Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly original and wicked horror film
It's fair to say that The Woman is one of the most original horror films to have been released in years. This was my personal favourite amongst all the films that were showcased at this year's Film4-sponsored FrightFest and I can't recommend it enough, this is primarily down to Pollyanna McIntosh's standout performance in the title role. Although it is true to say that...
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by Arthur Cruse

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A horrible film, but not necessarily a bad one
I have to admit to nearly turning this off more than once. I practically picked up the remote every ten minutes or so. However, after sticking with it, I was actually happy that I did. It's no classic and wasn't what I was expecting, but it was different enough to warrant ninety minutes of my life.

I became aware of this film through watching horror films...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly original and wicked horror film, 5 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
It's fair to say that The Woman is one of the most original horror films to have been released in years. This was my personal favourite amongst all the films that were showcased at this year's Film4-sponsored FrightFest and I can't recommend it enough, this is primarily down to Pollyanna McIntosh's standout performance in the title role. Although it is true to say that the film explores dark subject matter, it does so in an admirable and entertaining way. There are plenty of genuine shocks and psychological twists along the way, with a chilling ending that is sure to haunt every viewer and make The Woman an unforgettable horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Define. Hard to Forget., 8 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Pollyanna McIntosh achieves something that doesn't happen all too often nowadays in this excellent and truly original horror flick. 'The Woman' doesn't speak, but boy does she scare! The performance from McIntosh is sublime and genuinely chilling.

Huge compliments must also go to Lucky McKee for creating this visual feast and for his brilliant creation of the main male character, played by Sean Bridgers. Few 'modern' characters have such complexity and the way the audience is made to feel 'not quite sure' about him from the very start works perfectly.

'The Woman' is a film of two halves. In Part One it looks and feels like a standard horror film, which on occasions you think will decend into a farce. In Part Two it explodes into brutal life in no uncertain terms. As the plot unravels, the tension, gore and fear of Bridgers' character goes through the roof. At the same time, 'The Woman' herself begins to take on subtle 'civilised' qualities. Who is the monster after all?

Other reviews go into more detail, so I'll just say that 'The Woman' is compulsive viewing and an original 'must see' horror film. Beyond that there are some interesting questions posed to the audience and an ending that you just don't see coming.

Better than your average horror flick; 'The Woman' is a tension-filled treat that I'd recommend to anyone. Brutal in parts, down right odd in others it will keep you guessing to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A horrible film, but not necessarily a bad one, 5 April 2012
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit to nearly turning this off more than once. I practically picked up the remote every ten minutes or so. However, after sticking with it, I was actually happy that I did. It's no classic and wasn't what I was expecting, but it was different enough to warrant ninety minutes of my life.

I became aware of this film through watching horror films and seeing that people who had watched the films I'd watched had also watched this. Therefore I thought it would be a horror about a feral woman running wild, creating havoc (and probably bodies). However, the feral woman in question gets captured about ten minutes into the film by a well-to-do middle class American family.

From then on, it becomes more of a Hostel-like `torture porn' film. We discover that this supposedly nice family is little better than the feral woman they've captured.

I won't go into too much detail about what transpires as there are a few moments you might not see coming. However, my biggest gripe with the film was lack of any character I felt like I should be rooting for. At the end of the day, if you watch this you'll see people get killed. Will you care? Probably not.

If you're a fan of horror and aren't expecting too much, you may see enough originality in this to go along for the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the year!, 21 Sep 2011
By 
M. Hewitt "Mike H" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Woman had it's UK premiere at this year's Film4 FrightFest and quite rightly came away as one of the best, if not the best, film of the whole festival. An amazing return to form for the director Lucky McKee (who first came to the world's attention with the film May), The Woman is an outstanding story of a American middle-class father who stumbles upon a feral woman in the woods whilst out hunting. He then decides to capture her and hold her captive in his cellar in an effort to 'civilize' her - a decision that affects both him, his family and The Woman herself. Amazing performances all round (especially by the Scottish actress Pollyanna McIntosh as The Woman), great direction and a brilliant soundtrack - all building to a simply jaw-dropping climax - make this one of the year's MUST-SEE films. Do not miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling,powerful stuff., 27 April 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Pollyanna Mcintosh,despite minimal dialogue,gives this horror/thriller something special that lifts it above the ordinary run of the mill releases.
In addition the other actors give excellent,believable performances to drive this film to something above average.
As the story unfolds the plot took unexpected turns and kept the tension to optimium levels throughout.
Without doubt highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOYS WILL BE BOYS, 6 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with Pollyanna McIntosh as a feral woman. She has an injury to her side and hunts and kills a wolf. Her legs look pretty darn good for a person who has lived outdoors their entire life, not one scrape,scar, or even hair on the legs...and her armpits are shaved!

Sean Bridgers plays Chris Cleek, an unlikeable man of wealth. He has a mousey wife (Angela Bettis), a teen daughter, a son who has trouble with his free throws and a young daughter who likes to kiss boys to the horror of her mother. Sean Bridgers orders his family around who pretty much obey him, like zombies, without question.

He captures the wild woman, and rather than turn her over to the authorities, he chains her up in their basement/shed. He is very open about it and shows her to his family who are completely dumbfounded. Chris Cleek rules the roost and doesn't like to be questioned. He reminds me of a creepy Will Ferrell. Their task is to civilize the woman, a woman who wants no master.

The two older children Peg and Brian are portrayed as abnormally reclusive self imposed social outcasts, signs of an abnormal home life. We know this is true because of the lame indie music soundtrack that plays when they are on screen by themselves. Having a scantily clad female chained up around a teen boy brings about some natural curiosity tendencies.

The wife and older daughter feel like a prisoner, like the feral woman who symbolizes their imprisonment. Sean Bridges symbolizes the "system" which imprisons women. There are scenes showing violence to women that were hard to watch, even though we don't see the actual strikes, we see the arm movement and hear the blows.
The movie starts semi-normal, goes to odd, then downright weird as Sean Bridges fights to be the master of his world filled with rebellious women. Sean's son sides with him to give us the full symbolism of the battle of the sexes with men being aggressive controlling rapists and women the victim.

Many of the actors in this film are new to the industry. In spite of that, they did a solid job.

F-bomb, Full frontal nudity (Pollyanna McIntosh), rape, torture, blood, gore. While I give this movie 4 stars, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent

This film Is worth the money a very much feel good revenge film!

Really enjoyed this a lot!

Thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing movie - been a while since a film has left me lost for words!

If you like Hills Have Eyes, Devils Rejects etc, you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOWMAN!, 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Polyanna Mcintosh gives an amazing performance in this guttural horror.If you're a horror fan then this is definitely one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Disturbing, 21 Sep 2012
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film with lots of moral questions.
The film involves a nasty piece of work who goes out one day on a shoot and instead of bagging some deer bags a woman savage,
The film then shows us how the family react to having this female savage in the basement and asks us who are the real savages the humans who have her tied up or the one tied up.
There are some real disturbing scenes that make this film not so much as a horror film but a disturbing film that is so amazing and challenging to watch and the more and more you watch the more you question the film and the amazing actors and actresses from the young 3 year old to the horrid teenage boy and his sympathetic sister who shows the only adult compassion throughout to the abused wife and finally the psychotic creepy lead of the father.

Just incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woman [DVD]
The Woman [DVD] by Lucky McKee (DVD - 2011)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews