Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly original and wicked horror film
It's fair to say that The Woman is one of the most original horror films to have been released in years. This was my personal favourite amongst all the films that were showcased at this year's Film4-sponsored FrightFest and I can't recommend it enough, this is primarily down to Pollyanna McIntosh's standout performance in the title role. Although it is true to say that...
Published on 5 Sept. 2011 by Arthur Cruse

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A horrible film, but not necessarily a bad one
I have to admit to nearly turning this off more than once. I practically picked up the remote every ten minutes or so. However, after sticking with it, I was actually happy that I did. It's no classic and wasn't what I was expecting, but it was different enough to warrant ninety minutes of my life.

I became aware of this film through watching horror films...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly original and wicked horror film, 5 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
It's fair to say that The Woman is one of the most original horror films to have been released in years. This was my personal favourite amongst all the films that were showcased at this year's Film4-sponsored FrightFest and I can't recommend it enough, this is primarily down to Pollyanna McIntosh's standout performance in the title role. Although it is true to say that the film explores dark subject matter, it does so in an admirable and entertaining way. There are plenty of genuine shocks and psychological twists along the way, with a chilling ending that is sure to haunt every viewer and make The Woman an unforgettable horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Define. Hard to Forget., 8 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Pollyanna McIntosh achieves something that doesn't happen all too often nowadays in this excellent and truly original horror flick. 'The Woman' doesn't speak, but boy does she scare! The performance from McIntosh is sublime and genuinely chilling.

Huge compliments must also go to Lucky McKee for creating this visual feast and for his brilliant creation of the main male character, played by Sean Bridgers. Few 'modern' characters have such complexity and the way the audience is made to feel 'not quite sure' about him from the very start works perfectly.

'The Woman' is a film of two halves. In Part One it looks and feels like a standard horror film, which on occasions you think will decend into a farce. In Part Two it explodes into brutal life in no uncertain terms. As the plot unravels, the tension, gore and fear of Bridgers' character goes through the roof. At the same time, 'The Woman' herself begins to take on subtle 'civilised' qualities. Who is the monster after all?

Other reviews go into more detail, so I'll just say that 'The Woman' is compulsive viewing and an original 'must see' horror film. Beyond that there are some interesting questions posed to the audience and an ending that you just don't see coming.

Better than your average horror flick; 'The Woman' is a tension-filled treat that I'd recommend to anyone. Brutal in parts, down right odd in others it will keep you guessing to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOYS WILL BE BOYS, 6 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with Pollyanna McIntosh as a feral woman. She has an injury to her side and hunts and kills a wolf. Her legs look pretty darn good for a person who has lived outdoors their entire life, not one scrape,scar, or even hair on the legs...and her armpits are shaved!

Sean Bridgers plays Chris Cleek, an unlikeable man of wealth. He has a mousey wife (Angela Bettis), a teen daughter, a son who has trouble with his free throws and a young daughter who likes to kiss boys to the horror of her mother. Sean Bridgers orders his family around who pretty much obey him, like zombies, without question.

He captures the wild woman, and rather than turn her over to the authorities, he chains her up in their basement/shed. He is very open about it and shows her to his family who are completely dumbfounded. Chris Cleek rules the roost and doesn't like to be questioned. He reminds me of a creepy Will Ferrell. Their task is to civilize the woman, a woman who wants no master.

The two older children Peg and Brian are portrayed as abnormally reclusive self imposed social outcasts, signs of an abnormal home life. We know this is true because of the lame indie music soundtrack that plays when they are on screen by themselves. Having a scantily clad female chained up around a teen boy brings about some natural curiosity tendencies.

The wife and older daughter feel like a prisoner, like the feral woman who symbolizes their imprisonment. Sean Bridges symbolizes the "system" which imprisons women. There are scenes showing violence to women that were hard to watch, even though we don't see the actual strikes, we see the arm movement and hear the blows.
The movie starts semi-normal, goes to odd, then downright weird as Sean Bridges fights to be the master of his world filled with rebellious women. Sean's son sides with him to give us the full symbolism of the battle of the sexes with men being aggressive controlling rapists and women the victim.

Many of the actors in this film are new to the industry. In spite of that, they did a solid job.

F-bomb, Full frontal nudity (Pollyanna McIntosh), rape, torture, blood, gore. While I give this movie 4 stars, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the year!, 21 Sept. 2011
By 
M. Hewitt "Mike H" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Woman had it's UK premiere at this year's Film4 FrightFest and quite rightly came away as one of the best, if not the best, film of the whole festival. An amazing return to form for the director Lucky McKee (who first came to the world's attention with the film May), The Woman is an outstanding story of a American middle-class father who stumbles upon a feral woman in the woods whilst out hunting. He then decides to capture her and hold her captive in his cellar in an effort to 'civilize' her - a decision that affects both him, his family and The Woman herself. Amazing performances all round (especially by the Scottish actress Pollyanna McIntosh as The Woman), great direction and a brilliant soundtrack - all building to a simply jaw-dropping climax - make this one of the year's MUST-SEE films. Do not miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling,powerful stuff., 27 April 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Pollyanna Mcintosh,despite minimal dialogue,gives this horror/thriller something special that lifts it above the ordinary run of the mill releases.
In addition the other actors give excellent,believable performances to drive this film to something above average.
As the story unfolds the plot took unexpected turns and kept the tension to optimium levels throughout.
Without doubt highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and thought-provoking gorefest, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took a chance with The Woman, which I bought on the recommendation in The Fortean Times. Certainly haven't been disappointed. This is a very stylish gorefest, from the stunning opening scene of a new-born baby being licked by a wolf to the satisfyingly gruesome climax, which will leave you pondering what happens next. Along with the violence and gore, there are plenty of elements of black humour and irony too, which I regard as an essential component of any decent horror movie. The brutality is often sudden and shocking, particularly when delivered by a youngster and, in its mysogynistic capacity, could possibly be compared to recent eurotrashy torture-porn such as Frontieres and Martyrs. I felt though that The Woman is a far more well-rounded and entertaining movie than either of those efforts.

The standard of acting is very good - most notably from Scottish actress Pollyanna McIntosh in the title role, who switches from pitiable martyred victim to feral savage predator with consummate ease, and the children, played to perfection by Lauren Carter and Zach Rand. Sean Bridgers, as the bullying control-freak dad, could be accused of hamming things up a bit but, in the context of the story, this is understandable.

I reckon most clued-up horror fans will guess pretty well what's going to happen, but there is a twist (and pretty darn twisted it is!) along the way and the film's denouement is highly satisfying.

Blu-ray presentation is excellent, with some incongruously beautiful scenery that contrasts effectively with the claustrophobic excesses of the Woman's confinement and there's a great rocking soundtrack and effective 5.1 sound too. Plenty of extras, including a very comprehensive and illuminating making-of, complete this enjoyable horror-romp.

Obviously not oscar material (are horror films ever?), but The Woman is more intelligent than most movies in this genre and deserves a place in every gorehound's collection.

PS. watch right to the end of the credits and there's a strange little short semi-animated sequence featuring the youngest daughter. I've got an idea about the relevance of this but would be interested in other viewers' opinions as to what to make of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Disturbing, 21 Sept. 2012
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film with lots of moral questions.
The film involves a nasty piece of work who goes out one day on a shoot and instead of bagging some deer bags a woman savage,
The film then shows us how the family react to having this female savage in the basement and asks us who are the real savages the humans who have her tied up or the one tied up.
There are some real disturbing scenes that make this film not so much as a horror film but a disturbing film that is so amazing and challenging to watch and the more and more you watch the more you question the film and the amazing actors and actresses from the young 3 year old to the horrid teenage boy and his sympathetic sister who shows the only adult compassion throughout to the abused wife and finally the psychotic creepy lead of the father.

Just incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent

This film Is worth the money a very much feel good revenge film!

Really enjoyed this a lot!

Thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DISTURBING BUT IMPRESSIVE, 9 Jan. 2013
Unusual,one word that comes to my mind after watching this. I'd say it's a film about power control and how it twists minds.
A man (if you can call him that) spots a wild woman,whilst out hunting,kidnaps her and holds her in the basement as his docile family basicly jump when he says. The wife is annoyingly weak in that she won't stand up to a husband that is about as nasty as you can get and just allows him to use this wild woman for whatever means he wants. He claims he's trying to teach her how to behave,it's soon clear he just loves the control. This film does feature rape and torture which is disturbing to watch,but i wouldn't say it has no place in the movie,as it's all about control. I don't think this movie is saying all males are evil,but the main two in this film are soon revealed to be so,more so the dad,but the son becomes a chip off the old block. As the film goes on and we get to learn the teenage daughter has a secret she wants to keep from her evil father,we start feeling for her and her little sister as they seem pleasant enough,so does the mum,but as i say,she won't help herself or the woman chained up and no,i'm not laying into abused women,i'm stating this woman in particular really needs to start seeing reality. The final half hour of the film really gets things moving and has a very brutal and bloody climax,making it well worth sticking with,i also appreciated the revelation near the end. So with acting that's certainly not awful and story that does have a point,i'd say it's well worth getting,just be prepared for a disturbing viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A TRULY GRIM TALE', 27 Nov. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Must admit when first reading the write-up, the film 'NELL' ( Jodie Foster ) came to mind, a similar objective undertaken by a local guy, lawyer, 'Chris Cleek' (Sean Bridgers)
He becomes totally obsessed with his project, his efforts to tame the woman (Pollyanna McIntosh) who he'd taken from the only environment she'd ever known.
However this is a far darker story as the task to tame this creature becomes too much, causing all sorts of problems within the home.....not to mention the twist to the tale at the end of the film.
worth a watch.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woman [DVD]
The Woman [DVD] by Lucky McKee (DVD - 2011)
£8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews