Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2012
book 2 in this series is as good as the first book . Marcus and Ami take the lead in this one Ami was found by Seth and David in book 1 and Seth decides she is the best choice to be Marcus's second, so he packs her stuff and transports her there in a puff, Marcus is not happy about it but agrees and the story begins
I like this series and cant wait for Bastins story next I think the doctor who works at Seths labs trying to help the vamps will be his hea!
Marcus and Ami are a great couple and I love the twist Dianne Duvall gives for what Ami is, Marcus is great mean and moody with a soft shell for Ami good oneliners and a load of romance gold stars from me.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Marcus Graden has been an Immortal protector of humanity for eight hundred years. He prefers to be alone and feels no need to have a backup. But when he is surrounded by eight deranged vampires, Marcus is glad to realize that someone was guarding his backside, even if she was a mortal.

Amiriska "Ami" has trouble trusting anyone, but a coward she is not. When she sees a mysterious warrior fighting against impossible odds, Ami does not hesitate to help and save him. When Seth, the leader and most powerful immortal, assigns Ami to be Marcus's Second, she does not argue. Seth knows all about Ami's private past and her secrets. She may not be an Immortal Guardian, but she IS better than any other Second - excluding Seth's. Ami knows that Marcus does not want a Second, but there is nothing he can do or say that will keep her from doing her job.

It does not take Marcus long to realize that there is more to Ami than what can be seen on the surface and Marcus cannot help but be very attracted to that surface. The little spitfire always seems to know whenever he is in danger and arrives to watch his six whether he likes it or not. But as the battle between vampires and immortals grows, and the danger mounts almost by the hour, Ami may be the only person able to ensure Marcus is still alive in the end.

*** THREE STARS! This is the second novel of the Immortal Guardians series. It started out with a ferocious battle, hooking my attention quickly. The ending was just as fabulous. However, I feel as though the story slowed down too often between the two. The story's point-of-view comes from a variety of characters, causing frequent scene shifts. Be that as it may, the plot is devious and the main characters are engaging. I look forward to the third installment. ***

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
Things you will need to read this book:

1. A Suspension Of Disbelief hat. You need quite a bit of SOD to read most fantasy/paranormal books, but this one requires a touch more than usual. So get yourself the amazing SOD hat and it will help you through those tough times.

2. The patience of a Saint. This is needed for all the time leading up to and including you finding out exactly who/what the heroine is. It is alluded to, it is hinted at, many wrong guesses will be made until you are literally shaking the book and screaming, "JUST TELL ME ALREADY!". If you can't get hold of the patience of a Saint I can recommend the patience of a Nun, the patience of a Shaolin Monk, or the patience of one of those guys who make those little ship in a bottle thingies.

3. Some heavy duty make up and concealer. If you are planning on reading this book in public this is an absolute must to cover up all of those blushes. Yes, this book is just as hawt as the last one.

4. And finally, you will need....to pre-order the next book! Because although this book wasn't quite as engrossing as the first one (I gave it 4 but really it's more like a 3.75 compared to the first one), this is still a very classy, well written paranormal book and any Paranormal Romance lover would be remiss not to add Dianne Duvall to their shelf. I certainly will be reading the next instalment, Phantom Shadows, when it hits the selves October 2nd, 2012.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Book 2 of Immortal Guardians...This is the story about Marcus Graden an immortal protector of humanity for eigth hundred years. He prefers to be alone, likes his solitude and is not interested in having a second as back up so when Seth and David force him to have one he is not pleased.

Amiriska (Ami) was rescued by Seth and David from scientist who were torturing her. It takes time but eventually comes to terms with what has happened to her but she now has trouble in trusting anyone. She is not a coward, Seth and David have trained her to fight and decide that she will be Marcus's second much to his annoyance. Ami senses when Marcus needs help and when eight vampires surround and attack him she speeds to his defence.

This is actioned packed, romantic and Marcus tries to protect her the best way he can. She is courageous and brave and the two of them, above all odds finally come together to a lovely close. A good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
oh wow! 2nd instalment of the Immortal Guardians and Duvall does NOT disappoint!

I re-read the first book before reading this one, and while not necessary, it helps to understand Ami, and where she came from.

set approx. 18 months after Darkness Dawns, it tells of Ami, who was rescued by Seth and David in the first book, and Marcus, Roland's (what can only be described as) best friend. (you know how anti-social Roland is!)

Marcus is still grieving the loss of the love of his long life, only she never knew. Bethany came into his life, not once, but twice (I'll not tell you how) and he never managed to let her know how much he loved her. He also has no Second.

Seth sets Ami as Marcus' Second, and he isn't too happy about it, but gradually they come to an accord.

After seeing Ami fight, Marcus is amazed and shocked and turned on as hell. But its seeing Ami injured that sets him off, and gradually falls in love with her.

But Ami has a secret, that only Seth and David know. Marcus knows she is different, just not how.

Duvall leads us deeper in the world of the Immortal Guardians, with secrets all over the place and laying down for the next books. I love the descriptions and emotions that are in this book, you feel all the characters, right from the heart, and all their pain, cos, I tell ya, there is ALOT of physical pain in this book. much more than the other book, but its needed to understand Ami and who and what she is. so, violent, yes, and sexy as hell!

I highly recommend this series :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
i couldnt get into this book but i kept reading and it started to draw me in at 50% of the way through and i finally started to warm up to the characters and the book became more enjoyable. The first half of the book marcus and ami are fighting vampires and it became pretty boring and repetitive after a while then as i said things began to change and became more interesting and the romance began between marcus and ami. marcus didnt seem like a tough alpha male character to me he seemed more like a soft dweeb and i found it hard to like him and ami is a tough character but not much is really given out about her except that she was held prisoner and tortured by someone and seth and david saved her but it isnt until 70% of the way through that you finally find the truth out about her and how the rest of the series is going to progress. The ending was a bit of a let down i thought as all the baddies werent caught and will be in the next story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
I was more enthralled by this book 2 in the series than book one. The characters engaged more with me and I didn't find the plot predictable this time. I enjoyed the pace and the suspense created within the story and I like how it finished; leaving me wanting and needing to read book 3 to see what happens next.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Another Triumph, wonderful story telling by the author.

Exciting plot lots of battles with the enemy, secrets exposed and plenty of surprises uncovered.

Great characters who have depth, you'll easily identify with them, so likeable you're sure to fall in love with them I did!

Lots of romance, passion at its best and hot hot sex between the alpha males and the sassy heroines.
Personally I liked the development of the characters in the series as you can catch up with the previous hero and heroine and see how they are enjoying their lives.
I loved the humour, the fact that the people involved can be flawed yet that weakness is what will endear them to you.

What more do you need for an amazing read? Buy this book and experience a world of romance, excitement and pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Read all her books and love this series - great reads all of them! This ones about Ami, who doesn't trust strangers and after what happened to her it's not surprising but having said that she's no coward or a pushover in the protection department though. So when she comes across hunky, Marcus Graden, an Immortal protector and mysterious warrior taking on eight deranged vampires on his own, she doesn't hesitate to save his bacon. Of course, that was before she realised what one little rescue would get her into. From the moment Ami arrives in his life, he can't deny that she's strong, smart, and extremely skilled at watching his back. But she's also destroying his protective solitude and stirring desires he can't bear to awaken. But awaken them she does!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Really enjoyed this book; loved the characters, the twists & turns, the mystery, the passion it all kept me gripped.
This well written PNR only missed out on a 5 Star rating because of the ending - the running background story was left as a major cliffhanger that you just can't leave .... story arcs in a trilogy is OK but I don't like being forced to buy the next book in a long series to get closure/answers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.