Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark knight falls., 9 May 2012
By 
D. J. Ketchin "living in books" (Edinburgh Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The war with the Dominiar knights is over and another potential demonsouled tyrant has been crushed. On their return to the Grim Marches Mazael has to confront a dire threat that has arisen in his absence.

The SanKeth steal Rachels child and another force has arisen - the knight Ultorin and his mage Mavlavost have raised an army of Malavags. They rampage accross the marches with a huge army and Ultorin seems invincible even against Mazaels demonsouled prowess. Malavosts nights are haunted by dreams of a giant black wolf and they are all drawn to Deepforest keep home of the Elderborn. Lucien struggles with the consequences of his increasing use of dark magic.

The story is a race - to find the missing child and beat Ultorin and Malavost to Deepforest keep. Along the way the usual epic battles are fought against desperate odds. The writing is good , but its becoming increasingly difficult to differentiate the elements of one book from another as the formula begins to become very repetitive.

There are several plot threads that stand out from the background - Luciens conflicted use of dark magic, Rachels desperate search for her missing child and the Black wolf substory. Much as I enjoy the background of sword and sorcery - there is too much emphasis on the fighting These storyline elements are treated as cursory reasons for the battles to happen rather than the opposite. Each of them is a good plotline and the characters involved are interesting but not emotionally developed as much as they could be. The result is an intellectual appreciation of the characters and motivations, without a full emotional connection to them. The appreciation of their desperation isnt as visceral as in the first book. Mueller still delivers his trademark twists and turns along the way , but as is often case in a series the novelty isnt there to the same extent.

Still a very good book and incredibly good value. Muellers still on good form but maybe give yourself some time - and dont read them all back to back or the books might seem very formulaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul of serpents, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This has been one of the best trilogies that I have read in a long time. Fans of Fiest and Eddings will undoubtedly enjoy this sojourn into a world they will appreciate. Shame it's just a trilogy.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finished !, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Page turner... I loved it.... time to get the next one? Mmmm I think so!
I would recommend it to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul of Serpents, 20 Sep 2013
By 
S. M. Shaw "Tebo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have been reading science fantasy for decades. Let's just say that Moeller has a first class grasp of the genre. Great science fantasy series. Buy this book and the series, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So many plot twists!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Jonathan Moeller definitely knows how to make a reader truly care about the characters he creates. A well thought out story. A brilliant read, despite the slight grammatical errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
this is a good book, it is easy to read and has a good story line. the only reason it didn't get five stars is that there seemed to be gaps were there should have been heated sexual moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story line loved it., 20 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. D. Harp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Loved all of the books. Easy to read.
Good story line and great characters.
Would recomend to every one who loves fantisy fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars soul, 8 Dec 2012
By 
G. Postlethwaite "gordon p" (thetford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
lots of action,easy to read but not predictable,the series just stops short of being too ;samey; rollicking good fun.enjoyed them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul of Serpents (Demonsouled Book 3)
1.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews