Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid
A rapid run through a number of philosophical questions, although as ever Russell is readable when describing some quite tricky mental gymnastics.

The mark of this is that you actually feel you understand enough to be able to disagree (or agree!) with some of the arguments being put forward, even after only a couple of pages of explication, which can only be a...
Published on 12 Dec. 2012 by Stuart

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars :/ late
I enjoy the book. My only problem with it, which was a big one for me, was that it took 3 weeks longer to arrive than the estimated delivery date stated. (By that time i already had a test on the information held within the book that i had no access to for my college class
Published on 11 Mar. 2013 by josh shechter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
A rapid run through a number of philosophical questions, although as ever Russell is readable when describing some quite tricky mental gymnastics.

The mark of this is that you actually feel you understand enough to be able to disagree (or agree!) with some of the arguments being put forward, even after only a couple of pages of explication, which can only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Luna, 19 Oct. 2010
I'm preparing myself for my Philosophy course in Uni next year and somebody suggested this book.

It's a fantastic book to introduce yourself to the subject and Bertrand Russell is a really good philosopher/writer. There isn't many technical terms and he doesn't really tell you what the topic is called but he makes the philosophy very understandable. Due to the age of the book, some vocabulary are quite hard and out of context and I couldn't actually finish a page without using my dictionary!

Overall a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Problems of Philosophy - delineated, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good book set out in a clear and very readable style with an ability to explain difficult problems
effortlessly. It serves as an introduction to earlier philosophers as well, although not to the ancients particularly well.
Russell also invented mathematical logic which shows here at times, but it is not at all necessary to have a knowledge of this to read the book.
Although it is in no way a textbook, it is a very good accessory read and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
I first read this 30 years ago and have enjoyed the re-reading.

Russell is not, I believe, regarded as being in the first rank of philosophers, but he does write with outstanding fluency, so as to make the concepts of the philosophical approach easy to follow. I'd recommend this book for anyone thinking of reading philosophy at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well constructed precis from the source material, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
I was looking for a modern precis of the major issues surrounding philosphy. Having read original works from Aristole, Hume, Locke, Kant, Berkley and Descartes I needed somthing to help pull it all together, and this work by Russel is an excellent solution to this.

It is possible to see the work of the quoted philosphoers in this work, but remains an easy and enjoyable read. One criticism is that the works of the earleir 'masters' is hardly referenced, so it lacks quality for research. Also some of the subject matter is disregarded in the name of brevity.

I've always been a fan of Russell and this is another fine peice of writing. At times, it's even quite funny - imagine the suprise of the chicken!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems of philosophy, History of Western Philosophy -Brilliant, 19 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
Problems of philosophy describes the problem situation as Russel saw them at the beginning of the twentieth century, this is probobly best reasd after Histoty of Western Philosophy, this book is the most brilliant book I have read. I know Bertrand Russell's works, because I was a computer scientist and Russel was the creator of modern logic. The book is not technical and can be quite funny.

It covers the Pre-Socratics up to the 19040s. Cannot rcommend this book highly enough. Must Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
really nice introduction to some of the major problems of philosophy - very well written and mostly accessible great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and thorough reasoning, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
I love Russell's clarity. I do not think many authors come close to him on this. I very much recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Sense, 11 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
I study philosophy at A-level and I grew tired of books I just could not get to grips with. Bertrand Russel's book however was a breath of fresh air.
At the beginning of each chapter he outlines his aims and then at the end he gives an easy to understand conclusion. This makes the book so much easier to understand.
The chapters are nice and short and tackle something new every time, and so you never get bogged down in deep, complicated ideas.
I liked this book simply because of its (relative) simplicity, and even though it got tough in places, generally it was a delightful workout for the mind without leaving you exhausted.
Top notch common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy ideas to ponder..., 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a good book to have nearby; it is small and easy to read. Russell starts by considering the attributes of his table and pointing out several obvious aspects of this or any other object: hardness, colour, surface, etc. Then leads us to the (also obvious) notion that all perceptible qualities of any object are not those of its constituent parts. Ultimately, the atoms that form an object do not have, as intrinsic features hardness, solidity, colour or anything that we observe with senses! The attributes that we observe are those of a large number of its parts; hardness for example is something extra! It gives support to the idea that "the whole is more than the sum of its parts!" Have a good read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews