Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Loud
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars254
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2010
WOW ever since I got this album on the release date, I just can't stop listening to it. In my opinion, this is Rihannas best album, with every song being a potential hit.

1. S&M > A definite club banger. With naughty lyrics and a catchy beat, you will not be able to stop yourself moving to this song. A great opener to the album, which really gets you in the mood to party. If you liked "disturbia" then you will love this track. 10/10

2. Whats my name > The second single that was released from this album, featuring Drake . This song is a grower after a few plays. You won' be able to get it out of your head all day. 9/10

3. Cheers > This song is like marmite, you love it or you hate it. Some may find the Avril Lavigne sample odd, but in a roundabout way it works. This is a song to play before you go out on a friday night. 7/10

4. Fading > This track is probably the weakest song on the album, but nevertheless is a nice track . Rihanna sings of a relationship coming to an end, which is what many can relate to. 6/10

5.Only Girl > The first single from the album. And you can see why. This song has you singing and dancing along for weeks. 10/10

6. California King Bed > A beautiful ballad. It sounds like it could have been on her album "Rated R". Rihanna shows how her vocals have grown. 8/10

7.Man Down > This song is just pure greatness. You are fully reminded that Rihanna is Caribbean with this track, with a real island and "summer" feel. If you only listen to one song from this album, it has to be this. 10/10

8. Raining Men > Featuring Nikki Minaj, an uplifting song for all women out there with problems with men. It will have you dancing with your girlfriends and put in a good mood. 8/10

9. Skin > Possibly Rihannas most sexual song. The seductive tone and suggestive lyrics will definitely seduce you. The song is slower compared to most on the album, but it's a super sexy track. 10/10

BONUS

10. Love the way you lie part 2- Part 2 to the hit track with Eminem, with mainly Rihannas vocals. Not as good as the original. 5/10

Overall, a nice solid album. A must buy!
0Comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21st century divas don't come much better than Rihanna. What's
not to like about her?! A truly cracking voice; unforced beauty,
and the capacity to mix up feistiness and charm in equal measure.
However, five albums in and the world's music press has not spoken
with one voice about her new release 'Loud'. Truth-be-told it's
had a very mixed reception. I guess it depends what you want from
pop music. This is, after-all, pop with a capital P but the album
displays a variety and breadth which, without achieving overall
sonic coherence, is nonetheless hugely entertaining and enjoyable.

An enormous tribe of writers, co-writers and producers have been
hard at work in the kitchen to deliver this eleven-course feast
to the table. It is consequently a bit of a mixed-bag but I did
not experience this as an inherent or disqualifying weakness.

You will doubtless have already heard the marvellous single
'Only Girl (In The World)'. I am led to believe that it has
been ripping up the parquet on dancefloors all over the land!
It is an irrisistible hands-in-the-air anthem to equal Ms GaGa's
very best efforts. (The evident kinship does no harm to either!)

'Complicated', too, receives a stirring performance! It is a
curious composition which can't quite make up its mind whether
it wants to stroll along nonchalantly or stomp up and down the
stairs with big boots on! It ends up managing to do both.
The harmonies are delightful and the fearsome top notes thrilling!

'California King Bed' is a lovely piece pitched somewhere between
a tender love song and a full-on power ballad. (Alex Delicata's
terribly old-fashioned central guitar solo does the arrangement
no favours at all but Ms Fenty survives the interruption with
her dignity intact!)

'Man Down' is a dark little reggae-infused ditty which hints
(like the concluding collaboration with Mr Mathers 'Love The
Way You Lie - Part II') at more sinister preoccupations. A little
dalliance in the shadows here and there becomes her! (In the sultry
performance of 'Skin', however, she is virtually consumed by them!)

Doubtless 'Loud' will have its detractors but I have a feeling
time will prove it to be among the best work she has produced.

I'm loving the new hair colour too!

Recommended.
22 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
The third and last of the Rihanna albums I purchased, after A Girl Like Me and Good Girl Gone Bad. That means I skipped one album in between called Rated R, and her most recent effort Talk that Talk.

I think this album is better than A Girl Like Me, and probably only slightly weaker than the very strong Good Girl Gone Bad. Hit-laden again ... S&M, Whats My Name, Cheers (Drink to That), Only Girl (In the World), California King Bed, Man Down, Love the Way You Lie - 7 singles again, like Good Girl Gone Bad. Only Girl and Love the Way You Lie are out of this world awesome, better than anything Rihanna has sung before in my opinion. S&M is a bit of a shocker but great. Whats my name is hideously catchy. I dont care for Cheers or Man Down, but California King Bed is a strong ballad. The rest is less good, and it seems things have fizzled out a bit for Rihanna lately with only the fantastic We Found Love hitting the spot on Talk That Talk. I wonder what she will do next! May be time for a greatest hits ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
"Loud" is the work of the current masterminds of pop, producing at times really good and then mixed results. With your naughty "S&M", there's "Cheers" (and it's ugly Avril Lavigne sample) and with your "What's My Name" you have "Man Down", before left wondering what a "California King Bed" is...

Where "Loud" works, it does to pop perfection, but of course, no pop album is free of its guest spots - Drake, Nicki Minaj and Eminem all contribute.

Though "Rated R" has a more consistent sound, production and personal touch, "Loud" is a welcome return to the happy, more pop orientated sound that sent Rihanna into the stratosphere with her third album "Good Girl Gone Bad".

Features the #1s - "Only Girl (In the World)" and "What's My Name".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Very fast dispatch. Excellent easy self explanatory service. Love Amazon. Highly recommended. I have used Amazon for over 14 years, love this album, very good price. So pleased, thank you once again Amazon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
Rihanna Robyn Fenty, One of the last decades finest artists to come to form! she charmed us with accessible hits Pon De Replay, SOS and Unfaithful. Then she shocked the globe with the HUGE hits Umbrella, Don't Stop The Music, Shut Up And Drive, Disturbia, Take A Bow, Rehab and Hate That I Love You. Then after her violent relationship with Chris Brown hit the headlines Rihanna established all her raw emotions in the macabre and undeniably fantastic Rated R album, an album which would become one of the finest of (not only) 2009, but of the decade! with Russian ROulette, Rude Boy, Te Amo and Hard being huge hit songs from the album, she ensured that she was her own artist and no man or woman would stand in her way!

Now at 22 years of age, here we are with her fifth album in her career of over 60 million albums and singles sold worldwide! in 5 years and the successor to Rated R barely a year in age between them. Rihanna makes it certain that she is in a much better place, and her confidence certainly shines through here on LOUD. We are given a HUGE cultural blend with this album, as she brings her Caribbean and Island influences from her Barbadian upbringing through her list of songs. This vibe alone sets this album apart from the plethora of 'pop artists' that past year! it's never generic, it's raw and also a fantastical display of RIhanna as a visionary as well as an artist and a singer.

The direction of the album is symbolic of her journey as an iconic figure over the past few years, it's that natural progression forward and dare i say it...LOUD is her greatest album of her career because of it!

The album cover alone boasts greatness within it's simplicity, very reminiscent of Madonna's striking imagery on her album covers and her artistry as a legend, and that of Motown artists Marvin Gaye or Diana Ross, and even 90's Janet Jackson and Donna SUmmer in her glorifying heyday! it's these connotations of strength and artistry that's so appealing about the album art of the album, it's very much Madonna's fire of Erotica and Confessions On A Dance Floor meets the gold of MJ's Thriller and the funk of What's Going On by Marvin Gaye combined with the soul of Christina Aguilera's Stripped.

Now for the sound of the songs here, RIhanna has got the best of the best writing with her and producing the instrumentals on each song. Ester Dean returns amongst others penning some absolute gems of anthems on the disc, and Polow De Don, The RUnners, Tricky Stewart and Stargate return with their fantastical production techniques melding the genres together for absolutely spellbinding effects.

The flavours of Rated R were very dark, musky and damn present itself as a rather gothic overall album and was extremely effective for this! and it dared to take the risk of Riri losing some of her fans at that pace too. Here Loud presents much more brightened flavours, something very citrus and vibrant and warm. It makes you feel and presents not too dissimilar emotions in the style of Rated R's direction.

Only Girl (In The World) is standing out as a huge hit this year already becoming one of the fastest selling singles of the year here in the UK and topping the chart for three weeks of it's release! it's a powerful lead single which echoes back to 90's House Dance songs, it's retro and very old skool in vibe and with a simplistically arty video it very much justifies why it's a hit song.

absolute standout songs here have to be -

California King Bed- It strikes out much like Fire Bomb for Rated R, it's a heartfelt song that demands to be a huge release, very rock inspired instrumentals and also one of the most emotionally powerful displayed songs of the album and of her career thus far! 5/5

What's My Name?- hopefully will be as huge as Only Girl is right now, very much the Borderline by Madonna of this album! it's a beautiful melancholic song from the album, also reminiscent of Te Amo too with the soft tribal sonics. 5/5

Cheers (Drink To That) - One of the finest uptempo anthems in ages! and it may take some listeners several repeats to understand the production of this song and the use of Avril Lavigne's Yeah Yeah sample, but trust me it's well worth it! it's an exceptional call back to Marvin Gaye's style of recording by the use of tribal chants in the background and live vocals being used, also reminds me of Madonna's True Blue era (Where's The Party to be precise which is HUGE!) in the sense that it's a party song but also has such a deep meaning. Also Riri's accent is on such a fine display here. 5/5

S&M- the sexiest and most dirtiest song of the collection, not since Britney's Get Naked (I Got A Plan) from 2007's Blackout has a song dealing with such 'Sadomasochistic' themes been so thumpy and catchy and anthemic! and for a future release this song is very much the Disturbia of the recording...it hits the listener from the get go. 4/5

And finally,

Complicated- Definately the most schizophrenic song of the album, displaying itself as one of the most emotional ballads of her career yet also finds itself pulsating to a rhythmic House beat mid way through, not unlike Bjork's masterpiece Hyperballad from her Post album in 1995, it has that same power and 'journey' style effect that is so defining for the song. Also would make a fantastic release from the album. 5/5

Must also say that Fading, Man Down, Raining Men and Skin are very good songs in their own rights too.

Overall, i must say that there is not a single filler on LOUD from the get go, you are in for the ride from the dirty synth grooves of S&M to the heartfelt follow up Love The Way You Live Part 2 to that huge smash hit of the year duet with Eminem. LOUD is designed to be played loud and felt.

It will be understandable that Loud also won't appeal to people who haven't 'got' Rihanna's music, but at the same time it presents itself as the finest pieces of art Rihanna has created in her career thus far! and will please all of her fans and will win over the fans that embraced her in the Good Girl Gone Bad era!

10/10
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
I love this album simply because I can listen to it on shuffle and not want to throw my iPod across the room. I love nearly every single song on here and in my opinion this is one of my favourite albums of all time (so far).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Great Rihanna album positive vibes, pop sound and just fun tracks. One of my personal favourites from Rihanna.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Great tracks.
Good value, arrived next day and was very well packaged.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
I sincerely have bought this album for "S&M" and "Mand Down", but I must reckon it has other good songs in it ("what's my name", "Only girl (in the world)", "California king bed"). For my personal tastes much better than Rihanna's latest album...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.