Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Names of the Classic Albums
Further to Bressons Puddles review I thought the names of the Classic albums would be of use.
Albums included are:
"Ray Charles" 1957,
"The Great Ray Charles"- 1957,
"Yes Indeed", "Soul Brothers"-from 1958,
"Ray Charles At Newport", "What'd I Say",
"The Genius of Ray Charles"-from 1959,
and "The Genius Hits The Road"-1960.

By...
Published on 4 Aug 2012 by Glenn Cook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars and good value.
its interesting..and good value...but i reckon get a good best of if not an out and out Ray fan
Published 5 months ago by graham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Names of the Classic Albums, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
Further to Bressons Puddles review I thought the names of the Classic albums would be of use.
Albums included are:
"Ray Charles" 1957,
"The Great Ray Charles"- 1957,
"Yes Indeed", "Soul Brothers"-from 1958,
"Ray Charles At Newport", "What'd I Say",
"The Genius of Ray Charles"-from 1959,
and "The Genius Hits The Road"-1960.

By the age we can see they are over 50 years old and of 'public domain'

Released on 4 CDs each has 2 classic albums on each.

The sound is remastered which is always a good sign but I suggest you read other, better, reviews than this to find out more. Amazon US is always a good place to start- bigger country and therefore more experts on this music.
The full track listing with the important split is as follows.
CD 1:
RAY CHARLES (1957):
1. Ain't That Love
2. Drown In My Own Tears
3. Come Back Baby
4. Sinner's Prayer
5. Funny (But I Still Love You)
6. Losing Hand
7. A Fool For You
8. Hallelujah I Love Her So
9. Mess Around
10. This Little Girl Of Mine
11. Mary Ann
12. Greenbacks
13. Don'T You Know
14. I Got A Women
THE GREAT RAY CHARLES (1957):
15. The Ray
16. My Melancholy Baby
17. Black Coffee
18. There's No You
19. Doodlin'
20. Sweet Sixteen Bars
21. I Surrender Dear
22. Undecided
CD 2:
YOU INDEED (1958):
1. What Would I Do Without You
2. It's All Right
3. I Want To Know
4. Yes Indeed
5. Get On The Right Track Baby
6. Talkin' About You
7. Swanee River Rock (Talkin' 'Bout That River)
8. Lonely Avenue
9. Blackjack
10. The Sun's Gonna Shine Again
11. I Had A Dream
12. I Want A Little Girl
13. Heartbreaker
14. Leave My Women Alone
RAY CHARLES IN NEWPORT (1959):
15. Night Time Is The Right Time
16. In A Little Spanish Town
17. I Got A Women
18. Blues Waltz
19. Hot Rod (The Spirit Feel)
20. Talkin' 'Bout You
21. Sherry
22. A Fool For You
CD 3:
WHAT'D I SAY (1959):
1. What'D I Say Part 1 & 2
2. Jumpin' In The Morning
3. You Be My Baby
4. Tell Me How Do You Feel
5. What Kind Of Man Are You
6. Rockhouse Part 1 & 2
7. Roll With Me Baby
8. Tell All The World About You
9. My Bonnie
10. That's Enough
THE GENIUS OF RAY CHARLES (1959):
11. Let The Good Times Roll
12. It Had To Be You
13. Alexander's Ragtime Band
14. Two Years Of Torture
15. When Your Love Has Gone
16. Deed I Do 2.27
17. Just For A Thrill
18. You Won'T Let Me Go
19. Tell Me You'll Wait For You
20. Don'T Let The Sun Catch You Cryin'
21. Am I Blue
22. Come Rain Or Come Shine
CD 4:
SOUL BROTHERS (1958):
1. Soul Brothers
2. How Long Blues
3. Cosmic Ray
4. Blue Funk
5. Bag's Guitar Blues
6. Deed I Do
THE GENIUS HITS THE ROAD (1960):
7. Alabamy Bound
8. Georgia On My Mind
9. Basin Street Blues
10. Mississippi Mud
11. Moonlight In Vermont
12. New York's My Home
13. California, Here I Come
14. Moon Over Miami
15. Deep In The Heart Of Texas
16. Carry Me Back To Old Virginia
17. Blue Hawaii
18. Chattanooga Choo Choo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings ..., 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
I certainly know these albums and recommend them highly ... but it might have been helpful if Amazon had provided us with a track listing.

So, here's the complete list:

Ain't That Love, Drown In My Own Tears, Come Back Baby, Sinner's Prayer, Funny (But I Still Love You), Losing Hand, A Fool For You, Hallelujah I Love Her So, Mess Around, This Little Girl of Mine, Mary Ann, Greenbacks, Don't You Know, I Got a Women, The Ray, My Melancholy Baby, Black Coffee, There's No You, Doodlin', Sweet Sixteen Bars, I Surrender Dear, Undecided, What Would I Do Without You, It's All Right, I Want To Know, Yes Indeed, Get On the Right Track Baby, Talkin' About You, Swanee River Rock (Talkin' 'Bout That River), Lonely Avenue, Blackjack, The Sun's Gonna Shine Again, I Had a Dream, I Want a Little Girl, Heartbreaker, Leave My Women Alone, Night Time is the Right Time, In a Little Spanish Town, I Got a Women, Blues Waltz, Hot Rod (The Spirit Feel), Talkin' 'Bout You, Sherry, A Fool For You, What'd I Say, Part 1 & 2, Jumpin' In the Morning, You Be My Baby, Tell Me How Do You Feel, What Kind of Man Are You, Rockhouse, Part 1 & 2, Roll With Me Baby, Tell All the World About You, My Bonnie, That's Enough, Let the Good Times Roll, It Had To Be You, Alexander's Ragtime Band, Two Years of Torture, When Your Love Has Gone, Deed I Do, Just For a Thrill, You Won't Let Me Go, Tell Me You'll Wait For You, Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin', Am I Blue, Come Rain or Come Shine, Soul Brothers, How Long Blues, Cosmic Ray, Blue Funk, Bag's Guitar Blues, Deed I Do, Alabamy Bound, Georgia On My Mind, Basin Street Blues, Mississippi Mud, Moonlight In Vermont, New York's My Home
California, Here I Come, Moon Over Miami, Deep In the Heart of Texas, Carry Me Back To Old Virginia, Blue Hawaii, Chattanooga Choo Choo.

Phew! That's a grand total of 84 tracks. Goode value or what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a pleasant surprise!, 9 April 2013
By 
Sverre Følstad "s-f" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
This series of reissues are pure value for your hard earned money. Although the image outside might give you an idea of a box set consisting of small vinyl replicas, you will not get them. Instead you get a double jewel cd case, with four discs with pretty cool labels that might remind you of vinyl with some oldfashionedstyled labels. The included 8 page booklet tell you nothing about the content of the albums, except some noncomplete information about musicians, production and publication dates etc. Who wrote songs etc. are not even mentioned. The sound is - for this price - amazing. Pretty sharp, and no violenting mastering process to be heard.

What makes this a worthy reissue is of course the possibility to listen to the albums as they originally were published. In the case of Ray Charles, I am pretty sure most people know a lot of his songs from this glorious period, but have never heard them in their original context. That is at least the case for me, but now I am given that opportunity, to find the hits; the misses; the fillers; the overall idea of these albums of a giant in the history of music. And you will probably not so often get that much qualitytime in front of the stereo as you are brought through these. Beware! There is another 4 cd box set following this one. No need to miss that either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars and good value., 2 July 2014
By 
graham (plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
its interesting..and good value...but i reckon get a good best of if not an out and out Ray fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 11 Nov 2013
By 
wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
Nothing to add to previous reviews except that you really need to buy this set AND volume 2.Beautifully remastered and nice cd, s to look at replicating as they do the look of a vinyl record.Nice to hear these songs in the context of the original vinyl release.Hours and hours of quality music......Ray really was a genius.Fantastic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Ray Charles bargain. Buy it now., 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
Instantly recognised with his distinctive voice and musical style. I remember many of his recordings and it's exciting to discover so many more gems in this bargain buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
Bargain basement price for 8 classic albums. If you like Ray CHarles but don't have much of his stuff already this is a great way to start a collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classics (Audio CD)
I am usually a bit wary of these compilations, but this one is very impressive. The albums are suitably divided across the 4 CDs - 2 on each disc - and the sound quality is excellent, crystal clear and full of warmth. It's a great way of having these great albums in one box. There are of course no notes but I would not expect that for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

8 Classics
8 Classics by Ray Charles (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews