Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Bruce Springsteen-Limited
Having purchased all three Springsteen compilations (original `Greatest Hits', `The Essential...' and later `Greatest Hits`) I have to say that `The Essential Bruce Springsteen' is probably your best bet for your first try of what he has to offer. You get a wide selection of tracks across two CD's that are fairly representative of what his music is like. Any compilation...
Published on 13 Oct. 2009 by Spider Monkey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential Bruce Springstten
Only complaint is that there is a three CD version instead of the two CD version that I bought. I would have bought the three disk version if I had realised.
Published on 26 July 2013 by Anthony H


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Bruce Springsteen-Limited, 13 Oct. 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Essential - Limited (Audio CD)
Having purchased all three Springsteen compilations (original `Greatest Hits', `The Essential...' and later `Greatest Hits`) I have to say that `The Essential Bruce Springsteen' is probably your best bet for your first try of what he has to offer. You get a wide selection of tracks across two CD's that are fairly representative of what his music is like. Any compilation is going to create argument about inclusions and songs left out and I am sad to see `Murder Incorporated' missing for example, but the remaining tracks more than make up for any personal opinions on running order. This album is good because it offers up the obligatory crowd pleasers like 'Born to Run' and 'Born in The U.S.A`. etc, but it also shows some of Bruce's earlier work which is quite folky and less popular, as well as `The Ghost of Tom Joad' (which I love) from the acoustic album of the same name. There is a wide spread of his careers work, as well as the excellent new live tracks from `Live in New York'. The booklet is as good as on all his previous albums and provides all the lyrics and shows how good they actually are. In fact people are often surprised at the depth of his writing if all they are used to is the stadium rockers. This limited edition version has a third disc with rare demo's and outtakes on it and is worth hunting down if you want all his albums or if you want to hear some of his more obscure stuff. There are tracks from various films , as well as live tracks. To be honest some of the songs on the third disc are a bit hit and miss, but `Lift Me Up', `Code of Silence' and the acoustic version of 'Countin' on a Miracle' all stand out and make it worth paying extra for this version. If you are a fan of Bruce then this is a great place to go for a selection of his best tracks in one place and if you are new to his work then this will be the start of one amazing ride!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 27 Mar. 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential - Limited (Audio CD)
Bruce Springsteen is first class songwriter and performer-- none of those things are in dispute. So I guess an album like this comes down to song selection... 1995s `Greatest Hits' collection was great but did have some glaringly obvious omissions. The collection in question is certainly an improvement-- if only because every album is represented, including the criminally underrated `Ghost of Tom Joad' whose brilliant title track appears here. Having said that, there are still some dissappointing omissions. The most obvious would have to be the selection of `For You' over `It's Hard to Be A Saint In The City'-- Bruce's most dazzling lyrical piece to date and the song that drew many a comparison to the legendary Bob Dylan. I also would like to have seen `Racing In The Streets', `Adam Raised A Cain' and `Youngstown', though these last three might not be missed by many out there. I think `Adam...' showcases the angry mood present on `Darkness' better than any other song on the album...
One other thing I have noticed is the omission of `I'm On Fire' on both this collection and `Greatest Hits'. Surely there is no one out there that would actually choose `Glory Days' or `Dancing In The Dark' over this one? Is this song omitted simply to force people to continue buying `Born In The USA'?
Regardless, one of the strengths of this collection is that it is a `best of' rather than a `hits' package. This means we don't miss out out on masterpieces like `Jungleland' that could never appear on a `Greatest Hits' package. Having said that, the inclusion of some other `masterpieces' such as `Brothers Under the Bridge' might have been good, though might have reduced the commercial appeal.
...and speaking of `Greatest Hits', why not include `Blood Brothers' on this collection?
Anyway, personal preferences aside, this is a much stronger offering than `Greatest Hits' with enough of the lesser known material (from `Greetings...' for example) to satisfy most, but not so much as to dissuade those people that bought only `Born In The USA' and `The River' all those years ago...
Awesome stuff. And some of the bonus tracks aren't bad either (`Trapped' is great and `Lift Me Up' is absolutely stunning).
Essential stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of The Boss' career, 17 Jan. 2005
By 
Mr. Nc Shackley "NatShack" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great overview of arguably the greatest solo artist in rock's history, The Essential Bruce Springsteen is by far the best and most comprehensive collection of the artist's work. It is does by any means however, offer a thorough overview of his music. For Springsteen, and other artists of a similar quality, at least four disks would be required to completely cover the highlights of an artist whose career now spans over three decades and counting.
The three disk set includes all the obvious choices one would expect, such 'Born in the USA', 'The Streets of Philadelphia', and of course 'Born to Run' which remains his finest song. But it wisely drops some hits from albums that contained a large number of them (eg Born in the USA which managed an amazing seven top 10 hits in the US) and includes some of Springsteen's lesser known gems from other albums, which make the collection a fairer overview of his whole career.
Thankfully, this collection includes tracks from his first two albums, which the first Greatest hits did not. 'Blinded by the Light' and especially 'Rosalita', long a concert favourite, are the two best from this part of the CD.
One of the two live songs, '41 shots', is one of the highlights. My main complaint about the second disk is its inclusion of the 9+ minute 'Land of Hope and Dreams', a good song no doubt, but hardly one of Springsteen's best. The 9 minutes it takes up would surely have been put to better use by including two studio songs.
The third disk, for me at least, is a bit excessive, containing not hits but rarities. If this disk does not interest you either you may be better off buying the cheaper two CD edition.
Since Springsteen's decision last year to support Kerry in the US election, a lot of his fans across the pond have shunned him and his music. But anyone who pays even a bit of attention to his songs and especially the lyrics should have known all along where his political allegiance lay, and what the message of his music was. Writing 'The Streets of Philadelphia', about an aids sufferer, was one sign of his liberal beliefs, as was '41 shots', a protest against the gung ho shooting of an African immigrant by New York police, as were lyrics such as 'Poor men wanna be rich, rich men wanna be kings, and a king ain't satisfied till he rules everything'. It is Bruce Springsteen's tales of the everyday working man that make him such a musical and lyrical force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars limited edition 3.0, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Catalogue number 513700 9. Just to make it clear, this is the 3 CD box set of the compilation from 2003, also known as "3.0" version, even though it does not say so on the front cover of the product I received. Mine is a thick CD box, with 3 red Columbia discs and a nice 43 pages long booklet (full lyrics, musician credits, thanks, introduction by Bruce and some lovely rare photographs). Discs 1 & 2 are a very good retrospective of ALL 12 first Springsteen's albums up to The Rising (2002) and even include 2 tracks from Live in NYC (2001) namely "American Skin (41 shots)" and "Land of hope and dreams" (both live from Madison Sq Gdn). The tracks run in chronological order and (nearly) in the order they originally appeared on their respective albums, which I think makes for a better running order than on The Greatest Hits compilation. As Bruce himself states, you can't please every fan. I think "Growin' up" should have been there, and as the (perfectly named) opener. THE SONGS HAVE BEEN REMASTERED BY BOB LUDWIG, and I can hear the difference, notably some words sung as backing. I just don't know if I like the songs tampered with, in principle. Isn't it supposed to be a collection of the songs we liked when they came out?
The disc of rarities is quite a mix.
There are 3 live tracks with the E Street Band: "held up without a gun" (1980) is very short and quite reminiscent to "you can look but you'd better not touch" (with a strong Van Zandt influence at the chorus), it's fast, loud and fun, "code of silence" (1999) has been co-written with Joe Grushecky (rare thing a song that is not 100% Springsteen), however it is not far removed from "murder incorporated" in its tempo and tone, the guitars are brilliant (both Steven VZ and Nils play on the track) and the sound is really good. The song "trapped" is the Jimmy Cliff classic that Bruce played in 1984 and that was included on the album We Are The World; it's lovely, warm with an amazingly contagious chorus: what a crescendo with an exciting bit of sax at one point and bruce's voice is pitch-perfect.
There are 3 original film soundtracks. I love "missing" from The Crossing Guard (1995) which seems to have been written before the movie was produced. It sounds very modern and quite different from standard Springsteen (guitar or piano lead music), with a mix of black rhythm and percussions and some synthesizers, it's got a dramatic atmosphere with eerie vocal-echoes (the guitar wakes up towards the end): my fav track on disc 3! "dead man walkin'" is an acoustic guitar piece of music, it's quiet and it's more about the meaning of the words, in fact the vocals are very clear, there's no mumbling, it's short and straight to the point with some perceptive lyrics. "lift me up" (from a movie I have never heard of called Limbo) dates from 1999 and is sung in a falsetto voice; at first it's weird, but it grew on me, it's quite surreal and melancholic, like a good Sting song but with this unusual Springsteen singing instead (it's hard to describe!) Springsteen's version of "viva las vegas" was apparently on Honeymoon in Vegas, but it was recorded first for an NME compilation of Elvis covers in 1990. Bruce doesn't try to copy smooth-Elvis, therefore it's not kitsch, but rather rockabilly trying to be trashy, it's not as fun as "cadillac ranch". When I was a teenager, I really liked ZZ Top's version!
Never-before-released material are Springsteen 1979 version of the song he gave to Dave Edmunds, "From Small Things (Big Things One Day Come)", it's a country but fast-paced tune. It's nearly a pastiche but it's a good recording, full of energy, confidence and pace. Rockabilly "the big payback" is from 1982 recorded after Nebraska, though it's got some of the humour we find on The River album, except that it's bare and echoey, with some good harmonica played freely, another short track. 1983 "none but the brave" starts with some romantic saxophone and it manages to stay soft and touching; there is an unexpected electric guitar solo at some point; I quite like this song and it makes me think of some of the love songs on The Promise double CD set, such as "the little things my baby does", except that the voice is completely different, here it remains gentle and even. "county fair" is described by the boss himself as an acoustic song cut in 1983, shortly after Nebraska. It's got a bucolic mood with crickets and all (!) the vocals are whiny but the story is not down beat, so it's a difficult one to categorize; it would fit well on the album Tunnel of Love sound-wise, except that a title like that makes me think of John Mellencamp!
Finally, there is the audio part of a video section that was played at the end of the concerts in 1999, that is an acoustic version of "countin' on a miracle" played in the lounge of a recording studio and caught on tape by Danny Clinch. Springsteen describes it as country blues. It's sounds a bit like an old traditional song. It's what is known as a demo. It's very different from the commercially released track, in fact it's unrecognisable until Springsteen reverts to his normal singing voice. It's weird but if anything, shows how Springsteen works and comes to a final version after, often, reworking his original ideas over and over again.
I purchased this 3 disc-box set at a very reasonable price and only for the rare tracks. I would have chosen a different track list for the main CDs, but I think it was a good compilation at the time, because all the albums were represented. Bruce Springsteen was born to run, but he wasn't born in 1975 (the greatest hits compilation starts with his 3rd album!) even though he tells us that's when he found himself. Before that, I suppose, he was blinded by the light...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Bruce Springsteen, 27 Sept. 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Having purchased all three Springsteen compilations (original `Greatest Hits', `The Essential...' and later `Greatest Hits`) I have to say that `The Essential Bruce Springsteen' is probably your best bet for your first try of what he has to offer. You get a wide selection of tracks across two CD's that are fairly representative of what his music is like. Any compilation is going to create argument about inclusions and songs left out and I am sad to see `Murder Incorporated' missing for example, but the remaining tracks more than make up for any personal opinions on running order. This album is good because it offers up the obligatory crowd pleasers like 'Born to Run' and 'Born in The U.S.A`. etc, but it also shows some of Bruce's earlier work which is quite folky and less popular, as well as `The Ghost of Tom Joad' (which I love) from the acoustic album of the same name. There is a wide spread of his careers work, as well as the excellent new live tracks from `Live in New York'. The booklet is as good as on all his previous albums and provides all the lyrics and shows how good they actually are. In fact people are often surprised at the depth of his writing if all they are used to is the stadium rockers. There is also a limited edition version of this album with a third disc with rare demo's and outtakes on it and is worth hunting down if you want all his albums or if you want to hear some of his more obscure stuff. If you are a fan of Bruce then this is a great place to go for a selection of his best tracks in one place and if you are new to his work then this will be the start of one amazing ride!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid collection, 27 Dec. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Although not comprehensive, this 3-disc set is a very good introduction to the magic of Springsteen, one of the few timeless and authentic rock legends of the last three decades. Springsteen rarely disappoints musically but I suppose his image of blue-collar champion is a bit tainted after his involvement in partisan politics in 2004.
Disc One takes the listener from his promising early excursions like 1973s Blinded By The Light and 4th Of July through 1975s brilliant rock anthem Born To Run and 1978s awesome rocker Badlands, the gloomy ballad Darkness On The Edge Of Town and the defiant Promised Land through to 1980s majestic song The River (I really miss Wreck On The Highway here) and 1982s melancholy and brooding Nebraska.
Highlights on Disc Two include the powerful rockers Born In The USA and Glory Days, great hits like Dancing In The Dark, Tunnel Of Love and Brilliant Disguise. For me the most impressive songs here are the introspective numbers like Streets Of Philadelphia and The Ghost Of Tom Joad. Lonesome Day with its country feel, Mary's Place with its horns, and The Rising are beautiful and moving too.
On Disc Three, the live tracks include Held Up Without A Gun, a stirring uptempo rocker and Trapped, a grand brooding ballad. None But The Brave is also grand and beautiful, whilst Lift Me Up is a sensitive ballad with Bruce in falsetto mood. His version of Viva Las Vegas proves he's no Elvis but County Fair is one of those sad ballads that he does so well. This disc concludes with Counting On A Miracle, a beautiful acoustic ballad in folk style.
The chronological sequence was a good idea as one can follow the development of Springsteen's career through the changing sound, the varying themes and the ever more serious approach. Obviously not compiled for completists who will have all the albums and box sets anyway, The Essential Bruce Springsteen is perfect for those who wish to have the most of his best in one place. It's a winner through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU'LL NEVER PLEASE EVERYONE, 21 July 2007
With a back catalogue the envy of most, a 3CD retrospective was always going to be difficult for Springsteen. Imagine how difficult it would be now though? - there's at least three stone cold classics on 'Devils and Dust' plus several from the Seeger Sessions experience that would all have to somehow fit on any new Springsteen 'essential'. What we do get, however, are some of the finest pieces of music ever committed to record. 'Jungleland', both 'Born...' songs, the thrilling 'Badlands' and the great 'Land of Hope and Dreams' are among the many highlights, while 'None but the brave' demonstrates just how much greater the Born in the USA album could have been (he left 'Frankie, 'My love will not let you down' 'Cynthia', and 'This hard land' off that album, to name but a few, as well!!). Most of Springsteen's work is best listened to in album format, rather than in a selective collection like this, but this is a superb way to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must., 18 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
If you are a Bruce Springsteen fan you must buy this album. The album has so many classics and the 3rd cd is worth the money alone. The 3rd cd is all the rare and unrealesed songs sung by bruce springsteen and ,of course, written by him too. The album is a big improvement on his Greatest hits album released in 1995 because it has many great songs on it which werent on the greatest hits album and it has 5 songs songs on it which were realesed after 1995 including 'the rising' plus the 12 track bonus cd. The collection has all the big hits 'for you, thunder road, born to run, badlands, darkness on the edge of town, the river, atlantic city, born in the USA, glorys days, dancing in the dark, tunnel of love, human touch, streets of philidelphia and the rising'. Blimmy after listing all these great songs you realize what a outstanding artist Bruce Springsteen is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is the 'Essential' Bruce Springsteen., 4 May 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In my experience, the 'Essential' series of albums always offer great value for money, and a big fat helping of an artist's best work. I own several of these collections, including the Bob Dylan and Ozzy Osbourne entries. 'The Essential Bruce Springsteen' really does live up to it's name, but please do yourself a favour, and be sure to pick up the limited edition three CD version: The Essential - Limited.

Not only do you get the standard two albums with 15 tracks on each, showcasing the best of this legendary singer/songwriter and guitarist's work, in chronological order, you also bag yourself an extra CD, which features 12 rare and previously unreleased studio recordings and live tracks.

Being a double album, Bruce's work is explored in greater depth than a single CD could ever offer, with highlights from his first twelve studio albums, recorded from 1977-2002, with the additional 'Streets of Philadelphia' from the 'Philadelphia' movie soundtrack, and two live performances taken from the filmed 2000 concert 'Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band: Live in New York City'. Us devoted Springsteen fans know that there are some notable omissions, but this is a still a damn good retrospective, featuring all the really famous hits like 'Born To Run', 'Born in the U.S.A', 'Dancing in the Dark', and 'Human Touch', that the casual listeners will be keen to get their hands on.

As I have already mentioned, the third disc of rarities is something that avid fans will want in their collection. Some of the material is hit and miss granted, but to hear the acoustic 'Countin' On A Miracle' and his electric cover of 'Viva Las Vegas', is reason enough for me to be so glad we were given the option of this bonus CD.

To top it all of, there is an illustrated booklet with lyrics to all of the songs of this discs, and a message from the man himself. 'The Essential Bruce Springsteen's boasts excellent sound quality, and is a triple set that will never leave me. This man is one of the greatest solo figures in rock music, just listen to his lyrics, and the songs will never let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, broad-based introduction to the music of The Boss, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
With 30 tracks over 2 CDs, The Essential Bruce Springsteen is intended to cover the best of Bruce up to its release date of 2003. All very well and good but is it er...essential?

Arguably not in place, though TEBS is an excellent introduction to The Boss, Unlike the Leonard Cohen volumes in the Essential series, TEBS includes 1, 2 or 3 tracks from every Springsteen release rather than say 5 from the classics and none at all from Bruce's few less favoured LPs. The intention behind this presumably is that, if you like the tracks featured from a particular LP, it is worth buying or investigating the whole album without you feeling short-changed from already owning three-quarters of it...

On to the selections themselves, all of the really obvious inclusions such as Born To Run, Dancing In The Dark and The River are present and correct with the biggest omission probably being the epic Racing In The Street from the Darkness On The Edge Of Town LP. From a more personal point of view, the tracks featured from the then recent Rising LP are excellent and may prompt me to investigate the full album. It's also great to finally have an LP including the stark and moving Streets Of Philadelphia, a track that illustrates superbly how less can often be so much more...

In his short foreword in the liner notes, the man himself says that TEBS was put together with the new fans who had come to see him for the first time on his most recent tour predominantly in mind. He is right as it serves as an excellent introduction to his music. Well worth buying for new fans and those who only have some of Springsteen's previous albums. Buy this then get the full albums featuring the tracks you particularly like - you are unlikely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Bruce Springsteen
The Essential Bruce Springsteen by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews