Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket deprived!
I just love cricket, so any videos of England winning are always No. 1 for me.
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. Seema M. Alwi

versus
39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let down for cricket fans
It is a scandal that this is meant to represent the Top of the World Series against India this summer. Only one 2 hour DVD to represent 4 Test matches and most of it concerned with an interview between Michael Vaughan and Andrew Strauss. This has been put together with only sporadic excerpts from Channel 5 Highlights and must represent a nadir in Cricket presentation...
Published on 3 Nov. 2011 by poetseye


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let down for cricket fans, 3 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
It is a scandal that this is meant to represent the Top of the World Series against India this summer. Only one 2 hour DVD to represent 4 Test matches and most of it concerned with an interview between Michael Vaughan and Andrew Strauss. This has been put together with only sporadic excerpts from Channel 5 Highlights and must represent a nadir in Cricket presentation. There is no sense of the momentum of the Series, no coverage of the fall of the wickets or pivotal points and no sense of the dynamic of the batting, including the three important double centuries from Pietersen, Cook and Bell and Bell's fight back 159 at Trent Bridge. Paltry coverage is given to Dravid's three wonderful tons. Batting of this calibre from four of the world's leading batsmen deserves better. The interview between Strauss and Vaughan should have been additional material, not the main fare. Fans have a right to be angry as it down plays a comprehensive victory for England which was not assured during the up and down Trent Bridge Test. There is wonderful bowling which should allow us to follow the drama of the fall of wickets. We can only hope that Sky puts together a package that deserves to be archive material. Given that Sky have a monopoly of coverage, it seems only fair to ask Sky to put together a set of DVDS which do justice to the Series which put England ahead in the Rankings to No 1. Perhaps a request to the ECB is in order too. The 5 Ashes DVDs put together by Cricket Australia is by contrast excellent coverage. Why is our own cricket promotion so poor? And at a time when Test Cricket needs to be celebrated?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really poor offering, 2 Nov. 2011
By 
Andrew Foy (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is terrible. Each test match is about 45 minutes long, and half of that is covered with an interview between Strauss and Vaughan. The actual coverage is so minimal that, in the first England innings of the first test, we only see one wicket fall. At minimum, I expect to see all wickets, very close decisions, most of the boundaries and landmarks. This DVD skips over so much, and I have no idea why. The interview stuff is fine, but should be done as a feature on a separate disc, not as the main program itself. Cricket fans, especially test cricket fans, are usually the kind of people who revel in the detail. So to see the scant coverage was a real disappointment. Most of the other cricket DVDs I have (Recent Ashes series etc), show about 100 minutes per test, and that seems to be a well balanced presentation. If at all possible, wait for a better DVD to come out, and then you can enjoy ALL the important action, not just the gloss. Should have known as soon as I opened the case and found a four test series on one DVD!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 2 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting a "highlights" DVD. What I got was Andrew Strauss sitting in his kitchen, and later his lounge, chatting with Michael Vaughan, and with barely any cricket to watch. To call this a Highlights DVD is a real misnomer and highly misleading. Given the lack of cricket on the DVD, it's heavily over-priced and very, very poor value. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the warning!, 3 Nov. 2011
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
I had been hoping for a DVD to celebrate England's acheievement, so I was thrilled when I saw this one, and instantly supicious when I saw it sounded more like an interview DVD with a bit of cricket in it, so I was waiting for someone to review it to see what it WAS like, and I thank the two who have, for saving me money.

The Ashes DVD set was brilliant. Just hours and hours of cricket, and as this is supposedly a 2 hour DVD, then 2 hours of cricket would at least have been better than nothing, but I did worry that most of it would be the interview, which I have no interest in at all.

As that is obviously the case, I won't be wasting my money (and £12.99 is a LOT for 2 hours when the BRILLIANT Ashes 5 disc set was only a few pounds more) and I'll obviously have to just stick with what I recorded off the telly of the series, until a proper DVD set of the India series comes out. I won't hold my bread though cos I doubt that'll happen, which is a pity.
I'll only buy this one if it gets down to being able to get it for about £3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh so Disappointing, 6 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
It's just nothing like it should be. Instead of a highlights package it's based around an interview with Strauss and Michael Vaughan with the action in between. It's a joke that the whole thing is just 2 hours long with a 4 test series to cover, and a good one at that.
It's a good watch as the interview is ok and works in nicely with the action but it could have been so much better if it was simply done as usual highlights which channel 5 have regularly done. They could have also done just a summer cricket DVD covering the Sri Lanka series too.
Poor effort and very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the warning chaps, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
E. Parker (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
I'd love to relive this Summer's slaughter and the mighty England taking number one spot and nearly bought this DVD. Thank you to all the reviewers for the warning. Sounds like a total rip off. I'll save my hard earned and wait for a proper highlights DVD to come out. Hope it isn't too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why, 11 Nov. 2011
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
terrible, couldent even be botherd to finish it- so little cricket action and i just dont see why. Why would you not put more cricket action and less interview, everybody would prefer this, the more cricket action the better. Unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 2 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
When they say "highlights" they mean it. Of England's first innings of the first Test you get to see two wickets fall and a selection of Pietersen's shots. Of India's innings you see only the wickets fall. The rest of the "highlights" are spent in Andrew Strauss' kitchen (I assume it's his), where he and Michael Vaughan discuss the day's events. Mind you, because they perch on stools and look mightily uncomfortable you get to see a lot of the top of Strauss' head, so you can see just how follicly challenged he really is. We have bought other England cricket DVDs, where you get proper highlights, i.e. loads of cricket, so you get the feel of how the match unfolds, the drama of the shifting balance of supremacy and the best batting and bowling performances. We gave up after the first Test because, having counted all the hairs on Strauss' bonce we lost interest. Complete waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 22 Dec. 2011
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks to you all for the warning. I have every England cricket dvd going but this is the first i shall avoid. So dissapointing that no Englands Summer of Cricket dvd available for the 2nd year running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars appalling..what a con!, 28 Dec. 2011
By 
B. Hannan (glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England - Top Of The World (Limited Edition with Souvenir Programme) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the worst cricket dvd ever. Sunset and Vine should be ashamed of themselves - as should the con merchants who have been posting 5-star reviews in an effort to jack up the ratings. There is hardly any cricket. The Indian innings in the 1st test consists of just 11 balls - yes ELEVEN balls - plus repeats of those eleven balls showing the criketers getting out. You get no idea of the tension of each day. Just Vaughan who is a pretty wooden commentator and Strauss giving some kind of "analysis" which takes place, of all places, in someone's kitchen. I bought 3 copies of this rubbish for Xmas presents. More fool me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews