Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel has never been this easy.
I really think this classic tale of travel and adventure is indispensable for any decent book collection. In comparison with the dated and crusty translations used in most modern reprints, this new edition contains clarity of expression and lively prose that kept me engrossed in Phileas Fogg's incredible odyssey around the globe. By reading Around the World in Eighty Days...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by Michael Brown

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slight but amusing
Jules Verne's tale of an English gentleman's bet that he can circumnavigate the world in 80 days is a light and readable adventure. Strangely the weakest sections seem to be the actual travelogue descriptions of foreign lands, which tend to be rather dry and uninvolving, and the hero Phileas Fogg manages to solve most of the problems that come his way simply by throwing...
Published on 27 Jun 2005 by Jane Aland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel has never been this easy., 4 Mar 2004
By 
I really think this classic tale of travel and adventure is indispensable for any decent book collection. In comparison with the dated and crusty translations used in most modern reprints, this new edition contains clarity of expression and lively prose that kept me engrossed in Phileas Fogg's incredible odyssey around the globe. By reading Around the World in Eighty Days it is possible to recapture that lost sense of travel, characterised by crossing frontiers, improvisation and self-control whatever the circumstances. Armchair travelling it may be, but it is still much more pleasurable than the bland consumption of foreign cultures that most tourists are fed! Simply a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not enthralling, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
For some reason, I always envisioned a hot air balloon when I thought of Around the World in Eighty Days; in point of fact, a hot air balloon is about the only means of transportation not employed by Phileas Fogg in his circumnavigational sojourn (though it is given a fleeting thought by the hero at one point). Fogg is an interesting character, a man who takes punctuality to an unheard of degree. Basically, his whist partners at the Reform Club tell him there is no way to go around the globe in just 80 days, notwithstanding the fact that a detailed itinerary involving specific boats and trains promises to make it possible. Fogg immediately bets half his fortune that he can do it, setting out on his journey that very night. Passepartout, his newly hired manservant, finds himself dragged along on this historic journey. It so happens that someone matching a description of Fogg has just robbed the Bank of England of 55,000 pounds, and a detective named Fix "discovers" his robber when Fogg arrives in Suez. He wires England with the news and asks for an arrest warrant to be issued; before it arrives, Fogg is off again. Fix finds himself joining in on Fogg's epic journey, waiting for the warrant to reach him on his way, then waiting to arrest Fogg when he steps back on English soil. The travelers face many perils and stumbling blocks along their way, many brought about by Passeportout's naivete and later on by his selfless act of heroism. At every turn, Fogg finds himself in need of alternate transportation methods; he employs, among other vehicles, an elephant, a bridge-jumping train, and a wind-propelled sled. A series of uncommon adventures unfold, involving damsels in distress, Indian attacks, matters of honor, etc. All these events come to a climax the day on which he is due back at the Reform Club.
There is not really much science in this fiction; instead, there is a good bit of geography; the stretches of text explaining the route from one place to another is rather boring to me personally. Luckily, most of the book is full of action. Throughout, the interesting Mr. Fogg remains as calm and placid as a cucumber while Passepartout provides some comic relief by continually finding himself in some sort of trouble. Most of the actors come across as rather wooden and artificial, but the story is good and the ending is quite satisfactory. The reading of this book led me to conjecture that this was one of Verne's earlier works because the characters here are rather drab compared to those in From the Earth to the Moon and because the pages are not weighed down by scientific terminology as in 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea; actually, it is one of his later novels.
Around the World in Eighty Days would well serve the purpose of introducing a Verne newbie to his writing. If you want to see glimpses of Verne's prophetic scientific ideas, though, this is probably not the book for you; it is best suited for recreational reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my children as it reads in modern language rather than victorian. My kids loved reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic for all ages, 3 Jun 2012
I've been looking forward to reading this book for a while and at last got around to it. all i can say is my god what a story! from the very start of the novel the authors wonderful writing style has you immediately intrigued by the story and the curious Mr Phileas Fogg who is introduced as the most laconic and orderly man imaginable. his routine is meticulous with a strict timetable for each day which he keeps to on the dot, he never leaves London and lives the most quite and uneventful life imaginable spending each day at the Reform club where he reads the daily paper or plays a game of cards. Passepartout, his new servant, is looking for just such a calm life but he is to be disappointed for on the day he is employed he Master returns from the club telling him to pack at once for a trip around the world.

at the club that day Fogg had bet half his fortune that he could travel around the world in an easterly direction in 80 days. in a race to save face and fortune what follows next is an amazing adventure that will have you gripped all the way through. a classic that should be read by all ages, by the end of it all that may be said is 'those Frenches sure know how to tell a story!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great novel * read the summary!, 4 Dec 2000
By 
Phileas Fogg was an English gentleman, phlegmatic and obsessed with exact time. He had no wife, children, relatives or close friends. He was quite rich and lived alone with one manservant, a Frenchman named Jean Passepartout, but he spent most of this time at the Reform Club in London's Pall Mall, where he had his lunch and dinner, read his newspaper and played cards.
One day, during a discussion about a bank robbery, he bet 20,000 pounds that he could travel around the world in 80 days or less. So, accompanied by Passepartout and carrying just a small overnight bag and a very big amount of money, he starts from London for his extraordinary voyage...The ending of the book is very unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travelling has never been so comfortable, 5 Mar 2004
By 
I really think this classic tale of travel and adventure is indispensable for any decent book collection. In comparison with the dated and crusty translations used in most modern reprints, this new edition contains clarity of expression and lively prose that kept me engrossed in Phileas Fogg’s incredible odyssey around the globe. By reading Around the World in Eighty Days it is possible to recapture that lost sense of travel, characterised by crossing frontiers, improvisation and self-control whatever the circumstances. Armchair travelling it may be, but it is still much more pleasurable than the bland consumption of foreign cultures that most tourists are fed! Simply a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slight but amusing, 27 Jun 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Jules Verne's tale of an English gentleman's bet that he can circumnavigate the world in 80 days is a light and readable adventure. Strangely the weakest sections seem to be the actual travelogue descriptions of foreign lands, which tend to be rather dry and uninvolving, and the hero Phileas Fogg manages to solve most of the problems that come his way simply by throwing vast amounts of money at them. What makes the book more enjoyable is the relationship between the archly reserved Englishman Fogg, and his passionate French manservant Passepartout, and Verne keeps a strong vein of humour running throughout the book. I can't in all honesty say this novel has stood the test of time as a brilliant piece of literature, but as a fun little tongue-in-cheek adventure this is still an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic adventure novel, 8 Feb 2007
By 
A Passer By "Book Lover" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"Round The World In Eighty Days" is a classic adventure novel written by the French writer Jules Verne and first published in 1873. Its story is about a well respected and quite wealthy Englishman called Phileas Fogg who was the member of the elite Reform Club. Everyone seems to like Phileas Fogg who is famous for his quiet and mysterious personality and also - perfect punctuality. One day, however, he very unexpectedly bets £20.000 with his friends in the Reform Club that he will travel round the world in 80 days. No one seems to believe him but the bet is done and Phileas Fogg leaves London the same evening together with his newly employed but very experienced and loyal French servant Passepartout. Phileas Fogg doesn't seem to have any doubts about his success and looks as if he foreseen all the accidents and difficulties that they might encounter with further in the journey. At the same time, however, a huge amount of money is stolen from the Bank of England and Phileas Fogg is suspected for the robbery by the police. Detective Fix aims to stop and arrest Phileas Fogg until he hasn't spend all the money...While reading the novel the reader is forced to wonder who is Phileas Fogg - a great human or a professional robber...The novel is popularly recognized as children's literature, however it is a nice read for an adult also. Phileas Fogg and servant Passepartout indeed travel round the world beginning from London to Suez, from Suez to Bombay, from Bombay to Calcutta, from Calcutta to Hong Kong, from Hong Kong to Yokohama, from Yokohama to San Francisco, from San Francisco to New York, from New York to London. They also use all possible transport at that time - "steamers, railways, carriages, a yacht, a trading vessel, a sledge, and an elephant". The novel reflects the spirit of the time it was written - the power of The British Empire who had India and Hong Kong in its hands, also the First Transcontinental Railroad in America, the linking of Indian railways and the opening of Suez Canal made the journey actually possible and many "rich eccentric strangers" indeed travelled round the world.

I loved the book because it was entertaining, interesting and informative however there were some moments where it looked racially abusing to me. Europeans and their civilization were stated to be the most intelligent and in all ways best, whilst Indians, Chinese and Japanese were described as some aborigine monkeys with no mind and culture. Leaving Asia behind and trying to forget the at that time ruling European ignorance, the reader finds out what sort of person Phileas Fogg is and what did he really win from this trip round the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the read, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne: Vook Classics (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't say the story overwhelmed me, or that it's deserving of it's reputation but it was a decent well written plot. My biggest critique is that I kept on waiting for something exciting to happen but before it did, the book came to a stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I was reading the pitman shorthand version and IO got a bit confused with the lists of places etc. This book helped me to overcome this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews