Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written with a lot of heart
I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but I must admit that I'm very pleasantly surprised at how reflective and honest Jermaine has seemed to be. Although there are things I think he omits for privacy, he does delve much deeper into the reality of their life back in Gary and in Motown, much more intimately and sensitively and with more heart than I think I've ever...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by The girl who was

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jermaine's whitewash
I was determined not to buy this book because I dislike Jermaine Jackson and as a big admirer of Michael I did not want to put money in the pocket of someone who has done him several dis-services in the past. I then read all the glowing reviews and thought "Oh well maybe I have been wrong".

This book has nothing new in it, what it has is old stories with a...
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by elaine


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written with a lot of heart, 13 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but I must admit that I'm very pleasantly surprised at how reflective and honest Jermaine has seemed to be. Although there are things I think he omits for privacy, he does delve much deeper into the reality of their life back in Gary and in Motown, much more intimately and sensitively and with more heart than I think I've ever read anyone else speak about it before.

As a huge MJ fan I wasn't sure there would be much here that would be new for me, but there's a lot here I didn't know or the things that are known are in more in depth from his perspective.

Some very nice turns of phrase and the love he has for his brother shines through from almost every page. As someone who was initially very skeptical about Jermaine writing a book about his brother, I can't deny I'm surprised and moved by a lot of what Jermaine says.

He also goes out of his way to try and explain and give depth to some of the "eccentricities" in Michael's life and about the extortion attempt in 1993 and the mess of the trial in 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 22 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pease,anyone tempted to buy this,please do. This isn't Jermaine in any way cashing in on his brother's death,it's one brother writng about another with such love and meaning it's hard to put down.
This isn't just another book about the life and career of the brilliant entertainer that was MICHAEL JACKSON,it's a truely stunning honest book on what michael the person was like,from someone who knows,someone who was by his side for years throughout heartbreak,depseration,trauma and laughter. Jermains touching words of his memories paint a brilliant picture. Where as most books give us an outline of who MICHAEL was,this colours in that outline with all the necessary colours. As i'm sure many reviewers of this book will tell you,this book will make you smile,laugh,curse and cry. It takes you through so many emotions,it has a -this is how it is- feel,rather than a -this is how i believe it is-one,and what Jermaine doesn't know for certain he's not shy in admitting,but gives his honest theory. If you are thinking Jeramine might be using this as a cunning platform to sell his own music,you're wrong. Yes he mentions his career and songs but only to explain what was going on for everyone at that time. This gives you a real insight about THE JACKSON 5,THE JACKSONS,solo careers,MICHEL's surge in fame and the trill of performing aswell as what their father was and is really like and JERMAINE isn't shy in saying how he thought MICHAEL saw his dad differently than him. This also talks about those sordid cases that damaged MICAHEL's career and even his mind,stating things that i'm sure even a lot of fans didn't know and explaining how the media liked to leave certain things out of the stories doing the rounds at the time. JERMAINE isn't even shy in talking about MICHAEL's plastic surgery,but as he says -so what? Indeed.
I would say this is a must have for MICHAEL JACKSON fans,i would also say to anyone who would like a bit more information on what MICHAEL was like behind the mask,his life and devastating death,this will open you eyes and hopefully your mind. Cynics can speculate all they like,but JERMAINE should know the truth,he was there after all.
Yes,MICHAEL JACKSON was a brilliant showman,yes,MICHAEL JACKSON did do things a little differently,yes,MICHAEL JACKSON was a name that got lovers and haters talking,but as JERMAINE explains,MICHAEL JACKSON was his brother. And this is a beautiful and honest account of a truely remarkable and yet quite normal person. We miss you MICHAEL. Thank you JERMAINE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in the dream, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Ms. Toni M. K. Smith "viavirgin1" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jermaine's book should have been written long ago, may be that way people would have seen Michael for who he really was, not just from the speculation of the media.
I really enjoyed this book, it made me laugh and cry, I can't thank Jermaine enough for writing this book.

Michael Jackson meant different things to different people. We each have a special memory of Michael Jackson; whether we met him in person, attended one of his concerts, was the beneficiary of his kindness, or, was just an absolute, die-hard fan from afar.
No one can dispute Michael's unsurpassed talent; his musical genius; his thought-provoking lyrics, book and poems; his creativity; his loving, giving heart; his soft, gentle voice; his sweet smile; his sensitive soul; his tireless, humanitarian efforts; his philanthropic causes; his extremely, generous contributions to charities, to the poor and less privileged; and, the list goes on and on.
I choose to remember Michael Jackson in this way,the human.
I have been a life-long fan because Michael and I "grew up" together, he was a part of my life for decades; since I am the same age as Michael. His music was all around me for every event in my life.
I was a typical girl watching the Jackson 5 cartoons; becoming a young, devoted teen with a crush; becoming a young woman dancing in clubs to his hit songs, "wishing I could meet Michael;" and then, venturing into a woman who still loved his songs and videos, yet found new appreciation, meaning and purpose of his newer and deeper lyrics.
I saw Michael only as a person. Regardless of his music accomplishments which I enjoy and applaud; Michael Jackson had a way to draw you in to him, in to his heart; which made you want to just take him, hold him and never let him go.
When I speak on the outside of Michael Jackson, he will be the greatest entertainer and humanitarian of my lifetime and beyond.
In my heart of hearts, Michael will always be the sweet, shy soul who dared to dream and dared to make it happen.......Michael, I love you more too.......
Always in my heart x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you are not alone, 18 Sep 2011
when i started reading this book i was hoping to find an honest, down to earth view of life as a member of the jackson family, and that is exactly what i found.
from the outset i found this to be wonderfully easy to read and hard to put down, i found myself both laughing and crying, both charmed and saddened, and it has really made me think about not just their lives but my own too, the events that happened to me and shaped me into the person i am today, and why.
having read michaels book many years ago, i find it beautifully refreshing to have another view of life as it was for them, as jermaine put it everyone will have their own version of the same story aswell as their own to tell.
it has always saddened me that media and the vast majority of people had michael completely wrong, they forgot to see the person behind the image and this goes a way to showing that real person i knew was there.
so my thanks to jermaine for sharing with us his story and a small piece of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally amazing, 24 Sep 2011
As an avid Michael Jackson and the Jackson family fan this book is a must read, it took me 2 days, Reading is my hobby (I read alot) this has to the one of the most emotional books I have read ever, it had me laughing out loud, then crying then aww cuteness, The snippits of history felt like I was really there, I can imagine the house in gary. You can feel the love leap from every page of this book, The pain and anguish through the trials, the pride and brotherhood from the J5 days and everyday of their lives as a family. This book really shows that blood really is thicker than water.It took me several attempts to read the ending I was crying so much (the funeral and mermorial service) I urge every one to go and buy it. Even if you are not a fan its still great read. A MUST ON EVERY BOOKSHELF XXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jermaine's whitewash, 22 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was determined not to buy this book because I dislike Jermaine Jackson and as a big admirer of Michael I did not want to put money in the pocket of someone who has done him several dis-services in the past. I then read all the glowing reviews and thought "Oh well maybe I have been wrong".

This book has nothing new in it, what it has is old stories with a different spin, i.e. a whitewash in most instances. The early days are related slightly differently from previous biographies, with all the family coming out looking good, he has even managed to exonerate Joe (Why he would want to do that God only knows). Anyone who watched the old mini-series - The Jacksons an American dream - will recognise the family history as related by Katherine Jackson to Margaret Monaldo. For instance we are asked to believe that Mother did not know that her very young impressionable sons were performing in sleazy strip joints until she found a nipple tassle amongst their things when they returned home one night - what sort of cheap club did she think they were performing in till 2am in the morning? He has even managed to make the eventual split between Mum and Dad sound totally amicable, there are court papers to prove that Katherine tried to divorce Joe on two occasions over the years, and no mention of Joh'Vonnie Jackson, she obviously does not constitute the family that he harps on interminably about. I won't relate all the unlikely scenarios presented by Jermaine, but reading the excuses for "Word to the badd" were laughable. Jermaine spouts on all the time about the strength of the family bonds, whilst admitting to an eight year gap when he did not see his brother Michael! It is family, family, brothers, brothers, blah, blah all the way through with a very liberal sprinkling of Jermaine's acheivements throughout what is supposed to be a book about Michael. All this sermonising about family loyalty from a man who is a proven dead- beat Dad, who was forced through the courts and hectored by Katherine to pay for his kids and has a far from squeaky clean record with his wives and the mothers of his children. There are long periods in Michaels life that Jermaine could not really write about as, by his own admission, he did not have a lot of contact with Michael, but there again he did always ask his Mum on the phone if the 'much-loved' brother was okay - aw ain't that touching??!!

His narrative of Michaels last months should not have been sugar-coated the way they were, after all the Conrad Murray court case is now showing that Michael was not in good shape and goodness knows what damage would have been done to Michael's health if the O2 concerts had gone ahead.

I would like to give no stars to Jermaine, but I am happy to give credit to the ghost writer,Steve Dennis,who has managed to write in a pleasant and articulate manner. That cannot have been easy as anyone who has heard or seen Jermaine being interviewed will know that it is sometimes hard to make sense of what he says and he can never answer a question directly. Future reviewers note that the clever turns of phrase and nice words are not necessarily Jermaine's. And in response to the reviewer who said this is not an attempt to make money out of Michael - yes it is and in the process he has tried very hard to come out looking like the most loving brother anyone could have. History shows otheriwse.

Finally, if you want to read about Michaels life you really cannot do better than J Randy Taraborelli, he may not have everything spot on but his detail and accuracy are far superior to this book.

R I P Michael, at least he said nothing bad about you,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, especially when looking at the early years and career of Michael Jackson..., 6 Mar 2013
By 
JJB "Jonny" (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
When I got given this book because of my interest in Michael Jackson I didn't know what to think; I've seen Jermaine on TV promoting the book and in my honest opinion didn't think he was all there with his accusations on his death to name just a few of his wild claims. When I picked the book up to read the Prologue I was pleasantly surprised and found myself glued to the pages and not being able to put the book down.

What's interesting about how this book is written is its split into 3 parts; The beginning (The Early Years), The Middle (The Hayvenhurst Years) and The End (The Neverland Years). I really enjoyed this as it documents the various points in Michaels career from his school years up to his days rehearsing for This Is It.

What I will say, the beginning and a majority of the middle is very very thorough and really very interesting. I found that I was reading things about Michael Jackson I'd never read before and was interesting to read (i'll not give anything away!) The biggest negative of this book however, is that by his own admission, Michael distanced himself from his family in the 1980s and as a result some of the biggest chapters in MJs life are not covered in anywhere near the detail as the earlier parts of the book are. For example joining Motown and breaking into the industry took up around 40 pages of great memories and details about not just MJ but the family. The arrest if 2003 and subsequent trial took up a total of 19 pages; this was because Jermaine wasn't as bigger part of his brothers life in the later years. His own admission states that between 1984 - 1993 the family seen Michael no more than 8 times a year.

Having said that, this book really is a good read. I've never known too much about Jermaine but he speaks about his own career and talks open and honestly about his fathers beatings, early rehearsals and his own music career. For anyone who has an interest in Michael Jackson, the Jackson family, or to understand a little more about what shaped Michael Jackson from his younger days then this book is very good. Jermaine talks more honestly than maybe MJ himself did in interviews and definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the very very few Michael Jackson books worth reading!, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a very clear and true portrayal of Michael, free from tabloid junks. This book to much extent humanizes Michael, and shows the other side of Michael which was rarely seen, midst the media circus. It is a well written book, but I would say not in depth researched.

It is all about LOVE: which a brother has for his younger brother and he does complete justice with this book. It is a must read for any Michael Jackson fan.

In all this book will make you cry at times and at times make you laugh. And YES YES "FREE" from petty gossips - like for instance Michael had no nose and all that... peevish rumors.

I highly recommend this book. Very Enjoyable and True.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With Michael we're all not alone, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ahh, this book was a breath of fresh air, away from all the tabloid speculation about the myth of the man. Here, we just see the boy grow into a man, never forgetting that he's a brother, a person that means a whole lot to somebody, and not just an entertainer. For anyone interested in the arts, this is a true eye-opener into how we as a culture support the arts, and teach our young people to value arts. Plus, this is the perspective on Michael Jackson that any fan or even curious bystander has wanted for some time. THis is how we see Michael, not as a journalist looking to pitch a new story, not as a sales representative pushing CD's, but as a sister or brother, watching him make his way as we try to make ours. What would you do if one of your siblings were absolutely fantastic? Would you be jealous or supportive?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely well written...a must for any MJ fan, 15 Mar 2012
Just finished reading this book after getting it for Xmas, and I have to say, after 450 pages I was not left disappointed...

Jermaine provides a lot of detail and honesty surrounding the events in Michael's life, from the Jackson 5 days in Gary, right up until his death in 2009.

As a big MJ fan, this book explained many things about Michael I didn't know, and consequently, there are a few surprises along the way! what I found most refreshing about this book was the fact that Jermaine talks candidly about what all of the tabloids have been wrongly saying about Michael for years, and tells you the truth from his version of events, as his closest brother. The truth behind Michael's deterioration around the This Is It rehearsals is particularly interesting.

This is a great combination of an autobiography for Jermaine, told through the times of highs and lows in his brothers life. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to find out more about Michael Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews