Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little guide!
I got this book on the side to help with learning dutch and its stunningly good! Its everything you could need from a phrasebook, it has lots of nice little bits you would expect not to see. A few examples being it has a section on phrases if you are seeking vegetarian food, the little pictures of road signs and their meanings and particularly the section that is headed...
Published on 6 Nov 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to get to what you need quickly
Although I like using my Kindle for fiction, I have come to the conclusion that reference books are still easier to use in book format. This phrasebook is a prime example. When you need to look up something quickly, it's difficult to navigate around to find the section you need.
Published 18 months ago by Sharon Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little guide!, 6 Nov 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book on the side to help with learning dutch and its stunningly good! Its everything you could need from a phrasebook, it has lots of nice little bits you would expect not to see. A few examples being it has a section on phrases if you are seeking vegetarian food, the little pictures of road signs and their meanings and particularly the section that is headed 'Practicalities' which contains all sorts of helpful tidbits.
Something I also found very helpful was that throughout the book every saying has pronunciation help underneath it. It is very up to date and has the perfect balance between important and informative and modern day colloquialism that I haven't found with other books. It has a very friendly approach, using lots of colour, and is another wonder of the Collins gem collection. Absolutely 5*s its a little pot of gold you can fit in your pocket(and it actually does to!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent compact language guide, 4 Jun 2009
By 
D. A. Cunliffe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dutch Phrasebook CD Pack (Collins GEM)

An excellent language guide , much smaller than the usual Berlitz guides but equally useful, with clear pronunciation guide for every phrase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an Englishman living since May 2010 in The Netherlands, I have previously struggled with learning the Dutch language. I use this excellent little book to supplement me when out and about - for which it is invaluable. Need help in The Netherlands, get this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 20 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely full of little bits you wouldn't necessarily expect, pronunciation guide is clear as a bell and already well thumbed. Very compact size, I keep it in my handbag and use it all the time. Essential piece of kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to get to what you need quickly, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dutch Phrasebook (Collins Gem) (Kindle Edition)
Although I like using my Kindle for fiction, I have come to the conclusion that reference books are still easier to use in book format. This phrasebook is a prime example. When you need to look up something quickly, it's difficult to navigate around to find the section you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will certainly get you through your trip, 29 Mar 2009
By 
taylzo "dvd addict / bookworm" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Whilst almost everyone speaks English in the Netherlands, I like to have some knowledge of the local language when I go abroad, and this phrasebook is perfect. Handy size and plenty of info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dutch Phrasebook (Collins Gem) (Kindle Edition)
Just what I need for a trip to Amsterdam. I like to make the effort to speak the local language when abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good but ultimately useless, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dutch Phrasebook (Collins Gem) (Kindle Edition)
I found this well laid out, simple and very easy to use; perfect for a few days amongst the Nederlandie.

Sadly though it was of no use whatsoever as every time I tried out a phrase I got a response in English. Very annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice publication, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dutch Phrasebook (Collins Gem) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very useful phrase book for
those who are learning Dutch and just as good if you use it only for a visit to the Netherlands.
Navigating a phrase book on your kindle is not as satisfactory as having a hard copy in your possession, but it does work for me, so worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dutch Phrasebook (Collins Gem) (Kindle Edition)
Awkward to use on tablet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dutch Phrasebook (Collins Gem)
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews