Customer Reviews


463 Reviews
5 star:
 (258)
4 star:
 (134)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with these phones and easy to setup and use.
I had my phones arrive yesterday, I found the packaging just enough to keep the products safe in transit but not wasteful and equally the instructions were very compact and straight forward (nice to have just the instructions you need and not a massive wad of paper in 50 languages).

Out of the box the contents are very simple 3 power adaptors, 3 phones and 3...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Ferris

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than 30 m range
Set up and operation seem OK, but the distance is suspect.
This phone was rated as "up to 300m with line of sight" and "up to 50m in a building"
The phone would not work at 30m range through a building.
I phoned the 0800 number and was told to take out the batteries and wait half an hour - having waited for the phone to be answered in the first place. This...
Published 24 months ago by PAUL Sandford


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with these phones and easy to setup and use., 16 May 2012
By 
Ferris "Ferris" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had my phones arrive yesterday, I found the packaging just enough to keep the products safe in transit but not wasteful and equally the instructions were very compact and straight forward (nice to have just the instructions you need and not a massive wad of paper in 50 languages).

Out of the box the contents are very simple 3 power adaptors, 3 phones and 3 phone docks one with a build in answering machine. All of the parts seemed well made, the phones were quite weighty and the buttons felt like they were good quality.

Each phone was docked and plugged as suggested by the instructions (they did come with a small charge). An hour later I spent time programming the first phone, the menus are very simple / somewhat basic. I set the ring tones, named each phone 'living room', 'kitchen'..... I then programmed in a load of phone numbers. The best bit in my opinion was then the ease of transferring the phone book to the other two handsets, simply select 'copy all' from the menus, select a handset to copy to and then accept the transfer on that other handset (the transfer took about 1 minute). You do need to set up the ring tones / volumes on each individual phone, these can't be copied over.

Another one of my favourite features was the internal intercom function (assigning it a Simpsons ring tone) it is perfect for calling the kids down for dinner on the top floor of a town house, or calling the missus from bed to tell her to turn the TV down.

In use through the intercom, external calls and on speaker phone, the voice and line is very clear.

An excellent product on many levels for a very good price, thanks BT, thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes time to set up and personalise but simple to use after that..., 29 Feb 2012
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
HANDSETS: FUNCTION AND FEEL
With clear display screen and menus, and nice large keys, the handsets are still relatively small and lightweight. The handset display itself is fine with back-illumination which makes use in the dark easy. Minor niggle on the main handset is the angle it sits in the 'cradle' (which houses the answerphone) which makes it difficult to dock, especially as the handsets are so light. No such problems with handsets 2 and 3 as their 'cradles' are simply the re-charge units so they drop in almost vertically.

HANDSETS: GENERAL USE
Each handset works independently to a certain extent, which means they keep a list of numbers dialled from that particular handset, and each can be programmed with its own list of numbers... which sounds great until you need to remember what was done with what handset! As other reviewers have pointed out, there is a way to synchronise all handsets but I haven't studied that part of the manual yet! You can also select different ring tones and volumes for each handset and change the standard names from handset 1, 2, 3 to something more meaningful. In general use the handsets work well. You just pick them up to receive a call and for outgoing calls you just dial the number and press the green button (or pick a name from the phone book) and press the red button to end the call. The audio quality is fine and can be adjusted, and the range is very good. We have an average sized detached house with a small garden front and back and I've never had a problem with range anywhere inside or out yet.

PHONE BOOK / STORING NUMBERS
Phone book entries are painful and a bit messy to set up initally, as with all similar landline handsets, each number is a separate entry and you do need some imagination when choosing a name for each to ensure it displays correctly within the limited space! It's a bit like how it used to be setting up your mobile phone in their early days. You can enter a lot more characters than actually display so be careful! This is the one area that needed to be designed a lot better but to be fair it's often like that with these types of handsets.

ANSWERPHONE
The answerphone is easy to use from the handsets or from the main base unit. There is a good amount of capacity and I found it fairly easy to set up without needing the full user guide, and was able to set up a message quite quickly. Accessing your messages remotely is also possible but I haven't tried. Messages are clear and the all the standard stuff is there to make listening, replaying, skipping, deleting all fairly easy.

SUMMARY
So in summary a great phone in terms of quality and function but does need a lot of patience initially to get the phone book programmed, and you'll need time to make sure all other features work as required such as answer machine, ring tone, volume, etc, but worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent product, 20 May 2012
By 
T. D. Dawson "tdawson735" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought these units to replace a fairly old Diverse 4016 cordless two-phone installation after a home check by the Cumbria Fire Services when they advised I should have a phone in my bedroom. A very sensible and logical suggestion.

The manual that came with the phone - as other reviewers have commented - is pretty basic. It'll enable you to get the phones working but, at that stage, it's almost essential (no, it's absolutely essential) that you download the pdf file from the BT support site. It's a 60 page document - fully searchable - which, in very simple language, takes you through all aspects of the set-up routine and the phone's facilities. It's quite easy to follow and you can easily ignore the bits you don't presently need.

Setting up the phone book is, inevitably, quite a chore but you only have to do it on the base unit: you can then transfer the contents directly to the other handsets (which you can also name - kitchen, bedroom, lounge, et cetera).

The hands-free option on the base unit is brilliant; simply hold down the 'answer' button for a couple of seconds and you can just talk away, ignoring the handset.

Speech quality is very good and volume levels (including ring tone levels) can easily be adjusted. A range of ring tones are provided along with variable delays before the extension units ring. And the answering machine does exactly what is says...!

Unfortunately I do have a couple of minor criticisms - neither of which are enough to reduce my five star rating.

1. The handset base unit on the Diverse 4016 had a couple of slots so that you could easily wall-mount it - ideal for the kitchen. Unfortunately the Inspire 1500 units don't have that option and, since they're lightweight and slightly top heavy, you might need to add a couple of sticky pads...

2. The slot in the handset base units is clearly intended to anchor the power lead. Unfortunately it doesn't and, unless you use a bit of something sticky (Blu Tack?) the lead will flop around and further exacerbate the steadiness (see 1 above) of the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT PHONE SET, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the best land line telephone I've ever owned. I've been using it for a couple of months now. It's very easy to use. The speaker phone facility is excellent and very clear and it can be turned up to quite a loud volume too; this is what gives it the edge over the other phones I've had (Philips and Panasonic so they were good phones). I can use this phone for conference meetings. It's the best looking phone I've ever owned too. Very sleek. The look is important to me as the phone has to sit next to the TV in the living room because I've just switched from BT to a tv and broad band telephone service. I think the new phone line is much clearer than the old one in any case and this phone set delivers all the benefits in full. Speech is crystal clear and my callers have commented on how clearer my calls are too. Technology and design have moved on and the easy operation of the phone takes something from mobile phone design. I'm only using one extra handset and this is fine too. All in all an excellent telephone set and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!, 7 Mar 2012
I can't speak highly enough of these phones!easy to set up,the handsets look good with date and time displayed and a timer function. The answer phone is neat and easy to use,different ring tones can be allocated for when family,friends ect are calling and we can now see who is calling as the name is displayed on handsets which is the reason we bought these phones as we've recently been the victim of a scam from America now when they persist in phoning we can chose not to answer. (although very tempted to shout abuse at them!) Answer phone messages can be listen to when away from home and the handsets work down the end of our garden which is approx 120ft and we like the intercom feature between phones so I really recommend this item !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy!, 28 Oct 2011
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Compared to the previous cordless phone I had, this new set is very good indeed. Both sets are From BT, but the design in this latest one is much more sleek and also the arrangement and size of keys around the handsets is much more ergonomic and the numbers are clearly visible even for people who's eyesight might be letting them down with age.

When holding the handset, the weight is good (not too light not too heavy) and the casing feels like its well made and sturdy.

The set up is very simple. As easy as 1, 2, 3 .. Literally. I plugged the home base and placed one of handsets on it, and it immediately & automatically coded it "handset 1". Plugging the 2nd base (satellite) unit, and then placing another handset on it, automatically set that as handset 2, and so on with the third (handset 3) when doing the same with the other satellite base. You need to make sure that all them are allowed 24 hours to charge as instructed in the easy to follow booklet (included).

After the full charge, I just connected the base unit to the telephone socket (you need to make sure you have power point socket or extension within a metre and a half of the base unit otherwise the wires won't reach), listened for dialling tone which was fine, and this also meant that the satellite handsets were also operational.

The various programming and ringtone and answer machine options are easy to follow from the instruction booklet.

The sound quality both from external calls, and when using the handsets as internal "walkie talkie", is crystal clear.

A useful option each handset has is to replicate phone book content from one to another. Or you can program each individually, which is useful in a household or office where each handset is allocated to an individual with their own preferences. But if you are using them all for convenience of leaving handsets located at useful points around the home, even if they are cordless, then it's very efficient to be able to just put names and numbers in the phone book once and then copy from that to the other two in a few seconds.

Overall, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy When You Know, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have had the quad set for a week and it is perfect: easy to set up and use [with one reservation...] and looks good. The supplied User Guide [acts as quick set up too] is excellent for getting you started. Online and more detailed version is also easily available.

However, though the phone is rightly advertised as making it easy to transfer inputted names and numbers from main phone to all handsets, this ISN'T explained in the User Guide, nor could I find it in the detailed instructions. So here you go if you are or have struggled like me [though perhaps for some of you this is obvious]:

Having put names and numbers into main phone [handset one] press 'Names' then 'Options' then 'Copy All' BUT HERE'S THE CRUCIAL BIT, have the handset you are transferring to with you as that handset will ask you to accept the transfer by pressing 'yes'.

I had tried this process from the living room where the main phone is, just assuming it would automatically transfer to all the handsets at once. But you have to transfer to each separate handset, and each time confirm the transfer by pressing 'yes'. Easy when you know...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool phones!, 17 May 2012
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These are cool phones - they look pretty space age, and they do the job. I have plugged two handsets in; it's very easy and they work pretty much straight away (after a lengthy charge). The answer phone works well, and again is really easy to use.

Generally, I don't have any complains - they have a good charge life, even without putting them down every time (although you obviously have to charge them every few days at least).

The extra thing to say is that you need to have caller ID from your phone company for that to work here. That may be obvious, but I think it's worth saying in case people don't know that.

Nice phones, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Useful Phone Package, 26 Oct 2011
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had been needing some extra phones for my homes for some time now, so I decided to give this package a try. There are three handsets available in this package.

First impressions were favourable. Three neat looking handsets with clear interface, and slightly larger than normal keypad making it easier to read the numbers. They were also easy to handle once lifted off the base, fitting comfortably in the palm of my hand. Moreover, since they were free standing, there were no telephone lines restricting movement. It should be noted that all phones need to be fully charged for at least 24 hours before plugging the main phone line into the telephone connection socket on the wall, otherwise they may not work.

Once the phones are fully charged, the setting up was quite straightforward. The instruction leaflet was very clear and precise. It was no 40 page booklet which would drive any would be user nuts attempting to analyse it; thank goodness!! Just a simple folded leaflet which was more than adequate.

As for calls, just type in the numbers, or if you prefer, you can create a name/number list in the directory which can be found on the menu page clearly highlighted on the interface. You can create a directory of up to 100 entries if you wish. Useful if you are running a small business.

There are also some useful features on the phone as well. For those with hearing problems there is a volume control on the handset. There is also an alarm set. And also a Texting service feature. However, you will have to subscribe to Caller Display service with your network provider if you wish to use this service. I would imagine though, that since most people use mobiles phones for texting, this may not be necessary.

It should be mentioned also that phones two and three can be placed anywhere in the home without the necessity of trailing phone line extensions. This is extremely useful and worthwhile. The base on which the phones stand however, should be kept near a wall socket since the batteries (supplied with the set) need to be re-charged occasionally. The cable required to recharge the phone in the wall socket is also provided with the set.

The answer phone is one of the easiest I have ever used. Quite straightforward with any calls being clearly numbered. To sum up, this is a very nice package and will satisfy any user. I found it a pleasure to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than 30 m range, 8 Aug 2012
By 
PAUL Sandford (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Set up and operation seem OK, but the distance is suspect.
This phone was rated as "up to 300m with line of sight" and "up to 50m in a building"
The phone would not work at 30m range through a building.
I phoned the 0800 number and was told to take out the batteries and wait half an hour - having waited for the phone to be answered in the first place. This solved nothing.
Should be OK in a normal sized house, but do not believe the blurb about 50m range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews