Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I really like it but.....
I really like it but if you're looking for intresting battle's this is not for you heavy focus on the empire building and trading
Published 5 months ago by storm

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't shiver anyones timbers
I was really looking forward to this latest version of Port Royale, as the PS3 is sadly lacking in decent strategy games. Unfortunately though, while this is easier to control and manage than certain others, it just isn't very interesting.

The basic game allows you to play as either an Adventurer or a Merchant in a pre-scripted, badly animated storyline. The...
Published on 12 Sept. 2012 by Neil Lennon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't shiver anyones timbers, 12 Sept. 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to this latest version of Port Royale, as the PS3 is sadly lacking in decent strategy games. Unfortunately though, while this is easier to control and manage than certain others, it just isn't very interesting.

The basic game allows you to play as either an Adventurer or a Merchant in a pre-scripted, badly animated storyline. The basic game play however, remains the same - sailing your convoy around the Carribean buying and selling goods. As the badly lip synched tutorial tells you early on, its best to buy from ports where stock is high and sell where stock is low. Well, durr.

As well as trading you can fight sea battles, but these are drab, poorly animated affairs with little tactics involved. Scant attention is paid to making it realistic (such as considering the direction the wind is blowing for instance), and at the same time the graphics are dull and unexciting compared to say, Total War's sea battles.

Exploration is fairly limited as well, as it takes about ten minutes to sail round the whole map and discover all the unexplored ports.

Scripted missions meanwhile involve basic travel from A to B type affairs. Or specific requests to trade in certain goods. Oh the thrill of it.

What is most dissapointing is what this game could have been like. Come on, we've all seen Pirates of the Carribean. How about a game where you get to design your own pirate character, work your way up to become captain of a ship, earn your pieces of eight searching for hidden treasure and battling on the high seas. In Port Royale you don't even get to name or modify your own ship, it all works around fleets of standardised vessels. Dull, boring, yawn.

So, all in all, not what I was hoping for. Yes, if I had several hours to waste I could spend it trading imaginary goods and carrying them back and forth so I can earn more money to buy more uninteresting ships and trade more imaginary goods back and forth. But frankly I'd rather walk the plank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Robbed, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
Could have bought this much cheaper on the high st, this is very retro and have only rated it as highly as I have because I thoroghly enjoyed "pirates" on my commadore.
So nostalgia increases the rating, the graphics are old school and it is very difficult to master the controls espescially in battle.
With hindsight should have left it in dry dock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just dont get how this is meant to be fun, 29 Jan. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
The title for this review really sums this game up, dont get what the point is, the game is very boring, nothing really happens, combat is dull, the tutorials writing is so small you need x men powers to be able to read it and to be quite honest it is very difficult to understand what you are meant to be doing or how you are even able to do it.This might just be one of the worst games for ps3, if your hoping for some kind of pirate civilization game, its not even close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really like it but....., 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
I really like it but if you're looking for intresting battle's this is not for you heavy focus on the empire building and trading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool trade game., 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
if you like trading games, then this is a good place to start. all on screen instructions are easy to follow and you'll be sailing the seven seas in no time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrrr that be good, 18 May 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
If you like strategic kind of games then you'll love this, good overall atmosphere and great playability.
Even if strategy games aren't your favourite it is a homage to the old Caribbean and the pirates and merchants who made this area an exciting but very dangerous place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars port royale 3, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
I chose this rating because I like it a lot.
It is very good and the action and figures are so life like.
I would definitely recommend this to all those that are interested in Pirates and also for the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
The game brings together three different game styles - trading, adventures and city building. This gives opportunity to mix them as you like in a single game and significantly decreases the possibility to get borred.

City building reminds me about Anno 1701. You are able to build different businesses in different cities and connect them with trading convoys to supply raw materials and sell the goods. There are really smart pre setup trading strategies that you can assign to trading convoys and even create a custom one with exact goods and quantities. Going further in the game this allows you to create a very complex produce_and_trade network with little management. If something requires your attention you get notified, so once you setup your income generators you are able to focus on adventure, missions, trading :)

On the Naval map opening the city buildings list without entering into the city, is a fantastic feature which makes you feel the game is going fast because you don't have to search for every building in the city to accomplish a mission, check for new one, trade, visit the tavern and so on. What I don't like is that you can not zoom in enough. A good feature is that military ships are coloured in red so you can easily see what kind of a ship is coming.

The naval battles can be done in Automatic mode which does not force you to fight every time and you can take care for other activities that you like. In manual mode battles are not very easy at first but when you complete several, things are getting better. During my first ship boarding I expected that there will be an interactive fight between the captains (like in Sid Mayer's Pirates) but the outcome is being decided only by math :)

I was impressed by the Vilain feature in the tavern (destroys one good in the city storage which makes its price high). It's so natural to have it but i was not expecting it. Captain trainers on the other hand are very expensive and it looks to me that their price is always around 90% of your current balance. This makes it a hard call if you want to spend that much coin for 1 point which can be earned through battling enemy ships. Treasure hunting is a little bit boring. There is no real search for it once you know where is the place on the naval map. I expected that the maps are for land and you will be able to walk a smal party and search for the treasure.

Overall i think that game is fantastic, the graphics are very good and the gameplay is intuitive and easy to master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
I never played the game on a computer, but for the first time the playstation game is nice. It is rather realistic (correct map, supply and demand evolves when you buy or sell things...
Very nice :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OH DEAR MY MISTAKE !!!, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
A. BROWN "OLD GIT" (YARNTON ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) (Video Game)
THIS DOES NOT EVEN MATCH UP TO THE OLD PIRATE GAME I PLAYED WITH MY TODLER SON ON PS 1 A DECADE OR SO AGO NO GRAPHICS AT ALL JUST MAPS,SAD STRICTLY FOR NURDS AND THOSE SUBJECT IO FITS,NOT FOR GAMERS BE WARNED.MAKE ME AN OFFER I WILL SEND IT TO YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3)
Port Royale 3: Pirates and Merchants (PS3) by Kalypso Media (PlayStation 3)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews