Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£24.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 March 2012
As a loving owner of BFI's Kurosawa's Samurai Collection, I was keen to get my hands on his Crime Collection.

Compared to the Samurai set, which is a good bit cheaper and in which you get more films, this one's value for money is less. Amazon (at time of purchase) had it cheapest that I could find and the way I compared it was to cost the four films as individual DVDs. Also, I had only seen Drunken Angel (1948) on VHS a few years ago and wanted to see it again properly. The other three I hadn't. Therefore I was going to get full value from it.

The others included are Stray Dog (1949), The Bad Sleep Well (1960) and High & Low (1963). At least 3 of the 4 are very well acclaimed, both publicly and critically.

As we can expect from a BFI box-set, it is impeccably presented in its signature black and white and comes with a card outer sleeve. It opens up with two discs on each side. The back has a neat summation on each film with plot, film lengths and ratios etc. Included is a rather nice booklet that includes quite comprehensive background info for each movie and still photos from the production company.

Nowhere in the literature can I find it saying that BFI have restored any of these films. Both late '40s films looked a bit greyer and flatter than those in the Samurai Collection, but those were made later. There was an occasional scratch line and flicker and the sound had a few minor crackles. With volume turned up quite loud hiss was well controlled. Generally, the transfers are good, bearing in mind their age, but not outstanding. The two later ones look better, whilst not perfect they had no noticeable blemishes.

I've reviewed all four films here separately, on Amazon, so for more details on each, please look under their individual titles.

If, like me, you've enjoyed Kurosawa's more well known classics and wish to explore him further, then getting this set is a natural progression and really worthwhile addition to any collector's DVD library.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
If you are a fan of Akira Kurosawa (which if you are a movie buff, it's hard not to be...), you don't want to miss the 4 films in this Crime Collection. They are UNIQUE cinematographic works... almost, sometimes, like being in a fine arts museum and watching "moving paintings", such is the director's care with each frame. I also consider the packaging outstanding... I have read the descriptions of each movie many times before and after watching the film, and they have definitely enhanced my understanding.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Film Noir.. it's just an American thing, right?
Well, show how wrong that assumption is with this stunning set of 4 decidedly Noir ish films.
High and Low tells the story of a kidnapping and the responses to it. The first half shows the effect on people concerned when a company executive's son is snatched for ransom.. only they got the wrong kid.. they got his playmate - the chauffeurs son. How will everyone react? The second half is a gripping police procedural.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
High and Low or Stray Dog are extraordinary dramas brilliantly acted, beautifully shot with some stunning visual sequences with only music or incidental sounds. High and Low is one of the best films I have ever seen. I watched it twice and each viewing was a new revelation.
Drunken Angel and The Bad sleep well were not quite as gripping but still worth watching.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
As an owner of BFI's Samurai/Classic and now Crime collection, I can honestly say that BFI does a fantastic job.
I only discovered Kurosawa earlier this year and am now captivated by his deep and profound movies.
Kurosawa plays with our minds and makes the viewer question themselves.

I don't know what the original quality of the films were like, but BFI has restored it to an easily watch-able standard, you won't even mind that the films are black&white!
The design of the box set is truly worthy of being part of anyone's film collection.
Any fan of Kurosawa would love this, some of the greatest films ever made to be part of your film collection.

Well as you know from the product description, the films provided are:

Drunken Angel (1948);
Stray Dog (1949);
The Bad Sleep Well (1947);
High and Low (1963);

High and Low is probably my favourite, the film certainly drags your attention and you can't help but think about the value of human life. Kurosawa creates a style of suspense which rivals against Alfred Hitchcock in his own personal style, definitely a fantastic film, step by step the mystery unfolds.

I would write a brief description of the rest, but thats for you to find out yourself (:
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Being a fan of film noir 3 out of 4 of the movies have great interest showing early Japanese landscape and people's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
A collection of wonderful films. Thank you BFI for giving viewers access to such great cinema.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Simply an excellent collection by a consumate director.
Beautifully packaged and printed. I also think that the set of these 4 movies are good together as they are some of his best work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
four superb movies for the lovers of crime drama.You'll not waste your money.Definitely a collectors box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
A brilliant collection, some of the best Kurosawa films. All four films are superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)