Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, for this style of music
Now you pretty much know what you are getting with this lot, punchy chorus, a little radio friendly in places, some serious thumping riffs and thunderous drumming topped off with shouting and swearing that Slipknot would be proud of.

Now if this is your thang you are in for a treat. 3 albums in and FFDP have more or less perfected their art, there is enough...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by N. A. Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but nothing new...
I was a big fan of 5FDP first album, The Way Of The Fist, and thought that the second, War Is The Answer, was a decent continuation of a theme.

If you don't have either of the first two albums, then you may get something out of this. However, if you already own it's predecessors, avoid this album.

There is nothing new here. All of themes have been...
Published 15 months ago by M Sockel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, for this style of music, 25 Oct 2011
By 
N. A. Davies (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Now you pretty much know what you are getting with this lot, punchy chorus, a little radio friendly in places, some serious thumping riffs and thunderous drumming topped off with shouting and swearing that Slipknot would be proud of.

Now if this is your thang you are in for a treat. 3 albums in and FFDP have more or less perfected their art, there is enough cussing and bellowing to melt the hearts of the Slpknot brigade but with enough melody and hooks to keep your average Nickleback fan happy. Saying this, this collection is not a step forwards or back from previous efforts, it just a fine tuning of some of the rough edges of the previous 2.

Waiting to hit number one near you soon, is I remember Everything, a solid transitional power ballad with soaring chourus and a solo straight out of Pink Floyd, marvellous stuff. Away from that we have The Pride an almost rap celebrating their American roots with a great sing along chorus. In fact all of the tracks pass the hum test - each song is memorable from the offset, pushing just the right buttons to keep you coming back for a 2nd, 3rd 4th listen.

This album will seriously damage your hearing (its recorded very loudly which sets the old IPod jumping) and is pretty much guaranteed to earn you a speeding fine, as you find your foot easing on the gas as it pumps out your speakers.

New? No. Ground breaking? No. Likely to push them to the bigtime? Hope so, but fear not. Great fun? Yep. Hard rock at is snarling, swearing, chest beating, adrenaline pumping best? You bet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American Capitalist, I'm not selling out, I'm buying in..., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album contains the song that first got me into this band, 'Coming Down', a song raising awareness about teen suicide and prevention.
The whole album is full of energy from the opening track to the final chord. The lyrical content has increased with this third album from the band, covering many topics. If you liked the earlier albums by the band, then you will probably enjoy this album. If you are a fan of Disturbed, then you will probably like the energy that this band provide. I would have liked to give it a higher rating, but 5/5 will have to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another killer punch, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. D. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WOW what an amazing album any fan of five finger will love this , the extra mix CD is wicked . If you like your music banging with loads of attitude , then this should be added to any metal heads collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 9 Nov 2013
Absolutely perfect and with downloading amazon cloud player was able to listen to my album before it came to my door!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but nothing new..., 10 April 2013
I was a big fan of 5FDP first album, The Way Of The Fist, and thought that the second, War Is The Answer, was a decent continuation of a theme.

If you don't have either of the first two albums, then you may get something out of this. However, if you already own it's predecessors, avoid this album.

There is nothing new here. All of themes have been covered by the previous lp's, and in places the 5fDP sound is positively tired and worn.

Perhaps the best track is "Wicked Ways", but that is really not saying much.

The sound has not evolved, and the lyrical content remains much the same.

You can argue that 5FDP are ploughing their own furrow and know their target market well, and I would not disagree with that.
However, I have no desire to listen to album after album of essential the same material.

I hope for an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Am I being harsh? It just was nowhere near as good as albums 1 and 2!, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Capitalist (Audio CD)
This album is the most recent offering from the FFDP camp. I gave it a try, only to find myself getting bored by the end.
Maybe I just wasn't in the mood at the time, but this certainly is not as good as 'The Way of the Fist' or 'War is the Answer'.
There's some good riffs on their but can't help but think that they are changing their style and going against what they are good at in order to become more commercial!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Capitalist (Audio CD)
Caught them on Scuzz, like the sound, bought the CD and now it is one of my favorites. Great driving music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Capitalist (Audio CD)
great third album from f f d p. bought this album cos i really enjoyed the first 2 albums. i would recommend this album to any heavy metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Capitalist (Audio CD)
Great stuff from Five Finger Death Punch this album is another great one and I recommend to any metalhead out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars American Capitalist, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not know the group before hearing "remember everything" on a hard radio. I was pretty pleased with the rest of the album. They mix hard guitar riffs and voices with smooth parts. I even saw some resemblances between some guitar riffs from FFDP and Slipknot (guitars tuned somewhere in the area of a B or C#). I really liked it.
The voice of the lead vocalist is nice, he mixes hard parts with smoother ones a bit like Corey Taylor with Stone Sour. If you like that then you will like this album too.

Comparing the cd to previous albums would make no sense for me since I do not know them, though it might push me to listen to them as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Capitalist [VINYL]
American Capitalist [VINYL] by Five Finger Death Punch (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews