Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unhhh! Game, Set and Match. Pretty Ace.
That's it for the cliches... promise.
Grand Slam Tennis 2 is a pretty remarkable bit of programming. While we are probably quite used to detailed graphics, great physics engines, high production-value cut scenes and realistic, mo-capped player movement in EA titles, GST2 still manages to impress with its fidelity to the game. Of course, the major tournaments and...
Published on 24 May 2012 by PB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
The product arrived very fast! took about 2 days despite saying it would take 3-15 days i think.
The game was brand new and fully packaged in the new wrapping.
The game was very fun to play, although there are not a large variety of animations and the players nearly look to be doing the exact same shot and pose for every single shot!
Also that it was abit...
Published on 20 Aug 2012 by Lloyd33


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Grunting practice!, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. R. Brown "rsbrowndog" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Every now and then I get the itch to play a tennis game. It usually flares up around Wimbledon time, but can strike without warning!

I usually settle for a few games of Wii Sports Tennis and don't take it any further than that. The last computer/console tennis game I really got into was Pete Sampras Tennis way back when! This is certainly a substantial visual upgrade on that title!

There is a lot packed into this game, including the US Open, French Open and lots of classic matches. But the standout feature for me is the inclusion of a fully licensed Wimbledon tournament. I think I am right in saying that this hasn't appeared in a video game before and will certainly be put to full use when the real thing is next on TV!

I am less impressed with the control options. The new big thing for this game is the use of the right thumb stick to control your shots. If you've played EA MMA or Fight Night then it is similar to the system used in that for your punches. Fortunately if you can't get on with it (like me) then you can revert to standard face buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
good product, quick postage, works really well, good to have, recommended to all my family, good service many thanks d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 6 Sep 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this in hope of finding the perfect tennis game but I am disappointed. Graphics are very good and so is the detail in the game but it feels flat and the biggest let down was the commentary, very poor and very very repetitive. 7/10 for grand slam tennis 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mix of Top Spin and Virtua Tennis, 14 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Like my title says, this game seems like a mix of Top Spin and Virtua Tennis. It's quite arcadey like Virtua Tennis, but has some realism like Top Spin.

I'll start with a pro. It has all 4 Grand Slams (yes Wimbledon is there)which is great. Top Spin has 3 of them, and Virtua has none at all. Thats a major plus imo, as it adds to the realism of the game. However, there are not as many minor tournaments.

There are more offline options than Top Spin, as you can play classic matches and classic situations. Plus you can set up your own Grand Slam tournament. However, Career mode is not as realistic as Top Spin. You don't really have to work your way up in GST 2, while in Top Spin it feels like an acutal career.

The roster is decent enough. You get legends like Sampras, Becker, McEnroe, plus modern day greats such as Djokovic, Nadal, Federer etc... It also has my favourite player, TSONGA!! Which is good from my POV. If you feel like you want some players who aren't in the actual roster on the game, then you can create them or look for other creations on player share, which allows you to download other peoples created players. So if you want to download Andre Agassi, you have got that option.

The gameplay is okay. It's quite arcadey, which is quite unusual for EA. The shot animations are not great, and the AI don't act like their real life counter parts (something that is common in EA games mind you). Nadal playing the serve and Volley strategy, Get outta here. But Thats where Top Spin shines, as players act more like their real life counter parts. Sampras serves and Volleys, Nadal plays a defensive baseline game etc... On this, they don't.

Graphically, it's sound. The venues look a lot better than they do on top spin. Roland Garros looks far more realistic. But that is something that EA consistently does, so it's no suprise

This game is fun. It seems more like a game i'd play with friends rather than the CPU though. So i'd recommend it if you just want a fun tennis game to play with mates which has elements of realism. If you want a good realistic tennis simulation, Top Spin 4 is or you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Booyakashaaa, 13 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Descent game for a couple of days but that's about it. Easy for achievements and although the gameplay is really good, it is so easy to complete within a few days. Commentary is really annoying as macenroe comments on same things every match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun! Bit tricky., 19 May 2012
By 
Mr. J. W. Mc Evoy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to say this game was quite fun. There are lots of different modes which I feel definitely adds to the longevity of this game. You have the standard tournaments like the US & French Opens plus the big one: Wimbledon. You can also play classic matches from the 80's, 90's and 00's. There are pros from past and present which is fun for some custom match ups. Serving the ball can be done two ways. You can use the standard (face buttons, which I prefer), or the right thumb stick. The right thumb stick gives you more control but is a lot trickier to do I feel, one for the experts I think. Hitting the returns can also be done via the face buttons or right thumb stick, as with the serve.

Overall good fun but a tad tricky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're either going to love or hate this game!!, 16 Feb 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Grand Slam Tennis 2 promised much with slick, beautifully rendered trailers and a very playable demo, however, the reality of actually owning & playing the game is a big disappointment if you're a serious tennis gamer. Why? Well let's start with the positive aspects of the game - fantastic graphics and cut scenes, the bonus of a commentary by Pat Cash & John McEnroe, realistic crowd sounds and bonus of all bonuses - WIMBLEDON! There's also an opportunity to play Borg/McEnroe/Edberg/Becker/Evert & Navratilova amongst others so good for classic tennis fans.
However, now the negatives - what most tennis enthusiasts want from a good tennis game is realism and excitement as one builds a player's skills from Rookie to Superstar whilst travelling throughout the year to as many realistic real tournaments as possible - throw in a good control system and you have a winner. The much discussed new right stick control system is frankly horrible - spongey, unresponsive and difficult to master to get even the most basic of shots. The Career path is a joke - an exhibition match or pre-tournament and then straight on to a Grand Slam - that's basically it! Also if one wants tournament realism think again - although the game overall allows you to play matches with classic players such as McEnroe and Borg, players like these crop up in current tournaments alongside Djokovic and Murray! One feels that the Developers have tried to muscle in on the Virtua Tennis 4 Arcade crowd here with the result that they have tried to appeal to too many different needs unsuccessfully.
Overall I would say if you simply want great graphics a passable playing system and you simply must have Wimbledon then go for Grand Slam Tennis 2, however if you want a more immersive realistic career path & tennis experience then go to Top Spin 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tennis game, 12 Feb 2012
By 
AJP "AJP" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
EA Sports Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360)
totally disagree with the previous review. this game is excellent. the graphics are some of the best i have seen on any sports game. the players likeness is excellent down to the hairs on legs and bjorn Borgs bow legs. the ball does go out and i have hit the net 3-4 times in one game.
tennis games are some of the oldest video games ever (maybe even the first) and the whole point of the game is to put the ball past the opponent (thats the whole point of tennis) the controls are basic but if you chose the right shot at the right time you can see the difference. the choice of game mode is very good. career mode or play a current tournament choosing a classic player or current player is great.
i you like sports games generally or tennis you will love this game. simply addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GS Tennis 2, 11 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game, the gameplay is brilliant and the graphics are superb. Having wimbledon is a real bonus which other tennis games like Top spin 4 and virtua tennis do not have. My only problem with the game is that the AI seems to go to the net very often which is very annoying since you can rarely beat them at the net, lobs do not seem to work. I found that by going down a level in hardness the game was too easy so I was stuck in the middle. However overall it is a very good game, the best tennis game there is and very good fun. The classic matches are also very goood and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardly world-beating, but a fun enough game, 21 May 2012
By 
southcoastreviewer "perpetual student" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was a rarity (as far as my admittedly limited knowledge is concerned) - a 2 player game on the Xbox that you can play at the same time and not have split screen. So finally, a game that isn't going to cause headaches and minor domestics.

The interface of Grand Slam Tennis is easy to use. You can make your own character for the career track, from an admittedly small variety of graphics which appear to be focused on advertising on the avatar's clothing. Ah well, it's not as if you're playing in close-up.

There is a training school and a practice court to enable you to learn the controls, but the game is pretty intuitive anyway and this came easily.

The graphics flow and the gameplay is highly customisable so that you can have a short game or, should you wish, recreate Wimbledon in an afternoon. For a full 3 set match, I managed to beat the other half in straight sets in 48 minutes with some fairly competitive gameplay in which neither of us (both with pretty short attention spans) got bored. So the game appears to be engaging as long as you play at the right difficulty level.

This would probably be better as a kinect title, enabling you to get involved and leap around the living room a little more, but possibly grunting less than the Williams sisters. But in and of itself, it's a good little title recreating the grandslam tours nicely, with enough standalone gameplay including online tournaments and competitions to keep you buzzing.

Oh, you may want to turn down the commentary though. That is very, very annoying in a very short space of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360)
Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) by EA Sports (Xbox 360)
£14.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews