Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Art of Manliness - Manvotionals: Timeless Wisdom and Advice on Living the 7 Manly Virtues (Kindle Edition)
This is a great little book. Anyone who reads The Art of Manliness blog will be used to Brett and Kate's writing style. This book is unusual in that it pulls together lots of old and contemporary writings under headings of seven virtues, which have been selected as "manly virtues". They are somewhat similar, but not the same, as Benjamin Franklin's virtues. The texts that are cited make for really good reading, and fit nicely in with each topic. Even though I have read some of them before, it was great to have them put into context, all in one place, etc.

I thoroughly recommend any man wanting to live a virtuous life pick up a copy and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
N. Huber ((London, UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, and very inspiring. There is a recurrent theme in being a man, and this book just drives it home. It does help with keeping your head up when under duress and stressful times. Good to see that some things do not change through the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historys Greatest Manly Advice, in Your Hand!, 14 Jan. 2012
This really is a fantastic book! I am amazed at the work the authors have put in to collate this mountain of amazing wisdom from the ages into one, single, great looking resource.

This is the kind of book you can pick up again and again when you need to ignite some motivation, guide a decision or just to simply just to learn from some of histories greatest men; This book is like having your own council of great men from history to call upon whenever you wish!

Definitely a book I am proud to own, and makes a great gift as well, truly something you will want to share with the great men in your life too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regular reader of AoM, 24 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Manliness - Manvotionals: Timeless Wisdom and Advice on Living the 7 Manly Virtues (Kindle Edition)
As a regular reader of the AoM website, I'm surprised that it took me this long to buy the book. An indispensable guide on how to be an honest, upright, "proper" individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Inspiring Book!, 21 Dec. 2011
Great book, bought it for my brother but i read it myself, we both enjoy it. While i would like it if there was introductions to each of the manvotionals, there are introductions at the beginning of each chapter and before some of the manvotionals to provide context, such as before the one about the charge of the light brigade.
Overall it does exactly what it aspired to, motivate people to be better men!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'll probably read it again!, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is jam pack full of phenomenal and engaging citations. If you really dig western history/philosophy you will dribble all over the pages. Brett & his wife did a splendid job and I have enjoyed everything this book has to offer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, if you're a man, GET IT! If you're a boy GET IT! Simple! Makes you realise how great your life can be if you realise the core of what a man should be and this book taps you into that mindset and values required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is as important as Testosterone in being a man., 9 Mar. 2012
...

Buy it.

"Oh but im not sure what it's about"
- I dont care. Im telling you to buy it.

"But I dont have £9 to spend on a book"
- Yes you do. And you are going to.

"It's not really my thing"
- Yes it is. Buy it.

"Im not a book person"
- Yes you are.

"But"
- Buy the book. Now.

You have no excuses. You have no options. You have no choice. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Manliness - Manvotionals: Timeless Wisdom and Advice on Living the 7 Manly Virtues (Kindle Edition)
Very motivational and a good history lesson. Would recommend it to others who want some guidance on how to be a good man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a top book this is, highly recomended - you wont be dissapointed - can pick this up and read from any page wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews