Customer Reviews


291 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!
I never really listened to Flo before Ceremonials, but I know now that... God, I was missing out on so much! I bought Lungs and Ceremonials after seeing Flo on The Late Late Show (im from Ireland, if any different nationalities of people are reading this) and I listened to them in chronological order. I absolutely adored Lungs and then when I put Ceremonials into my CD...
Published on 20 July 2012 by Darraghmcnally

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product. I have bought 3 CDs at the ...
Product line with expectations.
Good product.

I have bought 3 CDs at the same time and they charged me for each of them but send me them in 2 parcels with exactly the same postage. No interest to make a grouping purchase they won't make a single commercial initiative, a bit disappointed...
Published 25 days ago by Guillaume Geay


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Ceremonials (Audio CD)
This album is perfect. There is not one song i dislike. I'm going to see her in March, after hearing this I cannot wait! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I have ever bought, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I eagerly anticipated this album from the moment it was announced (I'm rather late in writing my review...), & it didn't disappoint. I never get bored of this album. I can go back to it time & time again, & each time I do I find a new love for each song. It is a album I will never forget listening to for the first time. (And seeing her perform it live, both at a intimate gig & a large stadium one, has only increased my affection for it). You will not regret buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album - poor sound!!, 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this album but it's such a shame that the sound quality of this download on amazon is so poor.

Florence Welch has a beautiful and powerful voice but for some reason the download available doesn't do her voice justice.

The difference heard between the CD and download album is quite obvious and I'm still annoyed that I paid for the album twice (first as a download then as a CD) which is not really what I wanted. OK, the download was on offer at the time for £3.99 but that's not the point!

You don't pay for an album for it to be compressed to death, and really why should I have had to pay twice for the same thing? It may sound OK through an mp3 player or ipod but through a computer or speakers it just doesn't sound right.

I wish to point out that not all downloads available on Amazon are lacking so I don't think it's Amazon's fault at all. I may be wrong, but I think the blame lies with the record company or producers who obviously think it's fine to do this.

I do like CDs and I don't think that will ever change but there are times I just want the download to listen to and the quality of these formats should be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SO MUCH FOR DIFFICULT SECOND ALBUM, 31 Oct 2011
When your debut album sells over 4 million records in a music climate where people don't buy records anymore and spawns six singles(one of which was released twice), in fact just search Florence and The Machine "Lungs" in Amazon and you will find multi released different versions of the debut album. Then you start getting comparisons with people like Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey then you know the pressure for your second record is going to be massive so it's a good thing Florence and The Machine deliver big time on album number two and along the way add more strings, guitars and heavier drums and even some more epic songs.

Anybody who heard "What The Water Gave Me" been performed back in May 2010 would back up that the second album would be great, at close to six minutes the song takes the listener on an epic journey as it begins hauntingly slowly before building into a big climax that features guitar, harp and drums all in perfect harmony. The first official single "Shake It Out" with it's pounding drums and gentle organ and features a great repetitive chorus that sounds louder than any Sunday Choir! On "No Light, No Light" it starts out real soft before those familiar pounding drums come pounding again.

"Breaking Down" begins with a sound of a drum machine and finds Florence Welch singing in a different tone it sounds like something from the 80's given a fresh make over, it even fittingly has a break down towards the end. "Seven Devils" sounds hauntingly like Kate Bush and even the music sounds erie, like it could have been used in a horror or thriller movie. There is so many fine songs on the album the likes of "Lover To lover", opener "Only If For A Night" which sets the tone nicely for the album. On "Spectrum" the song includes Florence singing over a big dance beat before a breakdown in the middle which features gentle sounding strings, the two sounds work well together.

The deluxe edition features a few new tracks as well as demos and acoustic versions of "Heartlines", "Shake It Out" and "Breaking Down". The demo version of "What The Water Gave Me" is a more beat orientated version. The 3 extra tracks are all worth having and if you're a Florence And The Machine fan then you will want the deluxe edition.

Paul Epworth is once again on production duties as well as songwriting with Welch herself and keyboardist Isabella Summers. "Ceremonials" is a great second album to follow debut "Lungs" and one in which features plenty of standout tracks. There is no second album syndrome here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Florence & The Machine - Ceremonials, We enter the Warped Fantasy Disco of Ms Welchs Mind in THE album of 2011, 1 Nov 2011
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ceremonials (Audio CD)
Lungs i purchased back in the summer of 2009, so blindingly beautiful it was! It showcased a raw talent and a sense of absolute macabre beauty....it is rather strong for a debut album to boast such a quality feel! And a year on she managed to receive praise on a global scale and recieved comparisons immediately (sometimes lazily) with Annie Lennox, Kate Bush, PJ Harvey and David Bowie....to name a few! To this day it still boasts that magical feel and has those instant mainstream hits mixed in with the whole Lungs concept.

Two years on....CEREMONIALS has been unleashed unto the world, like and untamed beast this album will eat you whole! Florence Welch really has pushed herself with this album...and her teaming up with Paul Epworth on production and also in co-writing with Eg White to boast also! Ceremonials pushes from the Indie Horror/Hammer Horror feel of Lungs into an absolute warped Tim Burton fantasy. It is an all the more concise record, it has a concept...."the fear of imaginary things....demons, ghosts, memories and the supernatural".

With that then the timing for release was spot on, Halloween being the moment where Ceremonials would creep into the music industry and shake it up (or "shake it out" even!) this has definitely set the standard for Music! It is refreshing and empowering to listen to.

Within two days of owning the material, it proves how powerful the album is, very much people will draw comparisons with debut album Lungs....as it very much is a continuation in some ways, but Ceremonials i think boasts much more what Flo herself is capable of....the sounds are "big" in all matters, her vocals are crisper and richer, the whole style is like you are listening to a soundtrack to a film, the imagery it creates is just sublime!

The album also deals with a lot of the aforementioned themes and it brings them into a "reality perspective" the idea of a dying relationship, or clinging to something you adore, or following through your emotions....it is such a powerful thing. Florence also has a unique vocal that manages to really gel together Madonnas preaching/seductive tones, Etta James Soul/gospel emotives, Kate Bush with her defying banshee like vocals that defy the air we breathe, and even Xena Warrior Princess...with her tribal moods, and power....it is truly something else to hear. And Flo brings all this, these powerful elements of what a female in music CAN do, and what music can do to the listener....it is powerful.

Some reviews may be critical at first of the album itself...as it is a concise album, never a bad thing....it just means you have to bring an open mind....this album is a church, a place of spiritual embrace! You let it all channel out in Florence & The Machines gospel of the macabre and the beautfiul!

As for the songs themselves -

1. "Only If for a Night" - A haunting opener to the album, it tells of her childhood memories with eerie moods it places the listener into the scene....a very powerful way to introduce the recording in terms of the scope, production and vocal....This enters a whole new area of her personal Twilight Zone. 10/10

2. "Shake It Out" - Demons and regret are dealt with here, the instant lead single for Ceremonials is an absolute cracker! It channels some defying spirit and ambitious tone....very euphoric and beautiful. 10/10

3. "What the Water Gave Me" - Compared to previous releases, this song was unleashed as a promo...it takes more listens than Shake It Out for example, but it very much SOUNDS so dreamlike and fantasy like and eerie, very much like a watery version of Madonnas Frozen, it is as haunting and as gorgeously emotive! 10/10

4. "Never Let Me Go" - A very emotive and vulnerable recording here, it sounds like a crashing wave in sound....like mermaids chanting in a bleak ocean! A very beautiful and bitersweet song. 10/10

5. "Breaking Down" - The pace changes itself again here, it sounds like a macabre carnival in beats, very twisted....Florence does a very Kate Bush subtle vocal here....very quaint and echoey and very undenyingly beautiful and progressive! the chanting gives you goosebumps. 10/10

6. "Lover to Lover" - Very rhythmic and pacey! She embraces that Etta James SOul here i spoke of earlier...it is very dramatic and pacey! and channels a very gospel feel....very anthemic. 10/10

7. "No Light, No Light" - An instant smash of a song! Set to be the next release of the album it should take more people by storm....again it is haunting with dramatic drums, harps, and a seductive vocal that channels a very Like A Prayer album mood....the topic of a broken relationship and clinging on to something you are passionate about is empowering in itself! It is rhythmetic and pacey and set to be another absolute smash for Florence! 10/10

8. "Seven Devils" - Possibly the most absurd to listen to on the album, it reminds of Kate Bush Hounds Of Love "The Ninth Wave" mood, a kind of bitterly beautiful production, the whistles remind also of Between Two Lungs before on the debut album....but it is such an eerie song....it channels an absolute force here. 10/10

9. "Heartlines" - This is the song where the aforementioned "Xena mood" is presented, with fantastically mesmerizing tribal chanting and powerhouse vocals on display....and a very preachy vocal...it is the music equivalent of a beautiful exorcism for the soul!a MUST release definitely. 10/10

10. "Spectrum" - Another absolute precious song, it is very unique and progressive! It reminds a bit of Bjorks Homogenic era....a dystopia of purist emotion and Madonnas Ray Of Light pacing....Florence chants "saaay my name" in an absolutely derivatively chilling way. The beats consume you and this is such an instant smash of a song! It speaks of the colours of the spectrum another very euphoric anthem of a song! Spectacular breakdowns in the beats too. 10/10

11. "All This and Heaven Too" - A very endearing song, very beautifully crafted and echoey! Steady drum beats enhances the power of this song and steady piano riffs. It is a very commanding love song. 10/10

12. "Leave My Body" - And so ends the exorcism, a hauntingly paced conclusion to the album that brings Ceremonials to a full circle, ending with similar pacing to introduction song Only If For A Night, the echoes and chants in the background add to the power! Literally you lose yourself in its display. 10/10

Overall, Ceremonials sets up a very macabre Disco....We enter the iconic world of Florence Welch, her idea of a very fantasy, macabre and monochrome England...her idea of spiritual identity, preachings and teachings it is a very empowering album and will be recognised as Florence & the Machines AND Paul Epworths finest moment as a pairing! absolute visionaries and colelctively have created this Tim Burton Disco for the creatures of the night to lose themselves into! and creatures of the day too.

An absolute testament and monument in British music and will be remembered as a very iconic piece of Ms, Welch, the Machine and Epworths legacy!

Bring Ceremonials home....10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overproduced, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremonials (Audio CD)
The lead singer of this group (the eponymous Florence) has got a truly outstanding voice. Why the producer seemed to think it was needed to add tons of echo and layer upon layer of sounds I don't know. It seemed a shame. Great album though. I think half my problem is that I've got a really awful stereo but if the production is good enough, it shouldn't matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great 2nd Album For Flo, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremonials (Audio CD)
I will start off by saying that this album is amazing!
But I will also have to say that it took me a few listens, to fully appreciate it!
It is NOT like Lungs at all, which was an amazing album as well, but, if you liked Lungs, then you will probably like Ceremonials.
My favourite songs are: Breaking Down (Which is one that took me ages to like, at first I found it sooooo boring, but as you listen to it more and more times, you will get used to it and start to like it!). I also really like the hit single Shake it Out which is quite dark but very good listening material!
If the first album wasn't quite to your liking; you actually might enjoy this one, so please give Ceremonials the benefit of the doubt and give it a listen.
If you really know it's not for you, then fair enough, everybody's tastes are different, but I personally love this album and there isn't a song on it that I would skip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremonials (Audio CD)
I bought this alum as I have always liked music from Florence & The Machines.
I don't think there is a song on this album I don't like. This is definitely one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Mrs. D. Guest (East London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ceremonials (Audio CD)
This album requires a few listens through before you appreciate it fully. But it's definitely worth the purchase and is well up to scratch in comparison with the first album! Standout tracks for me were Spectrum, No Light, No Light, Leave my Body, Only if for a Night and of course the single Shake it out. If you liked the Flo' from the first album, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazingly unique, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked the first album lungs and thought florence had an interesting style and some very different songs. This album, ceremonials, does not disappoint again offering unique and interesting songs. I really like this and would recommend it to anyone looking for something different (and in my opinion better) to the annoying and repetitive rap/club music which dominates the charts (dizze rascal, taio cruz etc) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ceremonials
Ceremonials by Florence + The Machine (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews