Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1066
this does give you the history of 1066 in about an hours reading. all the facts were there, the people were neatly described and this would be a useful introduction for new students of history. i have read many books about 1066 and all that and i bought this on kindle for when i was out and wanted something interesting to read, it did keep me busy for the hour (just over...
Published 16 months ago by Andrew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Quick concise informative and easy to follow and understand
Bitesize piece of English history

Enjoyed reading and refreshing my knowledge of history
Published 5 months ago by Fiona Shearer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1066, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Very good for just an hour to explain. Jolted your memory from your school days. I like the way you can either read it yourself or listen to the commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1066, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
this does give you the history of 1066 in about an hours reading. all the facts were there, the people were neatly described and this would be a useful introduction for new students of history. i have read many books about 1066 and all that and i bought this on kindle for when i was out and wanted something interesting to read, it did keep me busy for the hour (just over actually) and did have interesting facts in there i did not know already, very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of 1066: History in an hour, 5 July 2014
By 
J. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
An interesting and informative account of the events of 1066.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Bridgen, 26 Mar 2014
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting gives an overview of the battle and the events before and after the battle. Easy to understand. Great mini book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1066 and all that, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
At last I understand the reasons for the Battle of Hastings and its aftermath. All History in an Hour books are clear, precise and a valued learning base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Quick concise informative and easy to follow and understand
Bitesize piece of English history

Enjoyed reading and refreshing my knowledge of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Once again I can recommend these history in an hour books. They cost on average 0.99 and some are even less. They do what they say on the tin. A short overview of a subject without taxing the poor average Joe's brain with long words and prose that is often convoluted and obscure.

I've just finished this one on my kindle. I can now tell you about the 3 kings England had in 1066. I can understand why William the conqueror felt he had right to the English throne. I have a good timeline about the events leading up to the battle of Hastings and after. All in all a very good 0.99 pennies worth.

I've read about 12 of these histories and have not been disappointed with any. The only argument I could possibly think of against them is that they lack in detail and in depth analysis. That is correct and I would suggest to those that want further depth and analysis after reading these books you would have an excellent foundation upon which to build a fuller picture. Those that don't will be happy to store away the general overview that these books provide.

I'm away now to purchase my next history in an hour book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to an important historical date, 11 Jan 2014
By 
D. M. Lord (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
A fun, bare bones, introduction to one of the most important events and people in English history. A good refresher, useful as a springboard forwarding further books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good start but rushed finish, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
It was a though the author suddenly remembered an appointment so finished the story in 2 pages. Hardly anything about the battle.

In fairness, this was just about 1066 but I'd have liked to have understood more of the consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1066: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
A good summary of the events leading up to the Battle of Hastings and its outcome.
Recommended as a quick overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1066: History in an Hour
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews