Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative uncertainty
Furst is a wonderful novelist within the espionage genre, different in approach to any others I have come across. You could say the plot is labyrinthine except that it could be argued the book is virtually plotless, written from the point of view of the protagonists who, of course, don't know much about what's going on. It's not the case of the writer developing an...
Published on 4 Jan 2010 by Martin White

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not the great spy novel it was heralded as...
I bought Night Soldiers by Alan Furst because I was looing for a good spy novel and this was up there in various charts and top tens of the best spy novels of all time, along with Graham Greene, Ian Fleming, Len Deighton and John le Carré. I have to say that I was hugely disappointed. On the plus side, it does have some interesting observations about Soviet spy...
Published 15 months ago by R. M. Goddard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
Good book -

but the author should have checked the Spanish bits: loads of spelling and grammar issues there. Still, well worth the reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Over complicated and with a too ornate style, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
I found it difficult to finish. Over-complicated plot and an ornate and overblown writing style. The plot put a strain on one's patience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars immediately purchased the next book, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
Kept me engaged and guessing all the way to the last page and beyond immediately purchased the next book which speaks volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great writer , not typical of his work, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
This book by Furst is notable for its plot which is extremely interesting as it moves through time and place. It has a different feel to his usual offerings even if you know that the leading character is going to survive ,( sorry if that spoils anything , but in Furst's books they always do ) and that he is thin and dark and women like him...they always do.
Furst is a really good writer and if you have a taste for the cloak and dagger of wartime espionage , then you will love this. The research would seem to be of the highest order and if this is your first book by this writer then you have a real treat to come because there are many more of similar quality to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really gripping spy drama, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
I found this book really gripping without being so intricate that you have to go back and re-read to see what you missed. Kep reading through the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Night-time brilliance, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
Night Soldiers is a brilliant book, atmospheric, threatening, dark, intelligent; but ultimately life-affirming.
Alan Furst writes very well and treats his audience as intelligent people, without spoon-feeding them all the answers.
Reading this has made me want to read the others in the 'series', and I have already started the second book.
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gripping and atmospheric, 25 May 2012
By 
D. Saltiel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Paperback)
I've just recently discovered Alan Furst and I'm reading his novels avidly. My criticism is that they can be a bit episodic, without a strong overall narrative strand to link the episodes together. That's particularly the case here - though it is his first novel I think and he got better at structuring his novels more tightly later on. So "Night Soldiers" does go on a bit too long and it does slightly strain credulity that Khristo would have had quite so many adventures in quite so many countries. But Furst creates atmosphere so well and writes so beautifully that he is just a joy to read, faults and all. To open one of his books is to be instantly transported to murky Paris backstreets or rainy alleys in Prague with a Gestapo or NKVD agent lurking in the shadows. The books seem thoroughly researched but he's good at avoiding just dropping gobs of research on the page. Again I think he gets better at this as his novel writing develops - in Night Soldiers he does go on a bit about Sten gun technology and the like. I would regard myself as reasonably knowledgeable about the era though no expert and maybe that's a good thing - if you've got so up yourself that you can't read on because Furst has got some obscure detail about the Spanish Civil War or the whereabouts of the Bulgarian-Romanian border wrong then that's a pity - it's a work of fiction people !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars craftmanship, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Paperback)
Beautifully crafted with an epic scope. The many strands of the story pull together seamlessly. I was completely absorbed from begining to end. The portayal of wartime Paris was beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and thought provoking., 28 July 2010
By 
D. Land "David from EH4" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Paperback)
I have come to Alan Furst quite late - via a Twitter recommendation from Sir Christopher Meyer, formerly UK ambassador to the United States. The interplay between the principal characters, along with the various secret agencies of the Soviet Union, France the US and UK is skilfully done. You want to turn the page once you have done that you feel you have learnt something of real value about the Pre WW2 era. He deserves a bigger audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
gripping and interesting; quite serious. learned a lot of history which seemed convincing. Only the ending seemed far fetched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Soldiers
Night Soldiers by Alan Furst
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews