Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


138 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bundle but depends on which, if any, version you already have
The appeal of this bundle of the stills photo software, Elements 10 and the video software Premiere 10 is, without doubt exceptional value. If it's right for you will depend on where you are coming from.

I've used Elements for many years. Fans of other photo editing packages might correctly claim that some aspect are better served by other software - and yes,...
Published on 20 Dec 2011 by Ripple

versus
56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor (UI) User Interface
I agree with the positive aspects of PE 10 in the preceding reviews, but I must mention the poor User Interface.

Since PE6 Adobe have used a tiny pale grey or white typeface on dark grey for the UI (menu bar, icon text etc). On hi-res screens this is very difficult to read - unless you have 20-20 vision and a perfectly set up display. Adobe don't use the M'soft...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by Dave A


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

138 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bundle but depends on which, if any, version you already have, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The appeal of this bundle of the stills photo software, Elements 10 and the video software Premiere 10 is, without doubt exceptional value. If it's right for you will depend on where you are coming from.

I've used Elements for many years. Fans of other photo editing packages might correctly claim that some aspect are better served by other software - and yes, the organization of photos in PSE is a still a pig, but I'd counter that by saying that you quickly get used to it and this is more than offset by the fact that it is virtually industry standard and that means that there are a host of helpful books and magazines that will feed your creative juices. Big plus. If you are new to photo editing, just get it. It's a big and powerful bit of kit but it is relatively user friendly (and I certainly benefitted from buying one of the many books on how to use it to really get to grips with it). It's far more user friendly than it's expensive big brother - the full Photoshop package and to be honest for all but the professional user it does all you could want - the only thing you don't get is really something called curves which good though it is, hardly justifies the leap in price (there are some other differences, but that's the main one). If you've money to burn then get Lightbox as well which integrates nicely and solves the organization issues PSE has.

If you have anything up to PSE 7, then again the improvements are so huge - again, just upgrade. PSE 8 was a substantial leap forward in development terms. If you have this already, the decision gets more tricky. I have historically taken the view that if you upgrade every other year then you will save yourself some cash and keep on top of things. The big news of PSE 9 was the introduction of layer masks. This was something previously only in the full Photoshop software and it's a big improvement. So if you have PSE 8, it's probably still worth an upgrade.

If you have PSE 9 - then simply don't bother with this upgrade. The changes are minor - a slightly gimicky effects brush tool and a new technique in the guided tools options and, frankly little else. So if you have PSE9, then wait and see what is in PSE 11 would be my strong advice.

I'm much newer to Premiere so cannot compare with past versions. Having played around with it a bit, it's relatively intuitive, particularly if you are used to the PSE style. It seems to handle at least the basic tools you might want and is pretty good at what it does. I only use video relatively seldom so worth checking other more intensive users comments but for my purposes this more than does the job.

One nice aspect it that it loads without having to delete old versions and a. dos not crash and b. does not delete the old version - so you can get up to speed on the new one while still using what you are used to before deleting the old version off your system, which ultimately you will want to do because it's a big bit of software and the more powerful your computer the better it will run.

It comes packaged with 5 discs - one for windows, one for windows 7 64 bit, one for mac and two .... nope, you've got me there - no idea what the other two disc are for and this doesn't seem to be mentioned - they say "content" on them - but that's not particularly illuminating. You also get some printed material - it was helpful for me with Premiere - but if you are new to the suite then buy a book (and for Elements, you can safely buy an oldish version - 8 or better 9).

Overall it allows you some guided versions of each which are basic enough to use out of the box while allowing the more adventurous/experienced user room to go it alone and really experiment. You certainly get a lot of creative power for your money here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best photo/video package out there for home users, 5 Feb 2012
By 
M. Potter (Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a bundle this is extremely good value when you consider that individually these packages sell for about 60 each (which is also good value given the depths of each of them). I'm a fairly serious amateur photographer so my review is more slanted towards Elements than Premier as I don't do that much videography. I've used many versions of Photoshop over the years, including Lightroom and full blown Photoshop CS1. Elements (known as Photoshop LE in previous generations of the software) has always offered good value for money by giving a good selection of the tools you get in the full version, certainly more than enough for most home/amateur users. I've had Photoshop CS1 for over 5 years and to be honest rarely use the professional features. Cost wise, Lightroom (which is excellent by the way) is about 4 times that of Elements and Photoshop CS5 about 10 times the cost. So unless you're sure you need the extra features of these packages Elements is good bet.

To put the package through its paces I imported 3,500 images from my (disk based) image library into the organiser. This it did in about 2-3 minutes flat, although most/all of these images were JPEG. Still, it was quite impressive. It also detected the keywords that were attached and offered to import these into the organiser as well (which took another 10 secs or so). So far so good.

One of the nice things about the organiser is that it's integrated with both Elements and Premier, so if you work on projects needing both photo and video assets you can organise it all in one place. The features of the organiser are really very good. But one thing you'll need to get your head around is that to get the best out of the organiser you need to stop thinking in terms of files in folders on your hard disc and more in terms of albums, smart albums, tags and smart tags. Organisationally these are much more powerful. For example, a smart album will show you all photo's matching search criteria that you define. Combining this with keyword tags (labels on each photo or video) can give you some great organisational tools.

Elements itself (the editor) is top notch. Far too many features to cover in this small review - suffice to say that you'll do well to use all the tools, filters and features. For photography however one of the more important (and often overlooked) is support for Adobe Camera Raw - this allows you to import the RAW format of your images which contain far more information than JPEGs. It's very powerful if you have over-exposed or under-exposed images - using the Camera Raw dialog you'll be able to recover details in the image that you thought were lost forever (but only if you set your camera to record in RAW format - most give the option to produce JPEG+RAW).

As I mentioned above, I'm not so much into video, but I've been generally impressed with Premiere. It's very intuitive and has some truly impressive features like picture in picture effects, merging, titles, and filters. I've only used a fraction of the features but for the small video projects I've used it for it's been more than capable.

Both packages (including the organiser) make it easy to share your creations on-line - for example when uploading videos to You Tube the wizard will take you through all the steps quickly and easily, including converting the video/photo to the size needed, uploading it and setting the title and description. However the number of sharing sites offered is limited - just Flickr, Facebook and Kodak Easyshare in the case of Elements, and this is where packages like Lightroom start to set themselves apart by offering more flexibility to extend the tool by downloading 3rd party plug-ins or by developing them yourself.

But that's a minor point really. Overall a great package that you won't go far wrong with. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential software for the Image/Video editor, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Upgrading from version 9 to version 10.

After some testing I have concluded the following:

When installed and used the user is faced with an 'Organiser' that are identical for both Photoshop Elements 10 and Premiere Elements 10, only difference is that when you choose a photo to edit the 'Organiser' opens up Photoshop and if you select to edit a video 'Organiser' opens Premiere - This is assuming you have both products installed.

Version 10 supplies three new Search tools when installed these are:
-Object Search
-Duplicate
-Photo and Visual Simularity. (Visual Similarity, however, is new only on the Mac. It was already built into the earlier Windows product.)

Tabs:

Photoshop Elements 10 tabbed interface is organised into 3 sections these are Edit, Create and Share. From there, Edit is further divided into sub-Tabs for Full, Quick and Guided Edits.

On the other hand Premiere Elements 10 offers a tabbed interface separated into Project, Edit, Disc Menus and Share. From there, Project is where you compile your video.

Sharing:

Sharing your images and videos is easier as the popular social media sites 'Facebook' and 'Youtube' have been integrated into the software. This allows the user to share images and videos seamlessly.

Great software from Adobe, however there could have been more enhancements made and possibly Adobe could have expanded more on the features in this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor (UI) User Interface, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I agree with the positive aspects of PE 10 in the preceding reviews, but I must mention the poor User Interface.

Since PE6 Adobe have used a tiny pale grey or white typeface on dark grey for the UI (menu bar, icon text etc). On hi-res screens this is very difficult to read - unless you have 20-20 vision and a perfectly set up display. Adobe don't use the M'soft desktop font engine; they use a pixel-based font of their own so you can't change it. For this reason I and many others have given up on recent releases of PE

This problem has generated one of the longest user feedback threads (292 comments and counting) on a single topic I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dear Watson, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. J. K. Blake (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this for my son who did 'Media' at A level and he'd used a slioghtly lesser version during his course work. He's now gone on a bit further in the same line of interest and was keen for this for phot editing. He spent a little time with me showing what could be done and I was amazed at how quickly and easily a 'Movie' can be put together with soundtrack etc. My experience was just a 'taster' and so the software is very accessable for even the casual user like me and in the hands of someone who really knows what they are doing it produces quite exciting results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop Elements/Adobe Premiere Elements 10, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Being a completely new user to Adobe Photoshop 10 I was surprised to see FIVE discs for
the programme. First thoughts, wow this must be good !!
Initial disappointment with installation through lack of information with the product.
After visiting Adobe web site and learning that I only needed to use discs 1 and 4 !!
Typical American product.....sell it first and to hell with the customer after service.
Trying to get information from them was simply a no go!
The product itself so far has been remarkably simple to use and I am still learning as
I progress through various stages, in all I am happy so far.
Although there are numerous tutorials on Adobe website, its not easy to remember and relate
all you see and translate it into physical actions on the computer. To this end I have purchased
separately a book specifically covering this product, so reference is always to hand and is readily
accessible. I feel I have a long way to go yet !
Sunny Bucks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 20 Dec 2011
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A very classy program set. Comes very nicely (and compactly) packaged (no two foot long box for 5 cds and a small book as you used to see with the older versions).

These versions of Adobe are very different from the older versions I've owned. The layout is so different that initially I was a little lost, but after some use, I've come to discover that most of the filters and tools are much more accessible and easier to use than they used to be. On first glance, it looks more complicated but after a little time getting to know, I actually feel the layout is more simple than the older versions. As the older versions were aimed more at professionals than the ordinary family photographer/video makers, this wasn't surprising, but these versions are definitely aimed with the average user in mind and not professionals so it's easy to find your way around without too much consultation towards the instruction guides.

The video editing software isn't overly different from versions of the other popular brands I've used in the past (basic, yet gives you enough features to make your own family videos fun and creative) without becoming too complicated.

The photoshop software is great for making creative changes to your photos from adding sketch/paint filters to cutting and pasting parts onto other photos (who doesn't want to see their baby's head super-imposed onto a tellytubby for giggles?).

Definitely worth getting if you want to add your own mark on your family photos and videos, and especially since this version has BOTH software versions in it, is especially worth the cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Premiere Elements 10 : not for the serious editor, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
This is our fourth video editing package, having migrated from Pinnacle Studio 9 and 11, through Cyberlink PowerDirector 8 to Elements 10 (with the occasional dabble with Windows Live Movie maker).

Generating the first video is not too difficult; much the same as all the other packages where you drag content onto a timeline or storyboard. I was tempted by the "Instant Movie" option, however, when informed that my 6 minutes HD slideshow was going to take over 7 HOURS to render (on a Core i5 processor), I thought better of it.

If you wish to move beyond the (my opinion) rather frivolous movie templates be prepared to do some serious digging in the help file. For example try to move a title to a specific position (I think you need to use CTRL-Drag). Finally made your perfect title and transition or effect and want to save it for use in other projects? Sorry no (easy) way. Want to customise your disc menu? Again no way to save it (assuming you can get it to look as you wish).

Ready to create your video, then be prepared to wait and wait and be sure to have plenty of disc space free. As an example a 6 minute 1920 x 1080 video (comprising 45 stills with cross-fade transitions):
Cyberlink Powerdirector 8 took 4m 25s to generate a 693MB file
Windows Live Movie Maker took 9m 10s to generate a 191MB file
Adobe Premiere Elements 10 took 12m 5s to generate a 1300MB file.

All done and time to share on You Tube! Well maybe. A quick search of the Forum reveals numerous disgruntled users where the advice seems to be "Upload it manually". Adobe seem to want to blame Google for "compatibility issues" and vice versa. However I have no trouble with Cyberlink's connection to You Tube, whereas I needed to resort to their "Chat" service to get mine running (eventually).

Pleased with my purchase? No.
Will I be changing? No, I'll continue with PowerDirector 8 and look out for a favourable upgrade to the latest version.
Why 2 stars? For the beginner it works OK, but there are much better and faster packages available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I bought Elements 10 mainly for the Organizer having previously used Adobe Photo Album. I'm disappointed. It freezes and crashes often when working with my photo collection of 9000 pictures. This collection needs to grow and I'm wondering how Elements will handle it. I've just spent an hour reading of many other users with similar problems so there seem to be real stability issues here. In addition, face recognition is not working well and is becoming more of a time consuming irritation than a benefit. Now considering whether I should return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward Image Editing, 23 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Reliable and quite easy to use image editing products. Adobe is introducing noticeable improvments along the new versions. Good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac)
Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 Bundle (PC/Mac) by Adobe Systems Inc. (Mac OS X, Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
97.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews