to the gossip of the ai's...
Published 17 months ago by pyroslasher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stilted play. Cut scenes
I haven't played the previous game but really wanted to like this game after reading lots of positive reviews. Also like the whole post apocalypse in Russia thing. But unfortunately this game is not very good at all. As a previous reviewer has already commented, the whole thing is punctuated with really long and really boring cut scenes. Its like the developers really...
Published 12 months ago by The JBP


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 21 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed the first game so I had high expectations and it didn't disappoint, it was a really good game. I love post apocalyptic games and this has it's own edge to it. You do need to play the first game to have a true understanding to what is going on with the politics and the monsters you are fighting but if you take your time and listen to the gossip of the ai's and the storyline its self you will be able to pick up the most of what happened in the first game.

Anyway, the graphics are great and the game play is solid (just make sure you have enough filters when you go outside, Or it can get a bit annoying).

I would recommend playing metro 2033 first if you haven't already as it is a great game and it would give you a great understanding of what is going on.

I hope this review was helpful enough. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No reggrets!, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I usually dont buy single player games at launch due to them not holding their value, however this was an exception. The story is dark, deep and full of twists. My first play-through I completed in under 12 hours. However it has multiple play-throughs due to the "karma" system that runs behind the scenes. Saving D6 or destroying it is your choice! take your time to listen to the conversations of the NPC's and take in the scenery, its beautifully in a weird dark way :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Light proves itself as a AAA contender, 26 May 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So perhaps you missed Metro 2033? Maybe you played it and delved into the ruins of post apocalyptic Moscow and the deep, dark and infested tunnels of the metro system beneath the surface? I suppose it doesn't really matter because even though Last Light continues on from the first game you can instantly dive into this offering and enjoy a very unique experience.

In not so many words you are Artyom: a survivor and now a ranger. You live beneath the radiated surface of Russia, inhabiting the metro tunnels with your comrades and fellow survivors. The tunnels offer safety and refuge from the blighted surface above but the deep, eerily silent underground is home to it's own monsters....and quite a few Germans too.

The story sees our hero tasked with locating a Dark One. For those not familiar with Metro or it's lore; the Dark Ones used to inhabit Russia until Artyom launched a few warheads at their nest at the end of the last game. Basically these creatures are tall, long of limb and very alien looking. When news reaches Artyom that one of the Dark Ones survived he sets out to find it...and eliminate it, despite his own conflicting emotions and guilt of pretty much wiping them out. So the journey begins.

Graphically the game is wonderful and the lighting effects really make for some atmospheric exploration. Skulking through the pitch black with your flashlight and a petrol lighter really change the dynamics of your location. The tunnels take on a new menace and the shadows and reflections are really effective. Although you'll visit the wind-swept, rain drenched and highly radiated surface the most satisfying jaunt of the game is navigating the metro system. You'll come across Nazi's (bad guys), mutants that are afraid of the light and some very ghostly apparitions. I cannot really call Last Light survival horror but it certainly plays on your emotions and nerves. You have to understand that Artyoms' world is very realized and drawn out. From conversations between NPC's to the hidden notes and story-related items you find: you become immersed in the adventure and it is a terribly grim world where the true monsters are not always the arachnid horrors that lurk in the dark.

You can carry three weapons, knives, grenades and you have some special kit too. There are no perks, no leveling up and nothing to distract you from the fact that ammunition is currency in the metro world. Despite only having a moderate gun selection each weapon can be modified, adding that custom-twang that we gamers so love nowadays. Grab an AK; stick a night-vision sight on it, a silencer and all of a sudden you are a predator. Light plays two roles in this game.
Facing off against Human foes means destroying light sources, sneaking in for stealth kills and basically taking out a lot of bad guys with the grace of a fully trained killer. Of course you can simply run around blowing people away with a shotgun and causing as much havoc as you see fit: but really that isn't what Last Light is about.
In other areas of the game you'll be relying on the light to keep you safe. Some of the monsters you face will back off if you cast your flashlight in their direction. Given that your batteries need to be recharged and generators need to be switched on to light areas up - you'll find the tension racks up to high levels as you fumble around in the dark listening intently for the sound of multi-legged horrors with sharp fangs.

Even though Metro is something of a linear game there are still side areas waiting to be explored. It's during these moments outside of following your goals that Artyom comes across another kind of terror.
I need to just clarify that this game does not use jumpy bits to scare you. Oh no. The developers have gone beyond that and added "don't blink or you'll miss it" moments.
For example you are scavenging for ammo and weapons. Quite common considering the higher difficulty settings severely reduce supplies and every bullet counts. Remember that.
So you are wandering through some burnt out buildings and ruined offices when suddenly you catch a flicker of movement just at the edge of your vision. You look but there is nothing there. But take a step back, look again and you'll see a shadowy outline of a person. Yes a ghostly shadow is standing right infront of you and to be honest if you add a combination of excellent game sound and effects, deserted locations filled with the dead and a flashlight for company these encounters will make your spine tingle. Very effective.

The more you accustom yourself to Last Light the more these encounters and their meaning become background scenery. Bad things have happened and perhaps the ghosts of the past still feel the need to haunt the ruined Earth that they once loved? Either way you'll accept the world and how things are.

There are so many great things about Last Light that will grab the attention of the mature audience. This is not COD and it certainly is not a typical run and gun experience. It's a very touching tale that will sit with you long after the end credits have rolled.

It's such a step up from the last game and hard to fault. Currently the game is £29.99 and worth every penny. If you want something more than a typical FPS affair then this game is a must play. It deserves to sit alongside the likes of Bioshock for the simple fact that it's world and politics are fully realized and believable. I hope I never live to see a nuclear war......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stilted play. Cut scenes, 18 Dec 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I haven't played the previous game but really wanted to like this game after reading lots of positive reviews. Also like the whole post apocalypse in Russia thing. But unfortunately this game is not very good at all. As a previous reviewer has already commented, the whole thing is punctuated with really long and really boring cut scenes. Its like the developers really wanted to make a movie rather than a game. Unfortunately, the gameplay itself hardly makes up for it. Its just too stilted and the game design is just two controlling. I know its not meant to be a sandbox open world environment, but half the time you have so little choice as to what to do as to make the whole thing slightly ludicrous. Like when your character is accompanied by another character (computer controlled, its single player) and that character basically forces you to act in a certain way.

I have to say that I'm very disappointed in this and don't understand why so many people have given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmosphere and horror, a great game, 1 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Metro Last Light and the first game Metro 2033, like The Darkness, are wonderful little gems many may not have heard of or decided to purchase due to mainstream titles taking the spot light. Yet this game far surpasses call of duty and battlefield with what it delivers.

The storyline is authentic and keeps you entertained, with twists and such (the whole game is set in a grim post apocalyptic Russia, both in underground metro cities, dark dilapidated places and the baron surface, the game taken from the novel of the same name) it doesn't fail to give a realistic insight into the after effects of nuclear war.

The weapons are customizable and there's a good few, all fairly unique. There's equipment and containers/bodies can be looted. Lights etc can be interacted with. The AI is almost spot on (aside from not reacting always to fellow dead enemies, though could be dependent on light)
The visuals are quite lovely, really creating a gritty dark world where light can be a biggest ally or permanent threat.

For me the games biggest feat is the horror and atmosphere it manages to create. The claustrophobia and tension as you slowly walk through toxic water surrounded by odd growths that pulsate and split open with creatures, getting bogged down by a mass of webs as your lighter turns them into embers, then hearing something behind you or scurry across the ceiling. Your breathing becomes heavier and condensation on the visor as you run low on oxygen and must change the filter. A creature then darts towards you as you unload your double barrel into it, it's body contorting through the air as blood smears your visor, you press LB to wipe it clear and continue forward through the dark. Hoping your flashlight has enough charge until you're at least in the clear. The good storyline and convincing voice talent it dialog is also much welcomed.

Though it helps to have played the first game, I'd definitely recommend this game, it was worth the money.

How IGN can give band wagon games like Halo 4 and COD almost a 10/10 and this game a 7.2... well you can't spell ignorance without IGN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars then it builds slowly guns gameplay gets better then more atmosphere, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok so starts off slow abit eerie and atmospheric guns abit weak ....then it builds slowly guns gameplay gets better then more atmosphere ,action ,story then I would say in the last third of the game it the story ,fight game play turns into something more cinematic it's understated but the visuals engage you , an old game turns into a sublime shooter absolute bargain , gave my Xbox to my lad now for mine craft with trepidation the Xbox one I got for my birthday is in its box still in its box I've got alien,wolfenstein, and just got evil but don't seem to be looking forward to this console as I was the last ones it's all about the money men now Quality sucks in their eyes I'll just buy bargain bucket from now on consoldom is on its downfall just like every thing !!rip apple ,rip Microsoft .bring on RAge 2 , dead space 4, proper res evil! Gears!,crysis4 and a proper call of duty no, ! Cash ins we r bored ,sorry tired old gamer :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love this game and the first, yes there's a lot of script to listen to but that's because it's meant to tell a story but if that isn't what you want I'd suggest finding another game. I'd recommend this game to people who have played the first or enjoy a game that has a great story. The bugs are a little annoying but not enough to make me nor my partner to stop playing, we've pretty much played through the entire thing and only encountered 1 bug that made us need to restart the chapter. Give it a try, it's an excellent game if you give it a chance and you'll really enjoy it if you like having a story told to you while playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet Artyom! Happy-go-lucky citizen of the Moscow Metro and Post-Apocolyptic survivor!!, 16 Oct 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Thought the game was great, well written and immersive.

The story is a little short compared to it's predecessor but far more playable, with a twisting plot
and the opportunities to change your destiny through your actions
sometimes so thin that it can be hard to see what's right is great! This adds to the Agency of/ connection with,
the character you play, as he (or you) has their flaws which manifest into unique scenarios depending what course you take.
The atmospherics of the game are it's party piece, making the game a stand-out addition to the gaming world.

Well worth the time to play and Udaèi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great x-box game, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. R. G. Goshawk (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Iam not a great fan of 1st person shooters, but this is very enjoyable and plays great on x-box. plus the story is good and you have a great choice of weapons to play with, its also got amazing graphics which supprised me, and helped to make this one of the best new first person shooters this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metro Last Light (Xbox 360), 23 Jun 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
On a technical level, this game is excellent. The graphics of the environment and characters are top notch. The plot is immersive. I am not one for alien, or monster type games. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this game in that I played far more than I usually do with games of this ilk.

There are times in the game where you don't come in to contact with creatures, instead the gameplay is similar to a stealth-action game. For those people who do like shooting creatures and defeating enemy humans stealthy, then this is a game for you. There is no multiplayer aspect, however as the game's storyline and graphics are so good, it doesn't seem to be a negative factor. I recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metro Last Light (Xbox 360)
Metro Last Light (Xbox 360) by Deep Silver (Xbox 360)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews