Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the orginal, this is a new updated version.....
I bought this for my niece as she really loves Peppa Pig. She had the original version of the Fun Phonics, but left it on holiday by mistake. I am told this one is even better. Would recommend for any children 2-6 who are Peppa Pig fans. This teaches children to recognise letters by sound and sight and goes onto spelling words for older children.
Published on 19 Sept. 2011 by Victoria

versus
51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong phonic sounds!
My daughter adores Peppa Pig, and is currently learning to read, so this toy, especially at 75% off, seemed too good a deal to pass up.

The toy has 8 games, you move a slider at the top to choose a game.
There are 26 buttons, each with the uppercase letter, lowercase letter, a picture of an object and the object name next to it (an apple for a, a lamp for...
Published on 4 Feb. 2012 by kip


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong phonic sounds!, 4 Feb. 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
My daughter adores Peppa Pig, and is currently learning to read, so this toy, especially at 75% off, seemed too good a deal to pass up.

The toy has 8 games, you move a slider at the top to choose a game.
There are 26 buttons, each with the uppercase letter, lowercase letter, a picture of an object and the object name next to it (an apple for a, a lamp for l).
There are 3 additional keys - one to sound out the entire alphabet in order, one to repeat the prompt, and one that plays a tune

Game 1: Press a key to hear a sound, then Peppa names the object that starts with that letter. For example, if you press "a" you hear an apple crunching. Peppa says "This is the .. Apple"
Game 2: Press a key. You hear the phonic sound, and the object that starts with that letter. For example, if you press "b" Peppa says "buh as in .. ball"
Game 3: Find the object. Peppa prompts "Find the train". Five of the buttons are backlit. If you press the right button, you hear "Well done"
Game 4: Find the first letter. For example, Peppa prompts you to find the first letter of "fish". If you press f, she says "fuh. Well done."
Game 5: Find the letter with the phonic sound. For example Peppa prompts "Find the letter that says luh as in lamp", you need to find "l". You hear well done if right.
Game 6: Spell the word. Peppa prompts "Can you spell the word lamp". You have to press the buttons in sequence.
Game 7: Follow the light. A button is backlit, press it, another one lights up. A bit like whack a mole.
Game 8: Press a key to hear a sound. For example, if you press "a" you hear an apple crunching.

(Note: all the prompts for Games 4,5 and 6 are restricted to the objects next to the letters - so a fixed set of 26)

It would have been the perfect product IF only the phonic sounds matched the national curriculum! In her current nursery (and later in school) synthetic phonic sounds are taught. For example, "s" is sounded "sss", "r" is sounded "rrr" and so on. This makes it easier for children to combine sounds and read. But in this toy, "s" is sounded "suh", "r" is sounded "ruh" etc.

This makes it very confusing for my daughter. Games 2, 4 and 5 - the main educational ones - are pointless now, as the phonic sounds are different from what she learns in nursery. I have to keep talking over and correcting Peppa (which my daughter, quite rightly, finds quite annoying!)

Also, again, no OFF switch! Why on earth didn't they design it with an OFF switch? The delivery person must have had a rough time with Peppa urging him to "Press a Key!!" from inside the package at every bump in the road!

Very disappointed with this purchase. Could have been a fantastic toy if only the sounds were right. Sending back for a refund.
Don't buy if you are looking at educational value at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the orginal, this is a new updated version....., 19 Sept. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
I bought this for my niece as she really loves Peppa Pig. She had the original version of the Fun Phonics, but left it on holiday by mistake. I am told this one is even better. Would recommend for any children 2-6 who are Peppa Pig fans. This teaches children to recognise letters by sound and sight and goes onto spelling words for older children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great educational value., 8 Feb. 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
Great way to make your kids learn alphabets & phonics. My daughter loves repeating the words after her favourite charater Peppa pig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 1 Jan. 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
My granddaughter has just turned 3 and she is a peppa pig fan. This has been her favourite toy this christmas, she just loves it. Though she has a bit of difficulty with some of the games she has learnt to listen and wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No on/off switch, 8 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
Its not a bad game for a child, just it can be extremely annoying. If it bumps off another toy in the toy box it will switch itself on and shout at you to press a button every 10 seconds for about 5 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for nephew, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. A. E. Noble (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
I bought this for my nephew (almost 3) and he loves it. Has had lots of use of it and being Peppa makes it all the better. The only thing is that it doesn't have an off switch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 April 2014
By 
Jc Drew - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
Our grandchildren are Peppa pig fans and loved this. There isn't an apparent off switch, but an auto off after a period without use. A bit disconcerting when it bursts into life in the toybox!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars u Cle or aunt may buy the most annoying of battery operated noise makers but this was thought ..., 25 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
NO OFF SWITCH!!! Lasted 1 month exactly before I removed the batteries. It does require much to have Peppa demand "press a button". She can be laying alone hidden in a toy box and with any barometric shift in atmospheric pressure she will pipe up. Enough. The batteries at gone silence at last! What were they thinking? Many an inconsiderate grandparent, u Cle or aunt may buy the most annoying of battery operated noise makers but this was thought up in hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter's Christmas Gift, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
All the family are enjoying this clever learning game. It's just slightly irritating that it's not possible to switch it off and Peppa keeps nagging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great toy, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics (Toy)
very good substantial toy, educational my grandson loves it, so much so as he is a twin we had to buy another 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspiration Works Peppa Pig Fun Phonics
Used & New from: £13.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews