Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read
This book on interpreting arterial blood gases is a must have. It does not baffle you with science it is easy to read and understand, very user friendly and is a must for anyone learning to interpret ABG's or indeed in need of a refresher. Just Brilliant highly recommended
Published on 30 Dec 2007 by A. Gough

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic
It's very clearly written with the first 56 pages written about ABGs followed by 25 cases to practice.

I was slightly disappointed because I thought that for the amount I paid, there would be more information in it. The pages look slightly scare and theres usually some words on the left page and a diagram on the right page. Not all the diagrams are fantastic or...
Published 16 months ago by Phloe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 30 Dec 2007
By 
A. Gough (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book on interpreting arterial blood gases is a must have. It does not baffle you with science it is easy to read and understand, very user friendly and is a must for anyone learning to interpret ABG's or indeed in need of a refresher. Just Brilliant highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful ward companion, 14 Jan 2008
Very impressed wiith this great little book. It clearly explains how to interperate the abg in a concise, user friendly manner. I particularly benefited from going over the clinical examples section. By expaining the abg within the context of clinical problems that are commonly seen on the wards this book has given me more confidence in my abilty to interperate real life blood gas results.

i have already gone through it twice and it gave me a quick refresher on the subject before ward rounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy to read, 24 Nov 2007
If you have not had to intepret a blood gas for a while or just need a quick reminder of the basics then this is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 29 Jun 2010
Found this pocket size book invaluable in my nursing role. well written easy to understand and took much of the mystique out of interpreting ABG's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes gases fun!, 6 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Concise, easy to follow book. The authors explain what i think are difficult concepts to grasp into manageable pieces for any student of medicine, nursing to junior doctors and definately handy near exam time. Interpretaion of blood gas chemistry is vital and so a book that can easily translate theory into practise emerges as a winner in my eyes! Worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's very clearly written with the first 56 pages written about ABGs followed by 25 cases to practice.

I was slightly disappointed because I thought that for the amount I paid, there would be more information in it. The pages look slightly scare and theres usually some words on the left page and a diagram on the right page. Not all the diagrams are fantastic or useful e.g. there is a picture of the lungs with the ribs, trachea and loebs labelled. Sometimes it seemed like the diagram was there for the sake of taking up some space. Even the pages with words weren't always filled up. It's very easy to read. I don't think I even saw the work "chemoreceptors" under the physiology section. The term they used was "specialised receptors".

What's good:
1) I found about half the cases quite useful. The answers span about half to one page. They are all very well explained and not unnecessarily wordy. I especially like the cases that were linked to the previous case because you get to see how ABGs can change as the disease progresses.

2) It's colourful. So even if the diagrams aren't useful, the colours make it a more pleasant to look at and get through.

3) The 2 pages on oxygen delivery masks held some pretty good points that weren't brought up in my ABG lectures

4) The little note boxes: Those were quite relevant and informative.

Otherwise, expect something quite basic. If you have not read anything on ABGs, start with this book. But if you're a 2nd or 3rd year, then maybe you'd do better borrowing it from the library and making some notes. It took me a few hours to get through it and take notes, coffee breaks included. It is quite pricey for the size and content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 26 Oct 2010
By 
Dr. Sarah L. Edwards "GingeSarah" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sarah Edwards,

This book is definitely a must have for medical students and junior doctors alike. It goes through arterial blood gases in a easy manor. I'm lucky in my medical school that i get taught a lot about ABGs but if your not this is a must. What is even better is at the end there are over 20 examples of ABGs, which helps to consolidate your learning! Superb book

Content:
5/5
Readability:
5/5

Use for Revision:
5/5
Recommend to a friend:
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made very easy, 8 April 2008
By 
Arterial blood gases in under an hour. Very easy, very simple and very good. Definitely not for freaks who want to know about how the electrodes in the machines work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Easy., 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a book just on blood gasses,it goes a long way to explain the pathophysiology behind the results.Blood gas interpretation is one of the things people always say is not easy ,but this book has actually simplified it even for a novice to understand.
A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABG made easy, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book if you work in hospital as a professional, good explanation of ABG, would recommend as a present for (student) nurses and doctors, also would be useful to have a copy on the ward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arterial Blood Gases Made Easy
9.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews