Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and scarily relevant horror
Who hasn't looked at something they shouldn't have online?

This new British horror film takes a look at the murky world of online voyeurism and the deadly consequences for four young people who are invited to take part in a gameshow centred on social media.

The theme of social media (eg. Facebook, Twitter etc) is well known to almost everybody and so...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by M. HARVEY

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the flight....
Four strangers win an all expenses paid flight to New York, thanks to a social network site called Altogether.

Once aboard the flight, they are invited to play a game which could win them prizes, and without reading the terms and conditions, they begin to play.

After a few personal questions, secrets about the four are revealed, much to everyone's...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the flight...., 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: Panic Button [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Four strangers win an all expenses paid flight to New York, thanks to a social network site called Altogether.

Once aboard the flight, they are invited to play a game which could win them prizes, and without reading the terms and conditions, they begin to play.

After a few personal questions, secrets about the four are revealed, much to everyone's disdain, and when the group or individuals refuse to answer a question, a friend on their profile is killed.

Soon the faceless voice turns the group against each other, and guess what? They decide to go for each other.

After reading the reviews of this, I wasn't really looking forward to watching it, but it sounded okay, and I think Johnson is a good actress, so why not.

We are introduced to the group and as soon as you see them, you just know who will die first and why. The cocky tubby one was my first choice, because he was annoying and archetypal in the yuppie sense.

Second was the supposed glamorous one, who did nothing but giggle and/or moan.

The other two I wasn't too sure about. Once the film locates to the plane,it becomes more interesting and it turns out to be a very solid thriller. The DVD cover states its a cross between Saw and Catfish, I get the Catfish connotation, no matter how loose it is, but the Saw one is just to get the numbers up.

It's not gory, it's intelligent, and actually surprised me in the last third. There is a twist of course, but it's really quite clever and for once in a low budget thriller, different.

Well worth seeking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ..perhaps what SAW III should of done ( on a bigger budget ), 2 Mar 2013
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
2 stars for the concept. But was it actually worthy of my time - to spend an hour and a half up in the air with these 4 people. Hummm...probably not, but heck I stuck with it - it slows down a little midway - what film doesnt! - but the difference is...it slows down and your not really caring too much..hence finger hovers over the switch back to tv button.

But give it it's credit, acting was good, it did have some good things to say about social networking today - and certainly was a good homage to the first couple of Saw movies. The pilot scenerio didn't quite work for me - even though his backstory literally could of come from a Saw movie.

Didn't like the ending. Strayed a little too much into darker territory. Not that I expected a rose-tinted End of course.

Not a bad effort overall though. Rare these British movies particularly horror genre so nice to see a half decent one with a uptodate idea for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and scarily relevant horror, 9 Nov 2011
By 
M. HARVEY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
Who hasn't looked at something they shouldn't have online?

This new British horror film takes a look at the murky world of online voyeurism and the deadly consequences for four young people who are invited to take part in a gameshow centred on social media.

The theme of social media (eg. Facebook, Twitter etc) is well known to almost everybody and so you might recognise something of yourself in some of the characters in this film (though it might be hard to admit!). I can see this theme being increasingly popular and this is a pretty good stab(!) at the idea.

The film is well acted, has good pace and some genuinely shocking moments. It took a little while to get going, but the talky stuff is interesting at least.

I highly recommend this film to fans of horror, though it may make you wary of going online again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Share This On Facebook? No Way!, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
If you've ever thought twice about posting something on Twitter or Facebook, then this is the film for you. Unfortunately most people don't, and these are the ones that need to see this scary Brit shocker the most. I live by the online credo of never put anything online that you wouldn't want read back to you in a court room, but even I can see how my online live could affect me like the characters in this film.

The plot is simple, 4 social network people win a trip to New York via an all together social network site (think Facebook). On the small plane on the way over, the actual intentions of the trip are laid bare as the characters have their online life thrown back in the face and are given increasingly horrible tasks to do lest their family members get killed. From there it's a quick decent into the depths people will stoop to when it's to save themselves and their families.

The violence is nasty when it comes, but the main driver of this film is the characters on screen. At first they all seem pleasant nice people you wouldn't mind socialising with, but as it progresses, we quickly see this is not the case. It's quite a cerebral film, and despite its claustrophobic setting, the quality of the performances really carry the action along. If only more modern horror films had this level of character depth and story.

If you liked this film then Panic Button's director Chris Crow's first feature film Devil's Bridge [DVD] is out soon. It's a lot in the same vein as this, small simple story with a great cast. I think he is definitely an exciting new UK director, making classy films for us jaded and fed up fans of horror sick on CGI glossy horror 'product' that seldom satisfies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Click Like or exit now............, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panic Button [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got this film on a rim... saw it read the reviews; wanting to up my collection of British films as it has been awhile since a british film's come out that's wowed me. (Think it was Eden Lake was the last one that wowed me) could be wrong.
£5.49 wasnt a bad price so it arrived i stuck it on......
This film could have been amazing the story was good though a few tweaks here and their.
the acting was average good enough though. Yes the film has a low budget.
i don't know. one of the charactors David was way too annoying and it all being set on a plane kind of made it claustabic really.
without spoiling the plot just thought the overall reason for this wasnt done properly.
it had it's good moments; i'm not moaning about this film or saying it's crap cos it isn't crap. it was a good watch. Just i think it fell short along the way.
But as I always say it is worth a watch. some will like this film some will love it and some will hate it.
I'm sorry that i can't be any more helpful than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eye In The Sky, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
Four prize winning members of the social networking site All2gether.com board a plane that is supposed to take them on an all expenses flight to New York. The four winners, Jo, Max, Dave and Gwen are also told that they will be partaking in a little inflight entertainment during their journey. However, it soon becomes apparent that all is not well, as the questions they are asked start to become very personal and it seems that the four poassengers are not exactly whiter than white. Then comes a little game of Do or die.....
This low budget British psychological horror cleverly taps into the current fears of privacy and social networking, and also the predaliction for viewing extreme online video clips. Quite a menacing atmosphere is built up as the unwilling contestants squirm as their unseen tormentor reveals secrets about them they would much rather remain buried.
It all works remarkably well for the first hour or so, then things do get a bit overblown, although I did like the denouement. The film is probably best described as an airborne 'My Little Eye' with a bit of Agatha Christie's 'Then There Were None' thrown into the mix. The performances were okay, Michael Jibson probably coming off best as outwardly cocky Dave, hiding a host of insecurities.
I enjoyed the film anyway, a hardly original but interesting variation on recurring horror themes. Lots of extras on the disc. 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking stuff, 14 Nov 2011
By 
P. wilde - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great indie horror in the tradition of Cube which tells a very timely tale of why you shouldn't put your life on line, else you run the risk of putting your life on the line. With on-line stalking making almost daily headlines, everyone will look at this and wonder whether all their Facebook friends are quite who they seem, and who's doing what with their browsing history. A cracking British horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low budget British psychological horror, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
A group of four random Brtish people from a social networking site , win an all expenses paid trip to New York, no questions asked. They consist of two woman, Jo (Scarlett Alice Johnson - Ex-Eastender[Vicki Fowler]) & Gwen (Elen Rhys), and two men, Dave (Michael Jibson -The Bank Job) & Max (Jack Gordon -Wrong Turn 3). Who all meet up at an airport & are driven by limo, where upon arrival, they are relinquished of all their mobile phones & laptops, then boarded onto a private learjet which they expect to whisk them off to the Big Apple.

Upon entering the jet, it's soon evident something is seriously wrong, only question is, can they survive the flight of their lives ?

This is very much a low budget British style take on the Saw horror films with a twist. It has shocking scenes, although it has much less gore in comparison & relies more heavily on mental torture. The acting is done well for a relatively unknown cast, and the budget certainly isn't stretched as the film is mainly shot in the confines of the learjet itself. But overall it comes together to produce a reasonable psychological horror film. To tell the truth, come the end of the film I wished I had spent my time watching something else, as i felt a bit disappointed in all honesty, but still, it had it's moments to scrape 3 stars.

In conclusion, Panic Button is a culmination of the Saw movies & modern aspects such as social networking & reality t.v, molded into a low budget British psychological horror flick. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
Panic button is an extremely tense psychological horror.
It is certainly unique in every respect and constantly surprises the viewer.
Excellent film a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pushes My Buttons, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Panic Button [DVD] (DVD)
I am not usually a horror fan and the words 'low budget British horror' would normally fill me with a nameless dread but I was taken to see Panic Button by a friend on the promise that it was a bit different.

It certainly is. Well considered, well acted and well shot, the mostly-unknown cast ('her out of Eastenders' being the only recoginised face) excel as the unwitting passengers on a journey they'll never forget. The story zips along, giving higher budget films a lesson in how to make the most of a small and claustrophobic set. I found myself considering my own online presence before the very creepy ending left me wanting for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Panic Button [DVD]
Panic Button [DVD] by Chris Crow (DVD - 2011)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews