Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series...
This series is ideal for someone who likes sci-fi like Doctor Who but who wants something a bit more mature, a bit grittier and a bit more realistic.

Seasons 1 & 2 are of the 'One Case Per Episode' format with the occasional two parter. The five main cast members: Jack, Gwen, Tosh, Owen and Ianto battle everything from alien invasions to a spate of mysterious...
Published 7 months ago by Euan Andrew

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag
Series One is brilliant in it's individual episodes but the finale is stupid and deeply underwhelming.

Series Two is the same. I felt nothing for the pathetic Big Bad. I loved the Owen Harper arc and that should have been the larger focus.

Children of Earth was Art with a capital A. It was also tremendously bleak and kept me on edge the whole time...
Published 5 months ago by gregthorne


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Region Free applies to only Series 1 & 2, not COE or MD, 10 Oct 2012
By 
R. Merko "Dance music collector" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Torchwood, Series 1 & 2 played well in a Region A Sony blu-ray player in Canada as expected from the product description. Neither Children of Earth (Series 3) nor Miracle Day (Series 4) were able to be played on the same Sony blu-ray player.
Regrettably, I did not check all of the discs in my purchase upon receipt at the end of last year so that I could report the problem and return it to amazon.co.uk
I assumed that Amazon.co.uk posted accurate product descriptions.
I watched Series 1 & 2 through Spring, 2012, and didn't get to the last 2 series until after May, when I found that Children of Earth and Miracle Day would not play.

I've only recently been able to watch Children of Earth and Miracle Day on a friend's laptop that had a BD-ROM drive, although the video was jerky on Children of Earth.

Disappointing, as I've since learned that this issue was discovered by 2 Entertain, and they have since released in North America a Region A version in March 2012, verified by a YouTube review of Miracle Day that describes the problem at [...]

Please do not purchase this product, unless you will be viewing it on a Region B player in the UK or Europe.
Enjoyed Torchwood, but the inability to view the entire set on my large television screen was disappointing, and I cannot watch Children of Earth or Miracle Day again (part of the reason for buying discs), unless I borrow my friend's laptop again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Great item but not 4 series just 2 series and 2 extended specials children of earth and miracle day, but arrived fast and in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVDs don't play on all PC DVD players, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The stories are great and I would give 5 stars for them.

The problem is the DVDs. They don't play on my laptop (other DVDs do) nor my wife's. As far as I can work out it is some sort of copy protection restriction. This is really, really bad as I could only get these to work on a dedicated DVD player. So people who freeload and download off the internet free can watch how they like but those who pay for the product lose the flexibility? Come one guys the problem isn't kim dotcom it is you publishers you actually penalise people who buy your products - how absurd can you get?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better off buying the seperate DVDs, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 & 2 are so different from 3, and 4 was just atrocious, so you are better off deciding what you like best and buying that series' DVD. I recommend series 2 as the best with 4 stars, then series 1 with 3 stars, series 2 with 1 star and finally series 4 with no stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Broken Christmas, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I came to review a previous review but it seems to have gone missing, but what is worse is that now tomorrow is xmas and my daughter wanted the boxset for xmas but still hasnt arrived.
anyways, thats my 2 cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Libertarian agenda gets in the way of a decent script., 5 Oct 2013
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is really pushing the boundaries of a 15 rating. Uses every possible excuse to stick in a sex scene - to a ridiculous degree. It's hard to believe this wasn't purposefully designed to fool the parents of older Dr. Who fans into letting them watch it and then filling the kids' heads with pro-promiscuity propaganda. Pretty violent as well. The people of Cardiff ought to have protested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD]
Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] by Euros Lyn (DVD - 2011)
£26.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews