Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VNV Nation's best album so far
VNV Nation seem to get better and better with each album. 2009's "Of Faith, Power and Glory" was excellent, and this latest album "Automatic" is (in my humble opinion) the best yet, possibly the best EBM album I've heard.

1. On Air - the album opener, as with previous albums, an instrumental, almost ambient with a glorious full piano sound. Seems to get you...
Published on 24 Sep 2011 by Shauny

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Streamlined Simplicity, An Exercise In Banality...
At this point in what I suppose you could call their 'career', you have to wonder whether the members of VNV Nation are actually engaging in an elaborate Andy Kaufmanesque prank designed to see how many times they can release the same album before people cotton on and lose interest completely.

While the notion that a band can spend an entire career mining...
Published on 26 Sep 2011 by darklordzden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VNV Nation's best album so far, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Automatic (MP3 Download)
VNV Nation seem to get better and better with each album. 2009's "Of Faith, Power and Glory" was excellent, and this latest album "Automatic" is (in my humble opinion) the best yet, possibly the best EBM album I've heard.

1. On Air - the album opener, as with previous albums, an instrumental, almost ambient with a glorious full piano sound. Seems to get you ready for VNV Nation somehow.
2. Space & Time - a great, bounding synth track, a real celebration. One of VNV's best songs.
3. Resolution - starts with a long synth chord, almost like a Brian Eno track, then the beat kicks in and another, really positive, uplifting song.
4. Control - an absolutely superb, massive song, and now my favourite VNV Nation track. Great aggressive vocal, distorted synth, all well produced into the mix so it's all separated perfectly. Plays very well loud.
5. Goodbye 20th Century - An instrumental track, starts with a TV/Radio voice and a slow, string effect, almost classical movement, no beat, but a beautiful break in the middle of the album.
6. Streamline - Starts immediately with a solid 134bpm beat, synth and vocal open up to an almost Giorgio Moroder "I feel love" style song.
7. Gratitude - 10 or 20 seconds of opener, then thumping beat, and great lyrics. Another VNV Nation classic - lovely sing-along chorus, multiple synth tracks, nicely mixed.
8. Nova - A real lighters in the stadium track, starts with vocal and synth, for a full minute, then a big bass drum and bassline kick in with "Shine, shine your light on me". Definitely one of the best tracks on the album, very anthemic.
9. Photon - Another instrumental, longer at 6 minutes, lovely opening for a minute, then huge sounding drums make this one of the best instrumentals they've done.
10. Radio - 7.47 of repeated synth chord, with almost poetic vocal, and the drum kicking in after nearly 3 minutes with "Broadcasting live around the world, on the air in every land, on every frequency." A fabulous way to close the album, and probably the way VNV Nation will finish live sets from now on. A close second to "Control" for me.

All in all the album is really uplifting, much more positive than a lot of EBM music, and if you're a fan of and previous VNV Nation albums (or "And One", "Assemblage 23", "Covenant", etc) or electronic music in general, then you will love this album.

And if you like to run to music (especially 140bpm) this is a great album for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stonking, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (MP3 Download)
Superbly atmospheric, and yet another great vnv album. A must have for any vnv fan. Buy this album now you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (MP3 Download)
When I first heard the album after listening to the samples, I was a bit miffed - the 9 minute teaser they released previous to the album had built up so much hype I was disappointed. Until I kept listening. And suddenly it struck me that this the best album VNV have produced, being up there along side Futureperfect.

Ronan said that this was to a mainly quiet album you can listen to at home and the track Control was designed for clubs. I think if that's the only track that was played at clubs, then they would be missing out on the rest of the excellent tracks!

That feeling you get when good music plays -shivers up your spine etc (Frisson) - well this album has it in plenty - Nova, Radio and Space & Time all send shivers up my spine when they're played.

Lyrically, the album is great. I love the song Gratitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
Another top quality album by VNV Nation, this was defiantly worth the purchase. It is a very uplifting and powerful album that you can't get enough of. I wouldn't say there are any bad songs on this album. Once again I was blown away by the music they have produced, one of the top bands of all times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album yet?, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: Automatic (MP3 Download)
Other reviews go into a lot of detail, about each song. So i won't do it again. It is a great album and probably their most mainstream, which isn't always a bad thing. The more you listen the more you love it. Best played very loud and with furniture moved out of the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars vnv back with a vengance, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
vnv nation return with their long awaited new album automatic.And a fine album it is.I felt it would take something special to match of faith,power and glory,and after several spins it'sgetting there.Stand out track for me is gratitude,also space and time,nova and control hit the spot,but there are no duffers or fillers,a very consistent album.Slightly less commercial and mainstream as the last one but excellent nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Automatic review, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (MP3 Download)
I was impressed with the album, though after I saw the band live I had a much deeper appreciation for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VNV's best album so far., 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
VNV Nation seem to get better and better with each album. 2009's "Of Faith, Power and Glory" was excellent, and this latest album "Automatic" is (in my humble opinion) the best yet, possibly the best EBM album I've heard.

1. On Air - the album opener, as with previous albums, an instrumental, almost ambient with a glorious full piano sound. Seems to get you ready for VNV Nation somehow.
2. Space & Time - a great, bounding synth track, a real celebration. One of VNV's best songs.
3. Resolution - starts with a long synth chord, almost like a Brian Eno track, then the beat kicks in and another, really positive, uplifting song.
4. Control - an absolutely superb, massive song, and now my favourite VNV Nation track. Great aggressive vocal, distorted synth, all well produced into the mix so it's all separated perfectly. Plays very well loud.
5. Goodbye 20th Century - An instrumental track, starts with a TV/Radio voice and a slow, string effect, almost classical movement, no beat, but a beautiful break in the middle of the album.
6. Streamline - Starts immediately with a solid 134bpm beat, synth and vocal open up to an almost Giorgio Moroder "I feel love" style song.
7. Gratitude - 10 or 20 seconds of opener, then thumping beat, and great lyrics. Another VNV Nation classic - lovely sing-along chorus, multiple synth tracks, nicely mixed.
8. Nova - A real lighters in the stadium track, starts with vocal and synth, for a full minute, then a big bass drum and bassline kick in with "Shine, shine your light on me". Definitely one of the best tracks on the album, very anthemic.
9. Photon - Another instrumental, longer at 6 minutes, lovely opening for a minute, then huge sounding drums make this one of the best instrumentals they've done.
10. Radio - 7.47 of repeated synth chord, with almost poetic vocal, and the drum kicking in after nearly 3 minutes with "Broadcasting live around the world, on the air in every land, on every frequency." A fabulous way to close the album, and probably the way VNV Nation will finish live sets from now on. A close second to "Control" for me.

All in all the album is really uplifting, much more positive than a lot of EBM music, and if you're a fan of and previous VNV Nation albums (or "And One", "Assemblage 23", "Covenant", etc) or electronic music in general, then you will love this album.

And if you like to run to music (especially 140bpm) this is a great album for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best live acts around and a really good album, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
VNV nation: one of the best live acts around and a really good album, just as I'd expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to form album, also great performed live., 12 July 2012
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
This brilliant album sees the smashing VNV return to perfect form, after three rather "different" efforts:
"Matter and Form" didn't do it for me at all, I'm afraid, and it is not that I don't love the two albums preceding this one, "Judgement" and "Of Faith, Power and Glory", but "Automatic" feels like a return to olden, golden times for the VNV Nation.

"Automatic" is almost perfect. I can't quite pinpoint what "it" is that makes it better than "Judgement" (which contains the beautiful and very popular at lives, "Illusion" and has a fantastic prelude and an equally ethereal ending in "As it fades"). And I can't say why I like it a wee bit more than the anyway excellent "Of Faith, Power and Glory" (which, with its flow of consecutive beautiful songs, feels like a full body of work, sort of like a symphony, rather than a collection of songs). Yet, love it more I do and it brings to my mind the flawless perfection of their golden "Futureperfect" era, "Futureperfect" being nothing short of a masterpiece.
This feeling, this vibe that I get from "Automatic" could easily have to do with the fact that VNV Nation themselves seem very excited about this album. Their own enthusiasm for it is contagious. And, of course, it has something that the previous album didn't quite have: a big, scorching, megaton bomb of a club hit, "Control". I saw them live in London in October 2011, before having bought the album, so my first experience of "Control", was a live one. I am still recovering from that one. This track performed live saw us (the crowd) go totally berserk! Ronan was in ace mood that night and that gig was one of their most successful that I'd witnessed. Even though an Irishman, Ronan seems to feel perfectly at home in London and the audience felt this instinctively and responded to it magnificently. His palpitating energy sold the album to everyone in the room who hadn't already bought it (I got it at the gig myself). VNV played for 2 hours and electrified the audience; the gig was so successful that they subsequently announced another one for 3 months later. "Control" was definitely the hit of the night- so good that anyone seeing/ hearing it live for the first time wouldn't believe their eyes and ears with that performance. It leaves you with such a buzz you feel like you've been mildly electrocuted. Of course, it is not the only good song on the album; all songs are very good and come with topnotch lyrics that do not disappoint. As ever, VNV Nation are the thinking man's (and woman's) synthpop (or "futurepop" as they used to like to call it). For myself, I say, pop my foot; VNV might not have guitars and drums but they are often heavier than a ton of bricks. And in the occasions their music isn't heavier than a ton of bricks, then it is their lyrics that are. Ronan is a superb lyricist, following in the honourable footsteps of so many distinguished Irish poets and writers, who have enriched our school lives and adult years; the Dublin Writers Museum being one of the best tourist attractions that I've ever visited, it is hard for me not to think of these brilliant people and their heritage that shines through in Ronan's seminal lyrics.

Apart for club hit "Control" there are two other big numbers on this album: one is the deeply ironic and funnily euphoric (in a strange "up yours!" way), "Gratitude". And the other is the anthemic "Nova (Shine a light)" that got them (us) going well and proper at the gig. Oh, my.

All songs on this disc are worthy of a place on your playlist. It is wonderful to see such a brilliant band continue to be so good after so many years in action. They also are two of the best remixers of other bands' tracks to be found on this earth- but more on that another time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Automatic
Automatic by VNV Nation (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews