Customer Reviews


451 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


486 of 490 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slowness, high ink consumption, & scanning cures :-
I purchased this printer full price and it was indeed 'worth it at twice the price' !

Slowness cure...
When the drivers installed I found two icons for the printer in the printers list in Windows.
The icon without "WS" (webservices) is the one to use for printing, and starts printing quickly\normally. So right-click on this one and set it as the...
Published 21 months ago by Hartopian

versus
127 of 137 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & prints well but slow and greedy
Beautiful printer and inexpensive. First one did not work out of the box but Amazon quickly replaced. Set up is not painful and connected to my wireless network without a problem. The quality of the prints (photo print) is very good. However there are a few drawbacks: It uses a lot of ink and the first set of cartriges went very quickly (less than a month). The diagnostic...
Published on 25 Feb 2012 by Fernando


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

486 of 490 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slowness, high ink consumption, & scanning cures :-, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
I purchased this printer full price and it was indeed 'worth it at twice the price' !

Slowness cure...
When the drivers installed I found two icons for the printer in the printers list in Windows.
The icon without "WS" (webservices) is the one to use for printing, and starts printing quickly\normally. So right-click on this one and set it as the default.

Scanning method...
The icon with "WS" is the one to use for scanning.. not something Canon explain very well.
To save a scan on your PC, put the thing you are scanning on the scanner, and then, back at the PC, right-click on this icon and select Start scan, easy really.
You can use the green&white diamond buttons on the printer itself but these only seem to work when the printer is connected directly with the usb cable.

Reducing ink consumption...
Ink consumption is quite thirsty by default, in fact too thirsty for normal office printing because it saturates and distorts the paper. Easy to fix though..
From Start menu, Devices & printers, Right-click on the printer icon without WS, select 'preferences', then select the 'Main' tab, then highlight the 'Custom' button in the 'Color Intensity' section. With the sliders reduce the saturation a notch or two depending on how mean you want to be with ink. Personally I have the colour ones set to -22 and have left the contrast and brightness ones in the middle.

Also, I've had no problems using cheaper sources of ink. Very very cheap in fact. So price is no longer an issue. But of course I can't guarantee that all cheap inks are ok.

p.s I had a couple of occasions when the wireless connection seemed to get lost, but I think it was something on the PC side because after a reboot it was OK.

Hope that helps some people, cos these things can be sooo frustrating I know.

Note for Apple users >>> Default driver seems ok.

Note for Windows 8 users >>> Went like a dream. Installed automatically without having to 'Add printer'. Just one icon created, so no confusion any more. Ink saturation still needs to be adjusted down, as with earlier versions of Windows.

Note for Linux Mint\Ubuntu users only >>>
Honestly, if you don't have Linux then you will not want to know these details!
I just spent 3 hours phaffing around to replace a default driver that gave very poor, very dark print quality.
If you have the same problem then try one of these methods:-
First, download the driver called cnijfilter-mg5300series-3.60-1-deb.
You might try getting it from here..
http://support-sg.canon-asia.com/contents/SG/EN/0100395402.html
Then, double-click on it to extract it to the Download folder.
Then, either..
1) Double-click on the 'deb' file itself and follow the prompts.
Or If you have problems..
2) Double-click on the .sh file that is in the same folder as the .deb file and follow the prompts.
Or If you still have problems..
3) Right-click on the .deb file and select 'Open with other application' .... choose 'GDebi Package Installer' from the list. If you have more luck than me you will eventually find that a 'ppd' file is revealed. You can then go through the Add printer process and select this ppd file at the point that you get an option to choose a driver
(I couldn't find the option to change a driver on an already installed printer).
Method 2) was the only that worked for me, and there was an error warning at the end of the install... but it seems to work fine without further adjustments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Pixma MG5350, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
My trusty Canon PIXMA IP5200R wireless printer expired after more than 5 years service and I was looking for something similar - didn't really need all the other features (scanning, copying etc.). Found this one and it's got all the bells and whistles, and I have to say the scanning and copying features are useful from time to time, and it looks beautiful in piano black finish. I suspect the guts of this printer are the same as the 5200R - same fantastic print resolution etc.
It's easy to set up as a wireless printer, you enter access point details directly into the printer via its little LCD screen interface, so you don't need a USB cable as you did with previous models - it doesn't come with a USB cable anyway.
The ink tanks are a bit smaller than the IP5200R, but I have always used third party ink and never found a problem (try INKredible.co.uk)
I bought the IP5200R in September 2006 for £120 from eBuyer, but in May 2012 this printer from Amazon was £100.38 with free delivery, and it arrived within 2 days. In the past I have used HP printers, but Canon are world class in my opinion and I wouldn't use any other manufacturer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


322 of 333 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PIXMA perfect, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Emma W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
I bought this printer primarily because it supports AirPrint (iPhone/iPad printing) and at 45cm wide x 36.6cm deep x 16.6cm high it isn't a huge beast of a machine. It comes in a sleek gloss black and though I don't think it would win any beauty contests, it looks smart on a shelf. It feels a bit cheap to handle, but to be fair it is an inexpensive machine.

Out of the box, setting up is quick and easy. The interface is a wheel/button combo but the wheel can be fiddly. The wheel turns around with very little resistance, so when you let go sometimes it moves again and selects something you didn't mean to. And the arrangement of buttons can be misleading as it appears to direct you to the left hand button under the screen, when actually you need to press the centre of the wheel.

Since the AirPrint feature was the main reason I bought this printer, I was keen to try printing from my iPad. Unfortunately my iPad couldn't "see" the printer, so I was unable to print unless I went through Canon's (free) iEPP app. Fortunately after a little research, I found that updating the printer's firmware solved the problem and I was up and running - easy to do but should you really have to do this for a printer that has only been out for a couple of weeks?

The main strength of this printer is it's photo printing which is decent quality and very fast (about 20 seconds for a 6" x 4" print). I take pictures on my iPhone and send them wirelessly to the printer, though you can also print directly from a camera's SD. It is very quick to warm up, so no waiting around while your printer makes R2D2 noises before starting a print job! If noise is a concern there is a quiet mode, though this slows printing speed. You can stock it with paper in the tray underneath or slide it in the back so you can keep A4 in one and photo paper in the other and the printer will select the appropriate source. If you forget to open the output tray after sending a document to print, it automatically opens (I'm a sucker for a gimmick!). If you are printing text, duplex printing (printing both sides without having to manually turn the pages over) is a feature that can save you a lot of paper. I haven't tried it yet, but it is apparently even capable of printing onto CD/DVD. It won't print A3 like my old printer did, but the number of times I actually did this were very few and far between.

Scanning is excellent and can be controlled from the iPad (put document on flatbed scanner, then on iPad select size and press go). It is much quicker than the scanners of old (well, the nineties and noughties) that I remember and you don't need to wait around while it generates a preview and then a final scan.

Ink isn't the cheapest but it's not ridiculously expensive either, and the five single inks mean that if one runs out you only need to replace that one.

A great general purpose scanner/printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pixma MG5350, 4 Sep 2012
By 
L. Rose (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
Item arrived within a few days.
Purchased to replace Pixma IP5200 printer and Epsom V300 scanner and expected similar performance with benefit of all in one and wifi.
The scanner and copier was at least as good as the Epsom, but much easier to use with the machine buttons for straight forward copying and pc options for formatting and saving.
The surprise was how much better the printer is. On A4 photographs the IP5200 gave a reddish cast on complexion in particular, even after calibration, but the MG5350 produced excellent colour and sharpness straight out of the box.
Also the wifi was very easy to set up with the printer identifying my network immediately. I have one pc hard wired and another pc and 2 laptops wifi connected.
Some reviewers have commented on the time the printer takes to warm up and the high ink usage. When first switch on in the morning (I use it a lot every day)it can take longer than the IP5200, but after that it operates substantially quicker than the IP5200 even after being idle for hours. As regards running costs I have the printer defaulted to draft and this gives very satisfactory printing quality, even for writing to clients, and am very pleased with how long the original ink cartridges are lasting.
Perhaps of less consequence it is an attractive box. The only problem I have experienced so far is that I have found it easy to default the paper source to either rear tray or cassette, but on one occasion the printer insisted on printing from the cassette even though I had instructed the rear tray and I could not work out why.
In summary I have no hesitation in recommending this all in one printer for photos, graphics or text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 137 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & prints well but slow and greedy, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
Beautiful printer and inexpensive. First one did not work out of the box but Amazon quickly replaced. Set up is not painful and connected to my wireless network without a problem. The quality of the prints (photo print) is very good. However there are a few drawbacks: It uses a lot of ink and the first set of cartriges went very quickly (less than a month). The diagnostic software does not work over the Wi-Fi so if you want to troubleshoot the printer you have to use a USB cable (that as far as I could see did not come with the printer). Also it frequently goes into Eco mode/hybernation so if you do not wake up the printer (push any button) it does not wake up and you cannot print anything. Even if you do wake it up (press any button) than it takes some two minutes to get back to the network. It also takes a while to warm up for scanning. Hopefully there must be a setting to improve that but I have not had the time to look into this.

All in all it works but it a few kinks were ironed out it would be a much friendlier item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon PIXMA MG5350 All in one colour printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Wi-Fi, and Auto Duplex), 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
This is the best printer we have ever owned. It does everything is says it does with an excellent end finish. We have done mail shots, photos, scanning and duplex printing and enjoyed every minute of using this simple to use, quality printer. It even tells you off if it isn't switched off correctly, wow! Envelopes print clearly with not residual ink mark, and printing is clear and crisp. The colour on photos is superb - we don't know how we lived without this printer before. We would highly recommend this particular model, you will not be disappointed. Everything you need for home publishing, Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon's usual excellence, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
What can I say about this sale. After many productive years printing my Canon MP810 all in one sadly died at the end of February. After much research and with a desire for another all in one I decide to buy the Canon MG5350. After a few attempts to purchase this printer with other companies who all failed to deliver or guarantee delivery before July, I purchased this printer with Amazon in the late evening of Thursday 12th April and it arrived on the morning of Monday 16th April, less than 2 working days and it was standard free delivery. The printer is very easy to set up and within 40 minutes of taking the printer out of the box it was connected to 2 computers, 1 hardwired and the other wirelessly. First few prints just prove that the quality is everything you would expect from a Canon printer and at £110 I feel that I have stolen it from somebody. I would thoroughly recommend this all in one to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRINTER FOR CARD MAKERS, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
Finding a printer that prints on 250gsm to 300gsm CARD was my MAIN priority for choosing this Canon printer, and it takes it like a dream, the colours of the printing ink are great too, and it isnt a noisy clunky printer,
It is a shiny sleek black model that looks very modern and has a centre lcd display with whatever you are doing on it showing on the little screen, I like how it shows you the ink levels as you are printing here too, you dont have to visit any settings to see the levels.
After returning an Epsom XP-402 yesterday (not from Here)that mentioned it was for greeting cards in the shop, and setting it up at home and finding out it wasnt and just kept feeding the card straight through without printing anything, had me tearing my hair out.
I found the setting up the wi-fi on the Canon a little fiddly as there is no clear instructions on the buttons to press, and hunting for some WPS button that I had no idea what it was, and didnt have one in the end, so a bit more awkward than other printer set ups, but I got there in the end by manually doing it.
I have set the printer to take the paper and card from the top only which makes it far easier for me to insert 1 sheet of card infront of a stack of ordinary paper, print out the greeting card, then just print out the insert from the paper stack.
I like the automatic duplex feature which prints both sides of the card without the need for an insert for some particular cards, and on automatic it re-takes the card back in to print the other side, though if you choose duplex setting you cannot choose photo paper setting you need to choose paper, and I noticed that the ink isnt as vibrant/dark with the paper setting.
As I have only purchased the canon today I dont know all about it yet, only the important bits to crafters.
I am very very happy with this printer and would recommend it on performance and print quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, so good, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
It took a couple of tries to get myself WiFi connected to my iMac, but once I had remembered to first download the firm software it worked effortlessly (much easier than my previous Canon).

I've been using this now for about six months: on jobs ranging from straight colour or B/W prints off the web, to high-quality colour photos. It has been excellent in most aspects. The major niggle is the first job of the day, when it seems to take for ever to get organised (I've never known a printer hum and click and whirr so much). But once you've started printing it's much faster than my previous Canon.

After reading other comments about heavy ink usage I found there's an "economy" setting, for quick and no-finesse work. This has cut ink consumption enormously. Also, having separate colour cartridges means that when one runs out (ie really runs out, not just warns it's going to) then it's easy to change just that one. Cyane and Yellow seem to run out quickest. I buy chipped non-Canon ones: a 5-pack every so often, just the necessary colour ones in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon All in One - excellent, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Canon MG5350 Pixma Inkjet All-In-One Airprint A4 Printer (Accessory)
I havered for hours and days, checked every conceivable website, review site, shop etc. Plumped for this model, can't even remember why - good reviews, very good price.

Arrived quickly. Easy to set up wirelessly on a network via a router to three computers also attached wirelessly to the router. Print is good, not lightning fast, but have a laserjet for that grunt work. Scanning is absolutely great - far better / easier / more intuitive than old HP C7280 that was never 100% right (all my other printers are HP, and are great, think just had a duff one!). Copying is easy. Like the dual paper input (one at the back for photo paper when needed). Quite quiet. Love the self-opening output tray, makes for a very neat footprint when not in use. Also added bonus of printing direct onto printable CDs - didn't realise this was available on this model, but have used it a lot for this already.

Slight query is speed of ink use - it may well be that those direct CD prints used up quite a lot of two colours but they're low already. Not run out yet though, and maybe the gauge is just a bit premature and sensitive.... Have bought spares (not Canon OEM but with chips at a 1/3 of the Canon OEM price - so we wait to see whether they work well???).

Overall a great all-in-one colour inkjet. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews