Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of Poirot
Ahh Poirot, the detective who always sees the complete picture. This story was first published in 1936, which is a compliment to Christie, because her stories short and long are still enthralling fans even after so many years. This one is about a diamond that disapears in a room full of suspects. It is a great read and I enjoyed the added info in the back, which gives the...
Published on 12 Nov 2011 by Cheryl M-M

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars View
When selected had not realised quite how short book was so very dissapointing. In future will make me investigate further before selecting.
Published 8 months ago by GAIL L.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of Poirot, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Ahh Poirot, the detective who always sees the complete picture. This story was first published in 1936, which is a compliment to Christie, because her stories short and long are still enthralling fans even after so many years. This one is about a diamond that disapears in a room full of suspects. It is a great read and I enjoyed the added info in the back, which gives the reader hyperlinks to FB, online games and DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars View, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
When selected had not realised quite how short book was so very dissapointing. In future will make me investigate further before selecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond writing!, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
As the author of 1920s Detective stories Trouble Brewing (Jack Haldean Murder Mysteries) I'm always happy to acknowledge Agatha Christe as the absolute Queen of Crime. The Regatta Mystery is a short story (hence the price) and a wonderful introduction to one of the cleverest mystery writers who ever lived. It stars Parker Pyne, one of Agatha Christies continuing character. Not so well know as Miss Marple or Poriot but jiust as much fun. The Dartmouth background ideftly evoked - its a place she knew vey well - and it all adds up to an excellent story. Read, savour, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poirot and the Regatta Mystery, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Don't waste your money. This is not a short story it is a short chapter! Poirot is very clever as usual but this should be a free Kindle book, not 49p. I read it in 10 minutes and was amazed I had finished it so quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Short Story, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as a Complete Agatha Christie Book but these short stories good on the Kindle for short journeys and waiting rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Poirot, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Yet again Hercule Poirot not failing to impress. I am an avid Agatha Christie fan and this one was as good as any I have read in the past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
A typical Poirot mystery but quite short. I prefer the longer stories that you can get your teeth into but if you have a few minutes to spare then this is an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too brief and no depth., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Having read other Agatha Christie Novels, I was looking forward to delving into a story that I had not heard of. Unfortunately Amazon had not advertised this book as a novella. So, having purchased it on kindle was disappointed to come to the end of the story within minutes.

There was not enough time to develop any of the mystery subtlety that would normally come with a Christie story.

I don't really judge Christie for my lack of enjoyment. I presume it was one of the stories she churned out for a bit of dosh, but I feel that it is Amazon's responsibility to make it clear when the book is only of novella length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gone boating, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Another one of those Little greasy Belgian detective stories that my wife loves. If she hasn't read the books she's seen every episode over and over. Spare me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot and the Regatta Mystery: A Hercule Poirot Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Another interesting Agatha Christie short story with Poirot using his little grey cells to trap a suspect into giving vital information without he/she realising it. A nice read to fill a spare hour during the day or evening. If you are used to reading long novels with lots of padding building up to a climax, the you may find short stories more to the point, though lacking in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews