Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful
This book is very helpful it shows you exactly what is in the updated HTML, would recommend it to anyone.
Published 17 months ago by wiggydave10

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief overview of HTML5
A book provides a brief overview of HTML5

When I saw the cover in the classic O'Reilly style with the traditional line drawing that accompanies this series of books, I was expecting something with a bit of depth and technical content. But unfortunately this wasn't the case as there was very little. This is really more like an extended magazine article by Brian...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by D. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief overview of HTML5, 13 Sep 2011
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
A book provides a brief overview of HTML5

When I saw the cover in the classic O'Reilly style with the traditional line drawing that accompanies this series of books, I was expecting something with a bit of depth and technical content. But unfortunately this wasn't the case as there was very little. This is really more like an extended magazine article by Brian McLaughlin, who is also a staff writer for the publisher. I finished it over a lunch break.

Then again this is a free download so perhaps I was expecting too much from this book.

The author outlines the new 'audio' and 'video' tags that he suggests encourages sharing of content, along with 'canvas' - a new HTML5 feature which enables you to draw within the page. These can be controlled programatically with Javascript.

McLaughlin's main thesis is that HTML5 is more geared toward a semantic web than the current HTML4. He also heavily promotes the idea that content can be grabbed from other web sites and that the authors of said web sites should be happy about that. This is something that as a generator of original web content myself I find difficult to agree with.

Overall, it was an useful read about HTML 5 over a lunch break but I didn't really feel like I had learned a huge amount. I would imagine that it is probably geared towards people who have heard of HTML5 and want to know what it is all about but without any of the technical detail that often comes with books such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An article, not a book, 1 Nov 2011
By 
M. Gledhill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
I guess it's harsh to give a bad review to a free "book"... but this isn't a book at all.

It reads more like a (very) brief overview of what HTML 5 is, with absolutely no guts at all. The same kind of HTML 5 overviews can be found on numerous websites.

Readable, for 5 minutes, but ultimately a pointless download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worth exactly the asking price, not a penny more, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
Ok, so you shouldn't really look a gift horse in the mouth and all that, but honestly, this book was a complete and utter waste of time. More than anything else, it doesn't actually even bother to ask the question it set out to answer. Rather, it's just seems like the author was in a rush to put down on paper what his thoughts and more than anything else, strong opinions are on the subject of HTML5, without really delving into HTML5 and providing any level of reader some decent background information on the technologies involved. It is also quite badly written, without any sense of flow or direction.

I read it in around 20 minutes, but honestly I wish I'd spent that time doing anything else.

If you want a decent introduction to HTML5, then I would recommend searching the web or buying a book such as HTML5 for Masterminds revised 2nd Edition, it's going for a great price at the moment and seems to contain a lot of decent content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure speculation. Just one person's opinion, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
I am a software engineer and was expecting this text to be more engineering oriented. It turns out to be more about the philosophy of the web than anything else.

It is not even fun to read. Save yourself a couple of minutes and stay clear of this little article. There are much more useful articles on the Web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit basic, 6 Dec 2013
By 
A. M. Dowling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
I found it a bit basic. I had expected more detail but it is a free Kindle download after all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I don't know what I expected, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
It was a good book but I really didn't need it, it's very basic, I should have expected it really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Online version, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes it is too easy to understand and you getting board by reading it , sometimes you do not know what author want to share and why ...that is a bit confusing of reading it (so 4 stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars To the point!, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
My bf downloaded this for me to understand html 5 as I'm learning web development! It was good for basic principles but more examples would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
This book is very helpful it shows you exactly what is in the updated HTML, would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Free..., 21 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is HTML5? (Kindle Edition)
Informs, educates, a simple download that is well worth the time taken. It explains in straightforward language the title script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Is HTML5?
What Is HTML5? by Brett McLaughlin
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews