Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic thermometer
Bought this with the intention of boiling sugar to make confectionery and it works brilliantly. Easy to use, as the reader can stand on a surface with the probe in the pan. No need to stand and watch the temperature and you can set it to alarm you when it reaches the desired temperature. So far, I've had success with fudge, honeycomb, coconut ice, macarons, italian...
Published on 6 May 2012 by Nicola

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality - broke within minutes
This product worked for about ten minutes and now it stays around 90 deg C when it should read room temperature.

I have since read many reviews of this product that agree with it's lack of quality, and suggest this temperature malfunction is a common problem.

Total waste of money.
Published 23 months ago by Mr. S. L. Dickison


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic thermometer, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this with the intention of boiling sugar to make confectionery and it works brilliantly. Easy to use, as the reader can stand on a surface with the probe in the pan. No need to stand and watch the temperature and you can set it to alarm you when it reaches the desired temperature. So far, I've had success with fudge, honeycomb, coconut ice, macarons, italian mereinge and spun sugar. Instructions are limited but it's self-explanatory and easy to use. Haven't tried testing meat yet, but would certainly recocommend to anyone using it for a similar purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NO MORE OVERCOOKED MEAT!, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
I had been after purchasing a meat thermometer for some time but always thought the digital ones were rather expensive so I was pleasantly supprised to see this one for well under 10.

PLUS POINTS
It is small and compact
Extremely easy to use
Can monitor the temperature of meat inside the oven, which is a great feature
The temperature alarm is nice and loud
Has a count up and count down timer
Works well on the grill for Steaks/Burgers
Steel cable is heat resistant and seems robust
Checked Calibration by inserting probe in boiling water and it was spot on

MINUS POINTS
The two switches on the back of the unit are very small and fiddly
Unless the probe is plugged into the unit correctly the alarm goes off and will not stop. It took me a while to suss this out, it may be a fault but now I have worked out how far to plug it in it works great
There are no pre set temperatures for rare, medium etc etc

CONCLUSION
When all is considered this is excellent value for money. I have seen very similar looking thermometers for more than 4 times the price. Had the switches been less fiddly, and had I not had the hassle with the alarm constantly going off (problem now solved) It would have been 5 Stars, The fact that there are no pre set temperatures is a small issue, but at this price point it is a great piece of kit which gets a big 4 Star rating from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chef'e thermometer, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Brilliant little gadget!Looks very professional. Instructions easy to follow. Saw Blumental and Rachel Khoo use it so bought it as a gift for a foodie friend and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a really good cooking thermometer!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
This is a REALLY GOOD product. It is very easy to use and to adjust/set. It has both a countdown timer and a count up one, plus gives an alarm when a set temperature is reached. The remote probe comes with about 3ft of robust wire which means you can leave the (very clear) readout outside the oven, or well away from the chip pan etc. The temperature is accurate, or at least agrees with my other thermometers. I've only had it a short time but so far it feels robust.

Every now and again you come across a product which seems perfect, and this is one. If it had a fault, I'm the man to say so, but I simply cannot find any. Oh, OK, maybe the two switches on the back are small and fiddly. Just use a fingernail then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant item, changed my habits of a lifetime, 12 Feb 2014
By 
D. J. Richford "Kaddymaster" (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
I have used this many times now and have to say that I have been over cooking meat for years!! I have to say that I now have more moist meat that has better flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low on features but does what is needed, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
This is just a very good simple electronic meat thermometer. Set an alarm temp (in C or F), insert the probe into the deepest part of the flesh of the meat and then route the wire through the door to the display unit. Takes seconds.

The wire is thin enough not to cause door seal issues and it sheilded with a wire mesh outer. Just be carful that no part of the probe connects with the containing dish or cooker shelves or you will get false readings.

The temp reading is instant so can be used as an instant probe too.

Only feature that i do not use is the magnetic attachment on the unit as it will not work on stainless steel :(

Otherwise a simple probe that works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remote Monitoring, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Accurate and extremely convenient as it sits on the work top with a fairly long heatproof lead exiting from the oven via the door seal (causes no damage) With alarms for time and temperature. Great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality - broke within minutes, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. S. L. Dickison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
This product worked for about ten minutes and now it stays around 90 deg C when it should read room temperature.

I have since read many reviews of this product that agree with it's lack of quality, and suggest this temperature malfunction is a common problem.

Total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Digital thermometer., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Thermometer not as good as thought I would spend extra pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Failed after 3rd Use... Probe itself looks to be a fault... Can't be recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eddingtons Digital Timer with Meat Thermometer
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews