Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solwise 500AV Homeplug
As stated push, plug and play, it really is that simple.
Instant solid connections to devices (also purchased the homeplug single port).
PS3 wired connection more stable than wirelss (1 month on, no dropouts to report)
Streaming all working well, in all excellent product.
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by Fields71

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great when they work.
On my third one- when they work they are great- but so far they seems to fail- around the 12 month mark!
Published 5 months ago by Slave23d


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solwise 500AV Homeplug, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
As stated push, plug and play, it really is that simple.
Instant solid connections to devices (also purchased the homeplug single port).
PS3 wired connection more stable than wirelss (1 month on, no dropouts to report)
Streaming all working well, in all excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Netflix, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
I bought this home plug and a "500AV Homeplug with mains passthrough" to work with Netflix running on my PlayStation 3. Watching films is silky smooth, so the home plugs are clearing do a very good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome speed and security increase after entering password and creating private network using supplied utility on CD, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
Bought the combo pack of 4 port solwise powerline gigabit aadapter and power pass through single port powerline solwise adapter from amazon marketplace seller pixel heaven. But since i bought the combo pack it does not show here on the individual packs that i bought it from amazon and am verified purchase reviewer. Quirks of amazon reviews unfortunately. But if you see my combo pack (which is cheaper :) ) review it will show as I am verified amazon purchase reviewer. Just posting the review on the individual packs as well as many might buy the individual packs instead of the combo packs like me.

PLUS POINTS: Speed 325 to 425Mbps :) after using passwords and private network creation, price, wakes up easily from power saving mode unlike many other popular adapters from TPL link that seem to be very popular on amazon even though they are costlier and not power efficient, password protection and private network security using power packet utility on CD, upto 64 nodes for increasing size of network, upto 300 metres range

NEGATIVE POINTS: Nothing really :) but instructions for the password protection and private network creation could have been better or even a video. Anyway I have made youtube uploads which are linked at the bottom. So check it out. Synching is not always 2 secs by pressing the synch buttons and password rest is not always 10secs on all the adapters and can be 20 secs on some. But not really a negative point, just mentioning for the sake of completion.

Please note that like all powerline adapters from all manufacturers this can interfere with HAM radio signals and DAB radios etc, hence why i bought shielded cables but even your house wiring can act as antennas creating interference for HAM radios and terrestrial radio transmission reception.

Slower speeds and security like all other powerline adapters if you dont enter passwords and create private network. PLEASE NOTE THAT SIGNALS (from all brands of powerline adapters) HAVE BEEN DEMONSTRATED TO BE INTERCEPTED IN NEIGHBOURING HOUSES EVEN ACROSS THE POWER POLE OUTSIDE YOUR HOUSE FOR ALL POWERLINE ADAPTERS ON YOUTUBE SO PLEASE ENTER AND CREATE PRIVATE NETWORK so others cant intercept your signals and data. DONT BELIEVE THE MARKETING CRAP THAT SAYS POWERLINE ADAPTER SIGNALS DONT GO OUTSIDE HOUSE ELECTRIC METER that is found on many websites including review websites. The signals can go outside your power meter (especially electronic meters) and even across power poles (but not transformers) to other houses and even easier in apartment blocks. There are enough youtube videos of it crossing into other houses.

I researched almost all powerline adapters available on amazon and ebay and trusted reviews and cnet etc and decided to buy this one. It was cheaper than the others. I bought 3 of the 4 port gigabit ethernet ones and two of the gigabit single port power pass through powerline adapters from solwise.

Really happy with the purchase. The customer service and speed of delivery from pixelheaven was great too. I bought two (each with 4 port gigabit adapters and single port power pass through ones) combo packs form pixelheaven and also a separate 4 port gigabit adapter from pixelheaven on amazon.

Synchs easily out of the box by pressing the synch button and got speeds of 185Mbps to 245Mbps for all five of them. I plugged the single port power pass through adapter to my router and the others spread around the house.

SPEEDS AND SECURITY CAN BE INCREASED in my experience by entering the passwords and creating a private network using the power packet utility supplied on the CD. First clear the memory on all the devices by long pressing the device synch buttons after plugging it in to power. Long press for 10-20 seconds as some of the adapters needed 20 secs and some ten secs. Then all the lights flash and green comes on which means the old codes have been wiped. Then synch them again together by pressing the synch button on main one for 2 to 4 secs and green flashes and then do it in turn for the others. If you have problems like i occassionaly did then unplug and replug them and synch again.

Once done then plug in the main one via ethernet to your laptop and instal the power packet utility that is on the CD. Then launch the utility and one by one enter the passwords for each device. the passwords can be found on the device itself (unplug each one as you fill in the password and enter the password then replug the device and click ok. i found i had to do this twice with everyone of them before the password was saved. The first time it told me password wrong for everyone of them, I rechecked password and confirmed correct and just clicked save password again and it worked on the second attempt for each of them. Then remove the ethernet cable from the main one and make another one the main one. Enter the password for the main one. You need to do this shuffling as you cant enter the password for the main one without disconnecting it and making another one the main one.

Then using the same utility click on privacy and create private network and choose all adapters and name your private network. Then you can start using your private network which is more secure and my speeds went up by 65 to 85% on all of them. I get speeds of 325 to 425Mbps :) now on all my adapters but occassionally speeds drop if other electrical equipment in the house like microwaves etc cause noise in the electrical lines.

On my BT Infinity 2 fibreoptic broadband using the BT Home Hub3 i get speeds of 67Mbps for downloads and 17Mbps for uploads using these powerline adapters. see youtube video upload http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pc19qGQCwTI

see youtube video upload for speeds using cat5, cat5e and cat6 ethernet cables and general intoduction to the 4 port solwise powerline adapter and single port with pass through power port powerline adapter from solwise here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98kR4FdHasw

see my improved speeds after entering passwords and creating private network by using power packet utility from the supplied CD, see video here on my youtube channel http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZKSBTwDtTg

The pass through power single port ones come with cat5e ethernet cables and curiously the higher priced 4 port ones only came with cat5 and not 5e cables! Anyway I have replaced all of them with cat6 STP (shielded) ethernet cables from amazon market place seller for a little more than 2 each. Bought nine 2metre ones and a couple of 3m ones. STP cables are shielded, the UTP ones are unshielded to decrease interference but sometimes shielded cables can increase interference as per my reading. Internet Speeds were better using cat5e that comes with single port one and my separate purchased cat6 cables compared to cat5 cables that come with the 4port ones.

Really pleased with the products from Solwise and pixelheaven the amazon market place seller who I bought mine from.

Now enjoying my powerline adapter LAN with actual real life speeds of 325 to 425Mbps and internet download speeds on my BT Infinity 2 fibreoption broadband using these powerline adapters I get download speeds of 67Mbps and upload speeds on 17Mbps. A single file upload of more than 3Gb to youtube was uploaded in about 5 mins!! Awesome and wish I had bought these sooner. I have set up two in the living room and one near the router and a couple of others in bedrooms.

Since i bought the 2 combo packs (of one powerline adapter with pass though power outlet and another with 4 ports) and a separate 4port solwise powerline adpater. I am putting the same review here as well as I think buyers who buy these units separately need to see the review as well as many might not create a password and private network otherwise and just use synch button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solwise Ethernet Adaptor, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
Great item - no more lan cables around the house - the broadband is coming through the mains wiring with no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great when they work., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
On my third one- when they work they are great- but so far they seems to fail- around the 12 month mark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great functionality - reliability remains to be seen, 16 May 2014
By 
Thomas John Fleming (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
these 4 port units are great for hooking up a modern entertainment system. the speed and reliability of a wired connection. this is my second such unit, unfortunately I'd to return the first one after a few months as it became inoperable. The vendor refunded me no questions asked and I immediately ordered a replacement, a testament to the units utility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solwise 500, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
Plug and play so no installation, a much needed improvement reduced the number of ethernet plugs from 3 to 1 which saves extension leads and it provides a very fast connection. Have the single 500 plug into hub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works well but is a bit big and bulky, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
hardly any drop down in bandwidth and very easy to use. with hind sight I might have paid a little more for a more aesthetically pleasing one thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapter, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
I bought the Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapter together with the Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV Ethernet Adapter with mains passthrough. Both devices have Gigabit ports which is necessary if you want to take advantage of connection speeds above 100Mbps, I don't see the point in buying 500AV plugs with 100Mbps ports!

These devices work great together and I now have a much faster, stable connection to my router which is downstairs than when I used wi-fi. Blu-ray player, X-Box, desktop PC and docked laptop are all connected via the 4 gigabit ports and my connection speed is around 250Mbps.

Thanks to bubblesmoney's review for the instructions on entering passwords and setting up a private network, this info wasn't supplied with the equipment I bought. I haven't found any speed increase whatsoever in creating a private network but I do recommend setting one up for security purposes.

Oh, finally why only 3 stars? Well the first Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapter I bought only lasted 1 hour before expiring!!! PixelHeaven turned around a quick refund and then I re-ordered the 2 items as a pack which was slightly cheaper (I didn't realise a pack was available first time around.) The performance was so good and I could see the potential so I decided to give it another shot although I'm sceptical that, as one broke after an hour, these devices seem unlikely to last for years therefore making them an expensive option. Time will tell and I'll update this review if I get another failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dose the job, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: Solwise 500AV HomePlug AV 4-Port Ethernet Adapater
Put it this way from my bt powerline I was on 10-20mbs with this 50mbps+ On 4 systems!

Great solution for anyone with connection problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews