Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophomore Soul
Mayer Hawthorne's 2009 release 'A Strange Arrangement' was a revelation.
His sophomore album continues his journey into sweet soul territory and it
is clear from his consummate grasp of the genre that he is both a fan as
much as he is a hugely talented composer. These twelve fine songs are a million
miles away from mere pastiche. Mr Hawthorne (nee...
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tailed Away
I first heard of this guy when Al Kooper recommended The Walk as one of his tracks of the year. He was right - it's stunning.
So I bought the album... and it doesn't really live up to the best song. It's fine but a bit samey.
I'll keep listening though - anyone who produces a song like The Walk deserves another listen. Catch the video if you can for it - violent...
Published on 20 Feb 2012 by John C. Symons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophomore Soul, 17 Oct 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
Mayer Hawthorne's 2009 release 'A Strange Arrangement' was a revelation.
His sophomore album continues his journey into sweet soul territory and it
is clear from his consummate grasp of the genre that he is both a fan as
much as he is a hugely talented composer. These twelve fine songs are a million
miles away from mere pastiche. Mr Hawthorne (nee Andrew Mayer Cohen) has
learned his lessons well at the feet of the masters and knows how to both
spin a good tune and get our fingers snapping and toes tapping in-time too.

He has a splendid voice and a pitch-perfect falsetto (heard to striking
effect on opening track 'I Get To Know You'). He's well up there with Daryl
Hall in his grasp of laid-back soulful exposition. Music for late night lovers!

Other than the just mentioned-cracker there are a feast of other delicious
performances on offer. Standout numbers include the crisp summer shuffle
of 'A Long Time' with its slick backing vocals; the string-infused clap-along
Californian bonhomie of 'Dreaming'; 'You Called Me', with its joyous Motown
horns and beats and the simply beautiful 'You're Not Ready', a song to melt the
hardest heart! Final track 'No Strings' is a model of bright and breezy economy.

'How Do You Do' knows just what to do and does it with style and panache.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saccharine Soul, 28 Jun 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
This is the second album from Mayer Hawthorne, the first being the excellent A Strange Arrangement. Nothing has changed with his stylings, he's still an exceptionally talented, occasionally falsetto, soul-singer.

How do you do is a lovers album simply, it's a little too sickly-sweet at some points to be listened to in general (commuting music this probably isn't) but his flair for producing relaxing neo-soul that is reminiscent in sound & feel to something out of the 80's. This is achieved by his frequent usage of keyboard and shallow-bass that gives it a 'cheesy' but authentic soul-sound.

Lyrics are intelligent and heartfelt, some of the songs (esp. Finally Falling) are brilliant and offer true perspective and it's difficult not to like someone who has bared so much of their soul (pun intended) on their record. The appearance of Snoop Dogg was a welcome surprise and adds more of a hip-hop styling to 'Can't Stop'. Some have argued that his neo-soul styling is merely a pastiche of previous works, but I feel that Mayer Hawthorne is adding something of his self to his nostalgic love of soul.

Recommended for an album to set the mood, dim the lights and open some wine to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 5 May 2013
By 
peter bence (melbourne, victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
What a wonderful album the best i have listened to for many years. Mayer Hawthorne can do it all his song writing is spot on and his voice is outstanding. Waiting for another album hopefully not too far away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tailed Away, 20 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
I first heard of this guy when Al Kooper recommended The Walk as one of his tracks of the year. He was right - it's stunning.
So I bought the album... and it doesn't really live up to the best song. It's fine but a bit samey.
I'll keep listening though - anyone who produces a song like The Walk deserves another listen. Catch the video if you can for it - violent and weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul sensation!, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Tj Payton "Tim P" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
Wonderful hooks, great melodies. Soul music for the present to rank alongside all the past greats. Smokey would have been proud to record this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mayer Hawthorne, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
Bought after hearing a song from his latest CD. I listened to the track clips and knew I would like his music. His music has lots of rhythm and melody, often with an almost familiar reference to something else. Clever and tantalising!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mayer Hawthorne, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
I only came by this cd by accident as a friend asked me if i had heard of the singer. This album is brilliant not one bad track on it, i cant understand why this singer isnt a massive artist in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit desapointed, 23 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Do You Do (Audio CD)
The first album gets in to your ear. This one is well played, more matura, but lacks the grip from the first one. Over all. Quite good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa98f1d2c)

This product

How Do You Do
How Do You Do by Mayer Hawthorne (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews