Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation spanning 30 years
Linda Ronstadt became hugely successful in America, especially during the seventies, while also enjoying a much smaller but still healthy following in Britain. All of the three minor UK hits (Tracks of my tears, Blue bayou, Alison) are here;; all of them did much better in America. It is particularly pleasing to find Alison here (at the end of the first CD) as that track...
Published on 27 Sep 2011 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impulse buy, OK but bit disappointed
Having realised I was not that familiar with Linda's back catolog, I bought this on an impulse. It is pleasant listening, but was actually a bit disappointed - didn't seem to live up to her reputation. Quite a few of her covers sound poor compared with the originals. She sings fine, the backing bands are fine, and there a lot of tracks for the money.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. R. J. Wyndham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation spanning 30 years, 27 Sep 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Linda Ronstadt became hugely successful in America, especially during the seventies, while also enjoying a much smaller but still healthy following in Britain. All of the three minor UK hits (Tracks of my tears, Blue bayou, Alison) are here;; all of them did much better in America. It is particularly pleasing to find Alison here (at the end of the first CD) as that track is often omitted from compilations of Linda`s music.

This double CD includes tracks from 1967 (Different drum, the only sixties recording included) to the mid-nineties, but inevitably focuses mainly on the seventies.
Most of Linda's American pop hits are here, as are four of her six solo top ten country hits, these being the same four as you'll find on Greatest hits 1 and 2. One notable omission is her duet with James Ingram (Somewhere out there), but her two hit duets with Aaron Neville (Don't know much, All my life) are both included.

Inevitably, this set includes You're no good, her American number one hit that had previously been an American hit for Betty Everett and a UK hit for the Swinging Blue Jeans, When will I be loved, previously a hit for the Everly brothers) and Blue bayou (a cover of the Roy Orbison classic), which provided Linda with further massive American hits for Linda. The compiler of this set is very likely a Buddy Holly fan, as three covers of his songs (That'll be the day, It doesn't matter anymore, It's so easy) are all here, but I'm a Buddy Holly fan too so that's OK.

Linda's diversions into jazz-pop with Nelson Riddle (What's new) and Mexican music (Pour un amor, Frenesi) are represented, but her Trio recordings are not. The two other singers that made up that group both put in guest appearances here. Dolly Parton provides harmony vocals on I never will marry (the track listing incorrectly gives the song title as I will never marry, but the booklet notes get it right), while Emmylou Harris joins Linda in a cover of After the gold rush (a cover of a Neil Young classic). The compilation also includes Linda's cover of Dolly's classic I will always love you.

This compilation represents Linda's career fairly, albeit mainly focusing on her pop and rock music. Her diversions into jazz-pop and Mexican music are best heard separately, but the tracks included here provide reminders of Linda's capabilities and may tempt a few people to explore those aspects of her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linda at a bargain price, 29 Oct 2011
By 
C. J. Walker (U K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This double cd set is terrific value,46 tracks at roughly 11p per song is a give away price for an artiste of this calibre.Make no mistake Linda Ronsdadt can sing!and here she covers many styles.The previous review goes into great detail so I won't,I just can't believe music of this quality at such a cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one to get!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is amazing value for the money! 46 tracks on 2 Cd's.It contains nearly all Linda's best numbers( many of them covers of classics from the /60's/70's and in addition several from the later years- in collaboration with Aaron Neville andDolly Parton etc.Highly recommended- if -like me you are a Ronstadt fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, great value, 13 Dec 2013
By 
C. Heath (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
After having a lot of Linda Ronstadt's early work on vinyl I thought I'd better get some in my CD collection so started with this as it includes a lot of her real 'all time classics' - Carmelita, Alison, You're no good, I never will marry, Desperado, Poor pitiful me etc. (not to mention Mike Nesmith's wonderful and super-catchy 'Different Drum' from the Stone Ponys era) Excellent session men in attendance for the most part too. Pity it's missing Simple man, simple dreams, Old Paint etc. but you can't have it all at this price. Super value but deducted one star as I have to get up to skip the appalling, 'cringe making' Aaron Neville tracks (only two thank God) - this is a man who could make the Sex Pistols song-book sound sickly sweet!! Time they re-issued 'Retrospective' too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
As a lover of Linda Rondstadt, in the singing sense. I have no qualms with this album. I have a couple of her albums some of the tracks are repeated and some not, but for me it is an excellent album. I am not one for long flowery reviews. So in summary if you like Linda or her kind of music, I am sure you will like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you like me love Linda Ronstadt it is a brilliant buy. A double CD at a very reasonable price. In my opinion the record quality does not meet current standards but it is still very good and doesn't distract from the listening pleasure at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Juke box, 1 Oct 2013
By 
J. donnet (perth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Bought this and played it on the car cd on the way back from London. Hardly a duff track on this double cd. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoy the cd collection of Linda Ronstadt., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Linda Ronstadt a truly very talented singer/songwriter. And a truly very lovely person. I enjoy listening to her. One of the all time greats in country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The lovely Linda, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
The cover itself is enough to give shivers down the spine with those lovely eyes staring out at you. The tracks are wonderful and it has been great to re-visit the time when she was at her peak in her youth. Sad to hear that she is now suffering health-wise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linda Ronstadt- the collection., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
A superb album containing all of the very best songs recorded by Linda Ronstadt over her career . Would recommend this CD to any lover of good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Linda Ronstadt (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews