Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, beautifully written novel
The Sealed Letter is one of those books I just couldn't put down--and then felt bereft when I finally finished it. Set in London in 1864, the novel is loosely based on a scandalous divorce case, and features facts stranger than fiction: a stained dress (sound familiar?), fabricated evidence, and scandal more scandalous than the sensationalist novels of the period. It's a...
Published on 25 Sept. 2008 by Ellis Bell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Victorian Divorce on trial
A history based fiction using real characters from a well known trial of the 1860s. This is an interesting portrayal of Victorian London life, the first womens' movement (The Cause) and the arcane workings of the 19th century legal system.

The characters are well drawn and clear - beautiful but manipulative Helen, plain but honest Fido Faithful who runs...
Published 19 months ago by Stuart C.


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice and light, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
Thats about it really. it is an OK read. Bit slow to start but picks up more pace as the story unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
G. D. Waters (Port Talbot S Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
Once you start that's it, could not put it down for long. Recommend this to anyone who like's this type of story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book is really different, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
A good read , and although mainly fiction gave a good insight to the time it was written. How things have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book as I absolutely loved Room by the same author. This book is totally different and the story was completely predictable. It wasn't a page turner and I found I had to read another book by my favoured author Diane Chamberlain at the same time to make it through to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 26 April 2012
By 
Ms. Ann Moyle "Annie" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
I found this a little slow compare to the Room. Good but very different. Must admit I wouldn't read again, but it is well written just not my cup of taa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like it, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
Sorry, but just couldn't get into this story at all. Tried on a few occasions but gave up a third of the way through the book. Would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a mess, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
brenda (harlow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Paperback)
I bought this book at my local newsaagents as a special offer for £2.99 with The Times. It looked interesting and sounded a bit like one of Sarah Waters' novels which I really enjoy. However, I felt it was "all wrong" after the first few paragraphs - especially the descriptive passages - for example -Victorian women did not carry "pocket-books" - they would have had a reticule or if they were carrying goods possibly a gladstone or drawstring bag or even a satchel. As I continued to read it became more and more irritating and I am afraid that I have given up. I am glad that I did not pay the full price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars inabiltyvto download this book and others, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
It will not download. All efforts made even doing the hard to understand instructions, still waiting for others with ordered, confirmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Sealed Letter, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sealed Letter (Kindle Edition)
Could not get into the book at all, a bit to complicated, it was nothing like the snynopis, tried and tried but no sorry not my type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sealed Letter
The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews