Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable with lots of musical history - but needs more on Dave himself
Full disclosure - I have huge respect for Dave Grohl and have been lucky enough to see him live in London on nine occasions with four of his bands over the last 23 years (Nirvana x 3 / QOTSA x 1 / Them Crooked Vultures x 2 / Foo Fighters x 3). I also came to this book a good 2-3 years after it was first published. Having read the other reviews of this book, they are fair...
Published 4 months ago by Dan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough read
A decent read but as its written by a music journalist its written from a very factual perspective. Provides a good insight into the development of the music genres that shaped Dave Grohl. Until the man himself tells his own story its probably the best book to give you an idea of the guy. He strikes me as the kind of guy that has no urge to write a book about himself (but...
Published 3 months ago by Seanyboy2u


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable with lots of musical history - but needs more on Dave himself, 23 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full disclosure - I have huge respect for Dave Grohl and have been lucky enough to see him live in London on nine occasions with four of his bands over the last 23 years (Nirvana x 3 / QOTSA x 1 / Them Crooked Vultures x 2 / Foo Fighters x 3). I also came to this book a good 2-3 years after it was first published. Having read the other reviews of this book, they are fair and balanced - this book will largely hit your sweet spot if you have a penchant for detail about the US hardcore/metal scene in the 1980's (I do and I loved this part of the book) & the Nirvana years. The book is well written and is positive and kind about Mr. Grohl's output - I personally find a lot of later period Foo Fighters to be be rather bland - whilst not seemingly finding digging very deep into revealing more about Dave as a person. The quotes are from interviews and other media sources, so whilst the author has had some good access when new releases were being promoted, this is not an authorised biography. There is almost a total lack of embarrasing stories - a man who drinks absinthe out of choice and who has been a touring muscian for over 25 years will have many notable stories of debauchery - none feature here. There is much detail in the book for even the comitted fan, I bought the Probot album due to this book - I love it - and the overall quality of the writing made this a highly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is about the most important thing of all: The music., 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If there's one thing I DON'T want to read in my lifetime, it's an authorised biography of Dave Grohl. Because there is no way this guy is anywhere near finished what he's been put on this planet for. Music biographies, especially more recently, seem to be for those who know that they're coming to the end of their careers and are looking to get some kind of time line of their life down on paper before they potter off into a retirement of reunion tours and speaking circuits. I have a feeling that Dave is nowhere near that point, and probably never will be.

However, this book isn't just a look at Grohl's life. It's more a way to connect the dots between the punk, grunge, and 1990's (onwards) rock scene and Grohl's personal involvement with them. For me, it was an inspiring book of one guy who dropped out of high school, chased his dreams and caught them thereby changing the face of music as we know. It's definitely a kick up the ass for any of us who work in the arts and constantly find ourselves facing the proverbial brick walls (if you're looking for another kick up the ass, I highly recommend Grohl's 2013 SXSW Keynote speech. It's not just for the musicians!).

If you're looking for a book that focuses on rock n' roll excess, this isn't the one for you. This is a book that, especially in Grohl's eyes, is about the most important thing of all: The music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and engaging snapshot, 12 Oct 2011
By 
MCDee (Perth,Scotland) - See all my reviews
Written from the perspective of a former Editor, this work is well written and covers in great detail the various makings and breakings of Dave Grohl the individual, the front man and the genius.

Paul Brannigan has provided an entertaining and engaging snapshot into the life of the man that has featured prominently at various stages of the past twenty years in the music business.

The background given on the many players in the kaleidoscopic music scene of Grohl's youth and beyond enriches the text so that is is more than merely a reflection on one person alone. Thankfully, the story of Nirvana and Grohl's place in it is told proportionately to his many other exploits and avoids turning the book into a eulogy of what once was.

I highly recommend this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bio Of Modern Rock Legend!!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really enjoyable read on Dave Grohl, tracing back to his early to being part of the best Grunge band on the planet, before fronting his own awesome modern rock band, a great read on a modern rock idol and true all round musician/singer songwriter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting and thoughtful read
Would recommend to anyone interested in Dave Grohl as a person

Loved this book xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and interesting read, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is a Call: The Life and Times of Dave Grohl (Kindle Edition)
I found this very entertaining and as this was my first book on Grohl/Nirvana this was a very interesting read. Got me to listening Nirvana again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dave the world is not worthy you are an inspirational muse, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a few of these but this particular one truly concentrates on what Dave Grohl finds most important

THE MUSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating read for anyone who likes Nirvana, the Foo Fighters and music in general. A Great book! Go on, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is a Call: The Life and Times of Dave Grohl (Kindle Edition)
A real heart felt in-depth look into the life of one of Rocks greastest icons! It really shows why he is such a nice guy after the life he lived, through Nirvana and the Foo Fighters, and the tragedies along the way! A great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough read, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is a Call: The Life and Times of Dave Grohl (Kindle Edition)
A decent read but as its written by a music journalist its written from a very factual perspective. Provides a good insight into the development of the music genres that shaped Dave Grohl. Until the man himself tells his own story its probably the best book to give you an idea of the guy. He strikes me as the kind of guy that has no urge to write a book about himself (but hope I'm wrong) and then you may have something to compare with a great autobiography eg Slash's. Worth a read and will definitely open doors for new bands and influences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews