Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unhhh! Game, Set and Match. Pretty Ace.
That's it for the cliches... promise.
Grand Slam Tennis 2 is a pretty remarkable bit of programming. While we are probably quite used to detailed graphics, great physics engines, high production-value cut scenes and realistic, mo-capped player movement in EA titles, GST2 still manages to impress with its fidelity to the game. Of course, the major tournaments and...
Published on 24 May 2012 by PB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
The product arrived very fast! took about 2 days despite saying it would take 3-15 days i think.
The game was brand new and fully packaged in the new wrapping.
The game was very fun to play, although there are not a large variety of animations and the players nearly look to be doing the exact same shot and pose for every single shot!
Also that it was abit...
Published on 20 Aug 2012 by Lloyd33


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The product arrived very fast! took about 2 days despite saying it would take 3-15 days i think.
The game was brand new and fully packaged in the new wrapping.
The game was very fun to play, although there are not a large variety of animations and the players nearly look to be doing the exact same shot and pose for every single shot!
Also that it was abit unrealistic as the opponent was getting to shots that no one would ever get to in real life, Making it sometimes impossible to get a point you would surely get in real life.
Overall a really fun game and there are alot of things to do such as create your own player and compete in tournaments.
7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unhhh! Game, Set and Match. Pretty Ace., 24 May 2012
By 
PB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
That's it for the cliches... promise.
Grand Slam Tennis 2 is a pretty remarkable bit of programming. While we are probably quite used to detailed graphics, great physics engines, high production-value cut scenes and realistic, mo-capped player movement in EA titles, GST2 still manages to impress with its fidelity to the game. Of course, the major tournaments and players are present and correct - i.e. you're playing Wimbledon rather than "London" and Federer rather than "Fedder" - and this does seem to make a difference to the impression the game leaves. However, I am only really interested in how much fun a game is to play and this is where GST2 starts to excel. I believe the main reason for this is that the control eschews the traditional buttons for right analogue control stick movements in terms of shot selection and placement. If you've ever played the EA Fight Night games, you'll understand. So, rather than moving your player with the left stick and picking shots with the four main buttons, you instead pick shots with the right stick for the main shots. You can also use the buttons if you wish/prefer, but I find that after some practice, the use of the two sticks is more, if not "realistic" (it's not, after all, Kinect-like full body movement), more natural in terms of gameplay. The control system feels more immersive. It does, of course, take some getting used to, but that's a good thing - the learning curve is part of the appeal.

Beyond that, EA maintain their usual high standards in terms of presentation. Typically, I get very bored of the commentary on sports titles - all titles. While GST2 suffers the usual repetition you must accept, the commentary is actually pretty good with John McEnroe providing his seemingly endless talents to the production. I find McEnroe's real commentary on the BBC to be incredibly insightful and somehow, even in the anonymous confines of a recording studio for a disembodied game, he manages to add a dimension of credibility to the proceedings. I felt like I was getting useful coaching in the game (real and video) from the commentary, which helped to improve my progress.

On the point of McEnroe, you can also play as some of the all-time greats, which is a nice touch. We are lucky to be in a golden period for mens' tennis, but it's still a thrill to play as Borg or McEnroe (for those of us in our 40s at least).

My only comparison to GST2 is some Mario titles on the Cube and Wii and Virtua Tennis 4 on the PS3. Mario Tennis is of course, an arcadey fun game rather than a sim-like game; Virtua Tennis 4 is, in my opinion, soundly beaten by GST2 in just about every department, and most importantly, in terms of playability. Virtua Tennis might have a more comprehensive career mode, but I prefer the shorter, pick-up-and-play of GST2. That may just be me, but I don't have the time to throw my whole life at video games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its not bad, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this games is very up and it has many pros and cons for exsample the gamplay is solid you can have some really good rallys and this makes the game very intense alot more intense when you play against someone who is the same level or higher than you the graphics are solid and with the espn sponsership it makes it feel more like a real tennis game the only thing for me now i have been playing the career mode now for about 4 weeks and i have found it so easy i am unbeaten in my game but i found this not a good thing you are gonna get bored quick of this and the saeson is 10 years so i can only hope it gets harder if anyone knows of the season getting harder please let me know cause i like the game but its just to easy

another feature to talk about is online gameplay now for me this is where the game shines it would be nice for like more modes for it but playing against someone who is beating you and then beating them is a great feeling but again pros and cons i have only maanaged to play 5 games cause not alot of people play online which is a shame

Pros
.good gameplay
.great graphics
.good online

cons
.to easy
.not enoght depth in the season mode :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too easy. Too much McEnroe!, 19 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
With Wimbledon on the televisual horizon I was looking for a game that was going to start my anual over-enthusiasm. I was torn between this, Virtua tennis 4 and Top Spin 4. I opted for Grand Slam 2 for the authentic Grand Slams and payers. This is great, playing at centre court is immense and very realistic. The players too look very lifelike.

The player creation options are thorough and varied in appearance and style of player.

The bad points are the ease of the career format. I won my first 4 matches all 6-0 6-0 6-0, without going through the training.

The other bad point is the constant and repetitive commentary of John McEnroe and Pat Cash.

Other than that its a superb game for tennis fans who want to play at Centre Court at Wimbledon or at Arthur Ashe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Quick and painless- N.B. comes without a book as the manual is on the disk and accessed in the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TENNIS GAME, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game came very quickly, graphics very strong and commentary realistic - nice touch to have John McEnroe. The qualifiction rounds to the quarter finals are a little edited to say the least ( I know nothing about tennis, really ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
enjoying the game, good to be able to play in all four grand slams. have other tennis games and this is equally as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to tennis games, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Like most people last month I was caught up in the spirt of Wimbledon, so decided to buy myself a tennis game, and I think that I made the correct choice. The gameplay is simple to get the hang of, and the training mode helps to understand different elements of play within the sport and all the different types of shots, so you understand when to pull them off in game.

As well as having all the top real world tennis players from the present, and even some from the past, you can also create your own player to take to the court to embark on your own tennis career where you start from the bottom in regional exhibition matcha all the way to events like Wimbledon.

TS3 is also the only tennis game that has Wimbledon licensed and that's a major plus, and centre court looks fantastic

The only negative I can think of is the commentary that is nothing short of horrible. It's flat, uninspired and unacceptable repetitive, phrases and the same chit chat between the commentators is repeated multiple times throughout one match. Turn them off and listen the the much more impressive crowd noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for my son, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I received the game very quickly and was most pleased with the packaging.
The game was very accurate and fun to play, has to be one of the best tennis games yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Son really enjoys playing this game. Great value for money. Would recommend it for a stocking filler for sports mad older children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360)
Grand Slam Tennis 2 (Xbox 360) by EA Sports (Xbox 360)
16.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews