Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves much kudos
There are not many reviews for this album, and I feel the overall rating does not do much justice to the quality of this recording.

The music is very similar to Boards of canada, but has a more euphoric / uplifting feel.

I would strongly recommend to fans of Boards of Canada and Ulrich Schnauss.
Published on 16 Nov. 2012 by M. A. Ratcliffe

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
It says it all when the best tracks here are 'Coastal Brake' and 'Daydream'. These tracks along with 'Adrift' are all 3-4 years old, so I was surprised to see them make an appearance on Tycho's 'new' album. Don't get me wrong I love them, they were the soundtrack to my Summer; in 2008. But just so you don't feel completely ripped off, they've been slightly tweaked, and...
Published on 22 Mar. 2012 by Red Kremlin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves much kudos, 16 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
There are not many reviews for this album, and I feel the overall rating does not do much justice to the quality of this recording.

The music is very similar to Boards of canada, but has a more euphoric / uplifting feel.

I would strongly recommend to fans of Boards of Canada and Ulrich Schnauss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant... still playing this after two years, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Apollo 11 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Arguably one of the best electronic albums out there - I've been playing this for two years now, and I still love it. Unlike most dance/electronic albums, the quality of Dive doesn't dip; there's no filler tracks. This is a proper album that can be enjoyed from start to finish - takes you on a journey, and rewards repeat plays. How Tycho manages to captivate without falling back on the hook of voices, or words, is a major achievement. Somewhere between dance and prog and progressive and, dare I say it, classical - Tycho's second album deserves to be heard by anyone that loves music, sunshine and life's ins and outs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soothing sounds which are simply beautiful, 2 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
If you want to hear a sound which could act as a relaxing glove for your mind, then Tycho's Dive album is what you should get. The soothing sounds are simply beautiful. In fact, if you like Tycho you should really check the other artists from the same label: Ghostly International.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chill out and feel upbeat at the same time, 14 Jan. 2015
By 
Peter Giles (Bournemouth,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Very nice , upbeat sort of electronica. very good for driving to, or as a background to a sunny afternoon in the garden. For some reason I feel it has a sort of 'surfer' vibe to it. Nothing wrong with that - it carries a nice atmosphere with it . Cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums of all time., 10 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Rating doesn't give it enough credit and i had to do something about that. One of the most beautiful albums i've ever listened to. Probably listened to it for about 100 hours over the last two years and it still maintains its magic. Got me through long bus rides, sleepless nights and hours of A-level revision :L.
Personally, i like it better than Past is Prologue despite it containing a few of the same tracks. It just feels more refined than its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
so hard to find . now ive got it i cant stop playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambient electronica, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Heard the track "dive" on random internet radio station and had to check out the rest of the album. Liked what I heard so bought the album and really enjoying it. Also into ulrich schnauss, Jon Hopkins, fsol, aphex twin etc.. So if you like that kind of music recommend checking this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No words to describe...., 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Amazin Cd quality and beautiful tracks! I sugges to to all this amazin' piece of music!
There should be a lot of music like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
It says it all when the best tracks here are 'Coastal Brake' and 'Daydream'. These tracks along with 'Adrift' are all 3-4 years old, so I was surprised to see them make an appearance on Tycho's 'new' album. Don't get me wrong I love them, they were the soundtrack to my Summer; in 2008. But just so you don't feel completely ripped off, they've been slightly tweaked, and not for the better. Who releases a studio album with 3-4 year old singles, then makes them worse??

The other 7 numbers are just formulaic of the decent tracks, just not as good. After 3 listens nothing really ever stood out for me. The tracks just blend in with one another and as you get closer to the end of the album, you swear you've already heard it. It's listenable enough but there's nothing original here and fans of this genre will have heard it all before; Ulrich Schnauss, Jon Hopkins, Boards of Canada and even Tycho's 1st album all spring to mind.

I was looking forward to this album but I just find it quite dull, a lazy effort..and the inclusion of 3 songs I already bought 4 years ago is quite frankly, unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Awesome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dive
Dive by Tycho (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews