Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars38
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2014
Once again I can recommend these history in an hour books. They cost on average £0.99 and some are even less. They do what they say on the tin. A short overview of a subject without taxing the poor average Joe's brain with long words and prose that is often convoluted and obscure.

I've just finished this one on my kindle. I can now tell you about the 3 kings England had in 1066. I can understand why William the conqueror felt he had right to the English throne. I have a good timeline about the events leading up to the battle of Hastings and after. All in all a very good £0.99 pennies worth.

I've read about 12 of these histories and have not been disappointed with any. The only argument I could possibly think of against them is that they lack in detail and in depth analysis. That is correct and I would suggest to those that want further depth and analysis after reading these books you would have an excellent foundation upon which to build a fuller picture. Those that don't will be happy to store away the general overview that these books provide.

I'm away now to purchase my next history in an hour book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
this does give you the history of 1066 in about an hours reading. all the facts were there, the people were neatly described and this would be a useful introduction for new students of history. i have read many books about 1066 and all that and i bought this on kindle for when i was out and wanted something interesting to read, it did keep me busy for the hour (just over actually) and did have interesting facts in there i did not know already, very good book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Very good for just an hour to explain. Jolted your memory from your school days. I like the way you can either read it yourself or listen to the commentary.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This is fine as a basic summary of the events leading up to, and after the Battle of Hastings. It does not pretend to be a comprehensive account and in that sense delivers what it offers. As with the other books in this series it offers little more than any basic history text would provide but does serve as a good jumping off point for further reading. Certainy more comprehensive and readable accounts are available free in hundreds of locations on the [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Another great book in the History in an hour series. An informative and insightful look into the year of 1066. Also a useful guide at the end of the book which gives more detail on each of the people involved in the events of this year. A good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
It was a though the author suddenly remembered an appointment so finished the story in 2 pages. Hardly anything about the battle.

In fairness, this was just about 1066 but I'd have liked to have understood more of the consequences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Love the history in an hour books, informative and quick to read. If you like to read history this is a simple and effective way to get started and highlights which parts interest you most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
A fun, bare bones, introduction to one of the most important events and people in English history. A good refresher, useful as a springboard forwarding further books on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
It really tells you all you really need to know about the event and sufficient background for an event that everyone knows happened but does not know any of the background
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Quick concise informative and easy to follow and understand
Bitesize piece of English history

Enjoyed reading and refreshing my knowledge of history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)