Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood Series 1-4 Box Set (DVD)
I love this series and I want to order another set for my daughter-in-law. Can you help me with this or do I need to order it some other way.
Published 3 months ago by Anthony Hare

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag
Series One is brilliant in it's individual episodes but the finale is stupid and deeply underwhelming.

Series Two is the same. I felt nothing for the pathetic Big Bad. I loved the Owen Harper arc and that should have been the larger focus.

Children of Earth was Art with a capital A. It was also tremendously bleak and kept me on edge the whole time...
Published 3 months ago by gregthorne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Series One is brilliant in it's individual episodes but the finale is stupid and deeply underwhelming.

Series Two is the same. I felt nothing for the pathetic Big Bad. I loved the Owen Harper arc and that should have been the larger focus.

Children of Earth was Art with a capital A. It was also tremendously bleak and kept me on edge the whole time. Fantastic.

Miracle Day was utter rubbish. It went on too long, had too many subplots and was just generally boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood Series 1-4 Box Set (DVD), 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series and I want to order another set for my daughter-in-law. Can you help me with this or do I need to order it some other way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Dr Who?, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Any fan of Dr Who will love this spin off series. John Borrowman is excellent in his role as Captain Jack, not to mention Eva Meyles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series..., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This series is ideal for someone who likes sci-fi like Doctor Who but who wants something a bit more mature, a bit grittier and a bit more realistic.

Seasons 1 & 2 are of the 'One Case Per Episode' format with the occasional two parter. The five main cast members: Jack, Gwen, Tosh, Owen and Ianto battle everything from alien invasions to a spate of mysterious killings which turns out to be the work of cannibals and not aliens at all.

Seasons 3 & 4 are both one big plot line divided up into hour long episodes.

My only criticism of this show is that they seem to kill of central characters at an alarming rate. If it's down to actors deciding to leave the show then obviously they can't do much about that but if it's down to the script then I think it's a bit severe.
Season 1 has no deaths whatsoever whereas season 2 sees half of the cast eliminated in one foul swoop.
Season 3 sees one of they few remaining team members die for no real reason - the death doesn't really contribute to the plot.
Season 4 sees Torchwood team up with another agency most likely because they seem to have run out of manpower. Again though, several of the most likeable and undeserving characters are killed.

In short, Torchwood is Doctor Who with guns, blood, alien autopsies, sex, swearing and scary realism.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
great xmas pressie for myself . love the fact that it's all one collection and don't have to worry about finding any more of the programes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] Perfect addition for a avid Doctor Who fan. Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russell T Davies & Chris Chibnall have worked wonders!, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This 18 disc box set is the perfect Christmas present for people between the ages of 12 and 150, as I myself know. The packaging consists of a hard, cardboard sleeve like a book which has a pack inside, also in the shape of a book. You turn over and on your left is the episodes contained, along with all the special features. On your right however are eighteen thin plastic cases sandwiched together, each of them with the disc in.

I received the gift yesterday morning and was chuffed to rip it out of the wrapping paper. It contains Series One across seven black discs, two episodes on each one of six with one exception with three on it. The seventh and final of the discs has the TORCHWOOD: DECLASSIFIED series in cut-down form, at ten minutes long each. These give you background information, behind the scenes out-takes and interviews with the cast and crew. Also featured are little segments showing viewers how each monster and creature is made.

On the back of the pack is a picture of Gwen with the details of each separate series. In my opinion for what you're getting this is fully worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely Worth Buying!, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Alex Hodgkinson (Argonia, Tamriel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Every series is amazing! Series one is good, series two is great, series three is almost perfect and series four is amazing! I rank the series like this:

1.) Children of Earth
2.) Miracle Day
3.) Series Two
4.) Series One

I can honestly say that they get better as they go along! The only problem with Miracle Day is that the episodes drag on slightly and every two episodes should just be one. Children of Earth was a perfect length!

Definitely buy this if you have got any of them yet! Completely worth it!

(Make another series before John Barrowman gets too old to play the immortal man Russell!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC. A must-see box set, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing! I never saw this on tv so thought I would try watching them in batches to get the story/ambiance.
I wasn't disappointed. Every story was excellent. Gripping. Exciting.

I think the characters worked well and I really cared about how they were and what happened to them. A sign of a good story/production/cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD]
Torchwood: Series 1-4 Box Set [DVD] by Euros Lyn (DVD - 2011)
25.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews