Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over and out...
In a previous life I once had a job in a tech call centre and used to sit all day wearing a one-sided headset, so I can appreciate how uncomfortable these things can get after a while. Thankfully Sennheiser seem to appreciate that too and have made the PC7 headset very lightweight and comfy. It's almost too lightweight since it doesn't take much of a tug on the cable to...
Published on 29 April 2012 by techpuppy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution - will do the job, but expect nothing great.
Truthfully, this headset will not last long. At 2x the cost of my old one (which was almost unbreakable) it has been a bad investment. The headband adjuster is not up to the job of fitting my head, and is made of thin cheap plastic with no real elastic limit. The microphone is very average and the speaker itself is not delivering quality audio (my rubbish phone speaker is...
Published 1 month ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over and out..., 29 April 2012
By 
techpuppy "aka stylepuppy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In a previous life I once had a job in a tech call centre and used to sit all day wearing a one-sided headset, so I can appreciate how uncomfortable these things can get after a while. Thankfully Sennheiser seem to appreciate that too and have made the PC7 headset very lightweight and comfy. It's almost too lightweight since it doesn't take much of a tug on the cable to dislodge it and, because the cable is only long enough to reach behind your desktop computer while you're sitting right in front of it, you have to quickly learn to accommodate the cable and its limits. The USB plug is slightly longer than normal, because it contains the digital~analogue convertor needed for USB audio, and I noticed it picked up occasional interference from my mobile phone if they were placed too close together, so you might have to make allowances for that too.

You'd expect a Sennheiser headset to have decent sound quality and it does, there's quite a full bass sound but treble is muted, although this might be to soften voices and make listening to lots of long phone-calls more bearable. The microphone isn't half bad either and, although not up to true hi-fi standards, it would be good enough to do a quick voiceover on your home videos or an amateur podcast. The inbuilt noise-cancelling will silence background noise while you're not talking and tries, not entirely successfully, to reduce it while you are. Note that the mic only moves up and down and you can't adjust it away from or closer to the face or alter the length of the stalk - although to be fair I never felt like I needed to.

The headset doesn't need any drivers to be installed, both Windows PC's and Mac's will automatically recognise it as an audio device when you plug it in, but you might need to check it's set as the default audio input and/or output device in your system settings to get things working properly. All together the Sennheiser PC7 is a well-made, good quality and comfortable headset for its intended purpose - making VOIP calls and using voice recognition or language software. It wouldn't be the best for gamers, who generally need to hear both sides of the stereo mix, but for all standard monaural audio tasks it's a really good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 May 2014
By 
C. J. Bennell (Telford, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Quality of this product is very good and delivery service was excellent, as I had this sent as a gift to my friend in Russia and they were very happy with it. Worked straight out of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate quality at an affordable price, 18 May 2013
By 
Dave M (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
I wear a headset for much of the working day as, working from home, I have an IP softphone on my work laptop.

My previous headset, by comparison, was far less comfortable and the sound quality, both receiving and for the microphone, was nowhere as good as these.

Lightweight, good quality, good sound quality, good price from a premium brand, you couldn't ask for more.

Recommended.

BTW - they also come as "Skype certified" and I can confirm that they are indeed good for Skype use :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Budget telephony from a reputable brand, 4 May 2012
By 
Clever Spud (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is as basic as you can get - a mono headset with no physical volume or mic controls, so be sure to have the volume icon handy in the task bar and be careful when first used because this can get surprisingly loud.

The noise cancelling refers to the microphone, obviously, as by design one ear is left open so you can still hear what's going on around you - handy when collaborating over a call in the office. This feature seems to work fine, and if you record the output from the mike it plays back more than satisfactorily, and I certainly had no complaints from anyone I spoke to on Skype.

Sennheiser has become something of my go-to make for reliable, well-made head-sets and this is another fine example, but very much made to a price. The cable really could benefit from being another couple of feet longer - particularly noticeable when you're bending down from a seated position to fetch files from drawers etc., though obviously this will depend on where your PC is located. For instance, if you keep the main base unit tucked away against the wall, under your desk, you may need to buy a USB extension lead for it to reach.

Overall I'm satisfied with the sound and voice quality, but you do get what you pay for. Sennheiser as a brand is first rate in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Caution - will do the job, but expect nothing great., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Truthfully, this headset will not last long. At 2x the cost of my old one (which was almost unbreakable) it has been a bad investment. The headband adjuster is not up to the job of fitting my head, and is made of thin cheap plastic with no real elastic limit. The microphone is very average and the speaker itself is not delivering quality audio (my rubbish phone speaker is better). The positive reviews and description of this are, in my opinion, misleading.

It does have the following good points -

It is extremely lightweight (and fragile - oops another bad point.)
The pad on the non audio side is surprisingly good at keeping the headet in place, and does not pull at your hair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for chatting whilst gaming., 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Great little half headset. I use mine mostly for Air Traffic Control in FSX but it works just as well as a skype headset etc.

Volume is great and both the mic and headset produce very clear audio. Would have been nice to have a mic mute button somewhere on the headset or even the usual sennheiser thing of auto muting the mic when it is in the up position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great in the Office, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Brilliant purchase for my mac - crystal clear and cuts out other noises etc. The only issue for me is that the speaker is on the left, I prefer the right but heh I'm a perfectionist....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good sound quality - ok quality, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
This is a great headset. It's lightweight and comfortable and it's good for me because my left ear is stronger for listening to audio.
It's not exactly high quality but at the same time it's not cheap tacky plastic.
I would recommend this headset but if you want a 2 - ear headset then my old cheap Microsoft life chat would be better for a few quid less.

Overall good but as stated, it lacks basic features such as a mute button or volume adjuster.

Happy buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear as a bell!, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Really good headset, only down side is the small diameter connector, however with an adapter its works okay, I should have checked the spec better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ***A GREAT and Reasonably Priced Headset!***, 9 Jan 2013
By 
C. Adam (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset (Electronics)
Personally I thought that is was very comfortable and had good quality of sound (both me hearing and the person on the receiving end using Lync). The only negative is that there is no volume control and you can't swap which ear that it rests on - so not too sure this is the best choice for those needing to use it for long periods of time. For what you're paying for its great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sennheiser PC 7 USB Headset
29.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews