Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detail for fans
This book covers similar ground to John Curran's earlier Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making, including fascinating extracts from Agatha Christie's notebooks and other sources, biographical information and two previously unpublished stories.

Like the stories in the earlier book, both of the "new" stories in this book were...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by downkiddie

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same.
As an avid Agatha Christie fan,most of my life, I was excited about this book, and bought the two, including Agatha Christie's Notebooks. I was very disappointed, as it is just the same things and not worth buying them both. Very disappointed indeed.
Published 3 months ago by A. R. Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detail for fans, 9 Sep 2011
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book covers similar ground to John Curran's earlier Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making, including fascinating extracts from Agatha Christie's notebooks and other sources, biographical information and two previously unpublished stories.

Like the stories in the earlier book, both of the "new" stories in this book were rewritten by Christie and subsequently published. In this book, "The Man Who Knew" is an earlier version of "The Red Signal", dating from very early in Christie's career. "The Case of the Caretaker's Wife" became "The Case of the Caretaker". The version in this book is superior to the rewritten story, having Miss Marple out and about and solving the mystery rather than recovering from flu as in the rewrite.

This is a book for Agatha Christie fans. The unpublished stories are close to previously published ones. The chapters on her notes and life are fascinating, but a casual reader might not find them so. To get the best from this book you need to be familiar with her work, and have read a lot of it, as solutions are revealed to many of her novels - these are clearly stated however so these bits can be skipped. The book is arranged by decade, with interesting sections on unused ideas. These are jottings for books that were never written. The most interesting is the last one, which would have been a new direction for Christie.

Although not an essential book, fans of Agatha Christie and her work will find much to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alpha Plus, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha Christie's remaining plotting notebooks have been meticulously deciphered and presented for our delectation accompanied by interesting and stimulating commentary. In addition, John Curran has unearthed some fascinating new material: an extended and superior version of a published Miss Marple short story, more intriguing 'Unused Ideas, etc. The book will afford particular pleasure to readers well-acquainted with Agatha Christie's oeuvre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same., 27 May 2014
By 
A. R. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an avid Agatha Christie fan,most of my life, I was excited about this book, and bought the two, including Agatha Christie's Notebooks. I was very disappointed, as it is just the same things and not worth buying them both. Very disappointed indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice insight, 17 Feb 2014
By 
JJ "JJ" (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Murder in the Making: Stories and Secrets from Her Archive - includes an unseen Miss Marple Story (Kindle Edition)
As a writer and a reader, I find both Curran's books fascinating. The peek into Christie's notebooks is intriguing as is the realisation that she probably did most of the plotting in her head, just writing stuff down when she needed to "see" it. The notebooks are in no particular order, she rarely dated anything. That makes it difficult for Curran to put together a flowing, cohesive piece of work, but hat's off to him he does a good job. Great for aspiring writers and for those who love Christie's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, 20 Nov 2012
By 
P. R. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Murder in the Making: Stories and Secrets from Her Archive - includes an unseen Miss Marple Story (Kindle Edition)
This title is really a follow-on from John Curran's 'Secret Notebook' volume, covering more of the information he unearthed from Christie's archive. (At first glance, I thought it WAS the same book that had been reprinted with a different title & cover!) As before, he gives away a lot of plot detail, but I don't see this as a problem, as you really need a good knowledge of Christie's writings to gain anything from reading this book, otherwise, his references to plots, characters etc will be fairly meaningless. This book covers different material to the first one, but is very similar in style & level of detail so if you loved or hated the first book, you will probably have the same opinion of this one! I enjoyed reading both volumes and gained some interesting insights into Christie's work, but I did feel overloaded with information and felt it would have been better condensed into one smaller book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no one will match her, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Stella Houghton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Murder in the Making: Stories and Secrets from Her Archive - includes an unseen Miss Marple Story (Kindle Edition)
allways loved her books she has surpased any other writer in the crime stories writting .no one will match her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marples is amazing, 1 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Murder in the Making: Stories and Secrets from Her Archive - includes an unseen Miss Marple Story (Kindle Edition)
Agatha must have been very prolific writer and storyteller. She breathes life into all her stories.
I look forward to every book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews