Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The subject is Black history, but it is also everyone's history
The History in an Hour series continues to turn out high quality books that grab the attention and spark interest in very diverse subjects.

And so it is with "Black History". The book is in the familiar "History in an Hour" format with a couple of pages of introduction, the main narrative peppered with illustrations, short biographies of all the major...
Published on 31 Oct. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to an important part of history
If you have not read much about black history then start here. It will impact you view of your history
Published 10 months ago by Bunmi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The subject is Black history, but it is also everyone's history, 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
The History in an Hour series continues to turn out high quality books that grab the attention and spark interest in very diverse subjects.

And so it is with "Black History". The book is in the familiar "History in an Hour" format with a couple of pages of introduction, the main narrative peppered with illustrations, short biographies of all the major characters involved and finally a chronology of events.

With a short book some events that happened over years are covered in a couple of brief paragraphs yet there is still time for detailed facts which can illustrate with fascinating facts. I was amazed to read that London in 1760 had a population that was 3-6% Black and after the War of Independence the British helped 4,000 Black people escape to Canada and Britain who had fought on the Royalist side. The gas mask of WW1 was invented by a Black man, it was not until 1967 the US Supreme Court ruled against laws banning inter-racial marriage which was the same year the first Black US mayors were elected.

This book introduces the reader to a long list of historical figures who were well ahead of their time yet managed to out manoeuvre the laws and values of the times in which they lived that may of otherwise constrained others, concluding with the election of Barack Obama in 2008.

For the purposes of this book Black History primarily relates to the struggle for equality in the face of adversity and ignorance which means a lot of the book revolves around the Black experience of the Caribbean and the United States with the familiar supporting stories of the European abolition movement but not leaving out other facts such as Denmark and Norway being the first countries to outlaw slavery in 1803. There is much more to Black history but that will be another book; can Harper Press produce "African History in an Hour"?

"Black History" is the subject name but it is also part of the history of all of our forefathers who as perpetrators, victims or improvers all have their footnote in history.

This should be read in conjunction with two other History in an Hour books: American Slavery: History in an Hour and The American Civil War: History in an Hour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Black history, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
A great book for young black or white youths
To understand how lucky they are to live in
This time ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to an important part of history, 1 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
If you have not read much about black history then start here. It will impact you view of your history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent review in one hour, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
The book truly did what it said on the cover that is give an excellently connected weaving narrative on a lively piece of history - all within an hour. I look forward to reading more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black History - History in an hour, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant - This book will tell me everything I need to know
and it won't be endless hundreds of daunting pages which
will take an insane length of time to read - It is short and
easy - Just what I'm looking for - I've been after books like
this for a very long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read...as a starting point, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
A brief and informative background to Black History. It matters if you want to know how we've got where we are today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This was an eye opener for me, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I am a supporter of the'History in an Hour' series as they are simply to the point and by the very nature of construction, deals just with the salient points of the topical subject. This book is in keeping with the structure theme, well written to enable the reader to link events how they happened and, simply, quite showed be how little I know about Black History (I honestly thought I knew more than I actually did). It prompts me to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Important events explained, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Great little starter on black history,leaves me feeling more inquisitive on the subject. Would highly recommend this book to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
This book is very easy to read. Would recommended it to anyone wanting to get a quick understanding about black history. And it only takes one hour or less if you are a fast reader. I like the appendix 2 with the most important dates and events in black history particularly the election of Barack Obama as the first black African-American president of the USA. But it is important to mentioned that a long battle was fought before by many others this could happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Precise Information all in 80pages, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Miss A. Puri "amna" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black History: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Black History in a nutshell right up to present day. Captures key events and movements without complex wording. Uses photographs to illustrate certain periods of Black history and key leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black History: History in an Hour
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews