Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rihanna just gets better and better
WOW ever since I got this album on the release date, I just can't stop listening to it. In my opinion, this is Rihannas best album, with every song being a potential hit.

1. S&M > A definite club banger. With naughty lyrics and a catchy beat, you will not be able to stop yourself moving to this song. A great opener to the album, which really gets you in the...
Published on 23 Dec 2010 by Pepper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's get loud...
* S&M *

Went to #3 in the singles chart.

The name says it all really, so I won't explain the lyrics any further. I will say the lyrics themselves are very simple and highly repetitive, so they get stuck in your head. Pair these catchy lyrics with a energetic Euro dance/pop beat and I'm hooked.

Some stations have renamed the song 'Come On'...
Published on 11 April 2011 by AyJay


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's get loud..., 11 April 2011
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
* S&M *

Went to #3 in the singles chart.

The name says it all really, so I won't explain the lyrics any further. I will say the lyrics themselves are very simple and highly repetitive, so they get stuck in your head. Pair these catchy lyrics with a energetic Euro dance/pop beat and I'm hooked.

Some stations have renamed the song 'Come On' and bleep out many parts of it. Why can Kings Of Leon boast that their sex is on fire, but if Rihanna uses the word "sex" it gets bleeped? "Whips" and "chains" are another two words that are too extreme for listeners ears on radio/TV, so you really need to hear the album version to appreciate the song minus bleeps and muting effects.

[As much as I love this version, I'll point that she's just released a killer remix of S&M, featuring a extra verse sung by a autotune free Britney Spears, which is miles better then this]

* What's My Name? [featuring Drake] *

Went to #1 in the singles chart.

The lyrical content of the song has been as "sassy" and as being "[what] lyrically amounts to romantic, sexual sweet nothings". There's not much I can think of adding for this track; It's not terrible, but it's certainly not special either. It reminds me too much of 'Only Girl (In The World), but with none of it's charm and sensuality. After hearing "Oh na na, what's my name?" a few times, you'll be screaming "It's f***ing Rihanna"...

Oh; Drake's rap contains the lines "I heard that you're good with those soft lips, you know word-of-mouth?" and "the square root of 69 is eight, right?", which caused a mini scandal in the U.S. apparently. Are your ears burning?

* Cheers (Drink To That) *

This track features a looping guitar groove that interpolates Avril Lavigne's "I'm With You".

It's the weekend, so it's time to head to the bar and... that's it. I waited for this track to go somewhere in vain, as it seems to be building up for a thumbing chorus. It has simple lyrics like 'S&M', but the music doesn't suit the track at all - it needed the same club beats to give it some life. Oh - Avril's looped "yeah, yeahhh" winds the hell out of me. This is the track I've played the least.

It seems that I'm in the minority however; Rihanna asked her fans to vote for the track they wanted to have as the third single [S&M won] and this came in second.

* Fading *

Interestingly for a feisty break-up song, this samples Enya's "One by One".

After the three songs which have louder, shouty lyrics we see Rihanna turn it down a notch. It's not lyrically exciting - she's telling her partner she's bored, so he can go bye-bye - but they're catchy. Paired with her ever growing vocals, confident delivery and the piano lead, Enya infused music this track is lifted up a level.

* Only Girl (In The World) *

Went to #1 on the singles chart.

At first I didn't like the single as it's lyrically needy; basically the song is about Rihanna reminding her partner to give her his attention and the video is cheesy and cheap looking. But when I really paid attention to the lines of the chorus I realised that the lyrics are actually upbeat, confident and sensual. Musically it's very Euro pop, with synths and a heavy bass line.

The result is like a cross between 'Don't Stop The Music' and 'Rude Boy'.

* California King Bed *

Here we get a bit of a throw-back to the 'Good Girl Gone Bad' era with an acoustic ballad. There are two ways in which I interpret the lyrics:
1) She is in a long term relationship and is bemoaning the distance between her and her partner.
2) Her relationship has grown stale and there is an emotional distance between her and her partner.

Even though I'm not sure how to interpret the lyrics they are solid and emotive. I can see this being released as a single, but there is nothing new or catchy here so this fails to interest me.

* Man Down *

Rihanna apologizes for shooting down a guy; after all "he could have been somebody's son" (no s**t Sherlock). I'll go ahead and assume that she means he came on to her and she turned him down, rather than imagining her as a T-1000.

The lyrics are accompanied by Island-vibe infused R&B, which makes it stand out from the other tracks on LOUD.

Like with 'California King Bed', this is an overall solid song, but it just doesn't interest me in the slightest.

* Raining Men [featuring Nicki Minaj] *

Was added to U.S. radio playlists in December 2010, but didn't get hugely positive feedback.

Not only does it share it's title with the camptastic single by The Weather Girls, but it shares a similar theme - basically Rihanna is hot and savvy, so the men are practically raining down around her. Rihanna has described the track as "quirky and funny", but I think "cheesy and egotistic" is more accurate.

I don't like Nicki Minaj or rap in general, so maybe I'm not the best person to be rating this track, but I don't think that she adds anything to the song; Her rap is just there to reinforce the previous lyrics, not to add to them.

* Complicated *

The lyrics and down-tempo R&B beats to 'Complicated' reminds me slightly of 'Fading'; but instead of saying her partner can up and go she's saying that she's going to hang in there, in the hope that he realises what he's going to lose if he doesn't change.

Even though it is similar to another track on this album I still play this a lot and would like this to be a single, as the possibility for remixes is intriguing.

* Skin *

Another slower R&B number and it's again acoustically lead. The lyrics are basically her saying that being naked is good, so lose the shirt and jeans, but her seductive purr and the guitar riffs are very appealing.

This is another track that has interesting single possibilities.

* Love The Way You Lie (Part II) [featuring Eminem] *

The original went to #2 on the singles chart.

Best described as a sequel to 'Love the Way You Lie', this time with Rihanna as the lead vocalist, viewing a abusive relationship from the woman's point of view. The music for this version was bare; Only a piano and drums are used.

The lyrics come of as being very personal and autobiographical, so I was surprised that Rihanna didn't write it. Eminem must have written the two versions with her in mind, I guess. Speaking of Eminem; He has one brief verse this time, the last verse. The whole song had slowly been building up mo mention, so his delivery seems savage and is very effective.

- - - - - - - - - - - -
Worth buying?
- - - - - - - - - - - -

LOUD was produced to be an album full of potential singles, one of the executive producer's even compared the album to Micheal Jackson's Thriller...

Whilst LOUD is never going to reach that goal there is only one 'filler' [Cheers] on here, so it's pats on the back all round. Half of the songs on LOUD aren't to my taste personally, there is a variety of styles present and so there is something for almost everyone on here. Rihanna was rumoured to have hired a vocal coach prior to recording LOUD and after listening to this it does seem plausible; Her best vocals are on this album, so there are clear signs of growth on both her song choices and vocals as she continues her one-year-between-albums trend.

In short; although LOUD is a solid album, I find it similar to Good Girl Gone Bad in that I skip over several tracks as they're not to my taste and I consider Rated R to be her best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rihanna just gets better and better, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
WOW ever since I got this album on the release date, I just can't stop listening to it. In my opinion, this is Rihannas best album, with every song being a potential hit.

1. S&M > A definite club banger. With naughty lyrics and a catchy beat, you will not be able to stop yourself moving to this song. A great opener to the album, which really gets you in the mood to party. If you liked "disturbia" then you will love this track. 10/10

2. Whats my name > The second single that was released from this album, featuring Drake . This song is a grower after a few plays. You won' be able to get it out of your head all day. 9/10

3. Cheers > This song is like marmite, you love it or you hate it. Some may find the Avril Lavigne sample odd, but in a roundabout way it works. This is a song to play before you go out on a friday night. 7/10

4. Fading > This track is probably the weakest song on the album, but nevertheless is a nice track . Rihanna sings of a relationship coming to an end, which is what many can relate to. 6/10

5.Only Girl > The first single from the album. And you can see why. This song has you singing and dancing along for weeks. 10/10

6. California King Bed > A beautiful ballad. It sounds like it could have been on her album "Rated R". Rihanna shows how her vocals have grown. 8/10

7.Man Down > This song is just pure greatness. You are fully reminded that Rihanna is Caribbean with this track, with a real island and "summer" feel. If you only listen to one song from this album, it has to be this. 10/10

8. Raining Men > Featuring Nikki Minaj, an uplifting song for all women out there with problems with men. It will have you dancing with your girlfriends and put in a good mood. 8/10

9. Skin > Possibly Rihannas most sexual song. The seductive tone and suggestive lyrics will definitely seduce you. The song is slower compared to most on the album, but it's a super sexy track. 10/10

BONUS

10. Love the way you lie part 2- Part 2 to the hit track with Eminem, with mainly Rihannas vocals. Not as good as the original. 5/10

Overall, a nice solid album. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Formula One, 15 Nov 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
21st century divas don't come much better than Rihanna. What's
not to like about her?! A truly cracking voice; unforced beauty,
and the capacity to mix up feistiness and charm in equal measure.
However, five albums in and the world's music press has not spoken
with one voice about her new release 'Loud'. Truth-be-told it's
had a very mixed reception. I guess it depends what you want from
pop music. This is, after-all, pop with a capital P but the album
displays a variety and breadth which, without achieving overall
sonic coherence, is nonetheless hugely entertaining and enjoyable.

An enormous tribe of writers, co-writers and producers have been
hard at work in the kitchen to deliver this eleven-course feast
to the table. It is consequently a bit of a mixed-bag but I did
not experience this as an inherent or disqualifying weakness.

You will doubtless have already heard the marvellous single
'Only Girl (In The World)'. I am led to believe that it has
been ripping up the parquet on dancefloors all over the land!
It is an irrisistible hands-in-the-air anthem to equal Ms GaGa's
very best efforts. (The evident kinship does no harm to either!)

'Complicated', too, receives a stirring performance! It is a
curious composition which can't quite make up its mind whether
it wants to stroll along nonchalantly or stomp up and down the
stairs with big boots on! It ends up managing to do both.
The harmonies are delightful and the fearsome top notes thrilling!

'California King Bed' is a lovely piece pitched somewhere between
a tender love song and a full-on power ballad. (Alex Delicata's
terribly old-fashioned central guitar solo does the arrangement
no favours at all but Ms Fenty survives the interruption with
her dignity intact!)

'Man Down' is a dark little reggae-infused ditty which hints
(like the concluding collaboration with Mr Mathers 'Love The
Way You Lie - Part II') at more sinister preoccupations. A little
dalliance in the shadows here and there becomes her! (In the sultry
performance of 'Skin', however, she is virtually consumed by them!)

Doubtless 'Loud' will have its detractors but I have a feeling
time will prove it to be among the best work she has produced.

I'm loving the new hair colour too!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another one for the fans, 29 Nov 2010
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
The 'Rated R' album, was always going to be a very hard act to follow, although a little darker than previous offerings, still some of her finest work to date.

This new album is a continuation of her musical development, with quite a mixture of tracks. The outstanding track is probably 'only girl in the world', which proved its credentials by rocketing to the top of the charts. I like 'what's my name' and 's & m' a lot as well.

Interestingly, a strange ommision is 'love the way you lie'. However, included is 'love the way you lie (part 2)', which does really grow on you.

So there is lots to like about this album and is an absolute must for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rihanna's masterpiece! One of 2010's finest achievements!, 15 Nov 2010
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
Rihanna Robyn Fenty, One of the last decades finest artists to come to form! she charmed us with accessible hits Pon De Replay, SOS and Unfaithful. Then she shocked the globe with the HUGE hits Umbrella, Don't Stop The Music, Shut Up And Drive, Disturbia, Take A Bow, Rehab and Hate That I Love You. Then after her violent relationship with Chris Brown hit the headlines Rihanna established all her raw emotions in the macabre and undeniably fantastic Rated R album, an album which would become one of the finest of (not only) 2009, but of the decade! with Russian ROulette, Rude Boy, Te Amo and Hard being huge hit songs from the album, she ensured that she was her own artist and no man or woman would stand in her way!

Now at 22 years of age, here we are with her fifth album in her career of over 60 million albums and singles sold worldwide! in 5 years and the successor to Rated R barely a year in age between them. Rihanna makes it certain that she is in a much better place, and her confidence certainly shines through here on LOUD. We are given a HUGE cultural blend with this album, as she brings her Caribbean and Island influences from her Barbadian upbringing through her list of songs. This vibe alone sets this album apart from the plethora of 'pop artists' that past year! it's never generic, it's raw and also a fantastical display of RIhanna as a visionary as well as an artist and a singer.

The direction of the album is symbolic of her journey as an iconic figure over the past few years, it's that natural progression forward and dare i say it...LOUD is her greatest album of her career because of it!

The album cover alone boasts greatness within it's simplicity, very reminiscent of Madonna's striking imagery on her album covers and her artistry as a legend, and that of Motown artists Marvin Gaye or Diana Ross, and even 90's Janet Jackson and Donna SUmmer in her glorifying heyday! it's these connotations of strength and artistry that's so appealing about the album art of the album, it's very much Madonna's fire of Erotica and Confessions On A Dance Floor meets the gold of MJ's Thriller and the funk of What's Going On by Marvin Gaye combined with the soul of Christina Aguilera's Stripped.

Now for the sound of the songs here, RIhanna has got the best of the best writing with her and producing the instrumentals on each song. Ester Dean returns amongst others penning some absolute gems of anthems on the disc, and Polow De Don, The RUnners, Tricky Stewart and Stargate return with their fantastical production techniques melding the genres together for absolutely spellbinding effects.

The flavours of Rated R were very dark, musky and damn present itself as a rather gothic overall album and was extremely effective for this! and it dared to take the risk of Riri losing some of her fans at that pace too. Here Loud presents much more brightened flavours, something very citrus and vibrant and warm. It makes you feel and presents not too dissimilar emotions in the style of Rated R's direction.

Only Girl (In The World) is standing out as a huge hit this year already becoming one of the fastest selling singles of the year here in the UK and topping the chart for three weeks of it's release! it's a powerful lead single which echoes back to 90's House Dance songs, it's retro and very old skool in vibe and with a simplistically arty video it very much justifies why it's a hit song.

absolute standout songs here have to be -

California King Bed- It strikes out much like Fire Bomb for Rated R, it's a heartfelt song that demands to be a huge release, very rock inspired instrumentals and also one of the most emotionally powerful displayed songs of the album and of her career thus far! 5/5

What's My Name?- hopefully will be as huge as Only Girl is right now, very much the Borderline by Madonna of this album! it's a beautiful melancholic song from the album, also reminiscent of Te Amo too with the soft tribal sonics. 5/5

Cheers (Drink To That) - One of the finest uptempo anthems in ages! and it may take some listeners several repeats to understand the production of this song and the use of Avril Lavigne's Yeah Yeah sample, but trust me it's well worth it! it's an exceptional call back to Marvin Gaye's style of recording by the use of tribal chants in the background and live vocals being used, also reminds me of Madonna's True Blue era (Where's The Party to be precise which is HUGE!) in the sense that it's a party song but also has such a deep meaning. Also Riri's accent is on such a fine display here. 5/5

S&M- the sexiest and most dirtiest song of the collection, not since Britney's Get Naked (I Got A Plan) from 2007's Blackout has a song dealing with such 'Sadomasochistic' themes been so thumpy and catchy and anthemic! and for a future release this song is very much the Disturbia of the recording...it hits the listener from the get go. 4/5

And finally,

Complicated- Definately the most schizophrenic song of the album, displaying itself as one of the most emotional ballads of her career yet also finds itself pulsating to a rhythmic House beat mid way through, not unlike Bjork's masterpiece Hyperballad from her Post album in 1995, it has that same power and 'journey' style effect that is so defining for the song. Also would make a fantastic release from the album. 5/5

Must also say that Fading, Man Down, Raining Men and Skin are very good songs in their own rights too.

Overall, i must say that there is not a single filler on LOUD from the get go, you are in for the ride from the dirty synth grooves of S&M to the heartfelt follow up Love The Way You Live Part 2 to that huge smash hit of the year duet with Eminem. LOUD is designed to be played loud and felt.

It will be understandable that Loud also won't appeal to people who haven't 'got' Rihanna's music, but at the same time it presents itself as the finest pieces of art Rihanna has created in her career thus far! and will please all of her fans and will win over the fans that embraced her in the Good Girl Gone Bad era!

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it ;-), 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
Rihanna is back and her music is getting better and better! ( just to let u know im 13) I am a big Rihanna fan since i was 7. And her music is still really good.! There is no single track that us bad on here. My fave track is S&M. I was singing that song all day at school! ;-). Its the best one yet in mmy opien. My boyfriend Tom agrees that Rihanna is the best singers around. Yep she is ( well Nicki Minja and pink are really good 2) She is pretty talented and the best female singers. A must have for all Rihanna fans around!!! Also there are 2 tracks that are expilet ( swearing) the tracks are: Man down and Raining men (ft Nicki Minja.) so maybe parents need to listen before giving it to kids who are 6 to 10. Well thats my review done. by: Christina age 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars let me tell u a secret...., 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
... i always found Rihanna rather hot like a really pretty women. The first time i listened to her i thought phaw her music was bad but now i like LIKE her!!!! :) My big bro laughed cos shes already problay married but i dont care i have a crush on her music and herself. She is so hot...... anyway this album is the best Rihanna ever!! my favourite track is man down. Its so catchy i wasnet sure on Raining Men cos it said feat. Nicki Minja. ( im not keen on her) but it was ok i suppose. wait before i go my bro wants to say some things.... .Hi its me Bens bro Dave. I wanna put that Rihanna is so talented cant belive he has a crush on her. Anyway its great our sister likes it we all do. I just wish Ben would stop keep playing man down its stuck in my head!!!! lol
. Back to Ben: ok thanx for reading hope u understood it lol. PS: Jessie J who u are is really good another must have! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They sent me a clean version, 2 Sep 2012
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
A clean version of the album was not advertised however it worked out for me because I got the original version of Fading (sample intact) and there isn't that much swearing on the album to begin with. So all good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rhianna cd, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
I contacted the seller 2 times about my order and he couldnt of been so my nicer and patient with me and because i never recieved the 1st order he sent out another 1 for me, i am very happy with my order and the seller was so nice and im sure to buy of him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monica, 13 July 2011
By 
Basil G. Martin (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loud (Audio CD)
This is an OUTSTANDING ablum!! Rihanna has always created spectacular music, and this album is no different. My favourate songs are Complicated and Cheers (Drink to that), these songs may not be in the charts at the moment, but they should be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loud [Explicit]
Loud [Explicit] by Rihanna
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews