Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Fantastic...very nearly
This is for kids from 8 to 80+ (they say). First thing to say is that it is an absolutely brilliant idea. This cyberman head electronic kit is truly about cybernetics. When I used to watch Dr Who everyone was interested in the science - is time travel possible? What is cybernetics? Most of the discussion around Dr Who on the telly today is about how the programme is...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by D Major

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity for fun and education
This was given to my wife for Christmas, and we sat down to put it together hoping to learn a bit about circuitry, robotics, and also have fun in the process.

The instruction sheet is straightforward, and the assembly is relatively easy as long as you have a small screwdriver set handy.
The diagrams for wiring up the three different modules are very easy...
Published 6 months ago by Jeremiah Lewis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Fantastic...very nearly, 15 Oct 2011
By 
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
This is for kids from 8 to 80+ (they say). First thing to say is that it is an absolutely brilliant idea. This cyberman head electronic kit is truly about cybernetics. When I used to watch Dr Who everyone was interested in the science - is time travel possible? What is cybernetics? Most of the discussion around Dr Who on the telly today is about how the programme is made, and what hobbies the actors have, the science is ignored. This kit is brilliant for getting at the science - the little booklet/manual makes connections between the programme's cybermen and real scientific ideas. The kids were really interested in this and we've had a lot of fun today.

In principle the kit consists of a motorised base plate which can be activated by any one of three different sensor circuit board devices (one infra red operated by your tv remote; one photosensor circuit that responds to light and a third to obstacles). The idea is that you can have any one of these 3 circuit boards installed at any one time and so control the movement of the cyberman's head. Each circuit responds to different external stimuli and then triggers the motor which moves the head - you can't install all 3 circuits at once though.

The sensor circuits are pre-soldered so basically just need wiring into the base plate. The base plate has 'spring connectors' so you just connect wires from batteries, motor and circuit board to these springs. This is very common in educational kits concerning electronics. It's a bit fiddly in this kit as you have 3 wires going into one spring often and coming from the same direction on the base plate it is difficult not to disconnect wires as you are trying to stick a second or third one in. Our youngest member today was 11 and he did have a bit of trouble with this as we were wiring the infra-red sensor.

There is a 'manual' to show wiring - the manual is based on colour coding the wires. The circuits and base plate have letters and numbers but the manual doesn't make use of these. It took us a while to get the thing to work first time, it took only 20 minutes to get everything assembled. The pre-soldered circuits have rotational knobs for adjusting circuit sensitivity and you will need to adjust these to pick up remote signals.

Once the motor is triggered the worm drive engages a gear on the axle and the head sets off!! We have had a lot of discussion about cybernetics and electronics today so quite a bit of learning has taken place - and partly because this is not the smoothest of kits to assemble - we had a lot of discussion about what was supposed to happen and why. We had a multimeter and wire insulator trimmer so we could test circuits and trim the insulation on one or two of the wires - you don't need a multimeter but it was good to see how the the thing was wired. I think a wire trimmer is necessary though.

ISSUES: 1) the worm drive on the motor goes through a hole in the base plate to connect to the gear on the wheel axle. You may need to adjust the angle of the motor shaft that turns the worm drive to make sure it connects with the gear. Otherwise the motor will turn but the head won't move! So, don't just plonk the motor in and tighten the screw. 2) Be aware that the sensitivity adjustor on the sensor circuit actually moves the circuit board away from the base plate when you turn it. These two things can cause trouble - the base plate could be a bit better quality; the head itself and sensor circuits are good; the base plate is cheapo, cheapo.

The manual could have been a lot more interesting too - an educational opportunity to talk more about control circuits, cybernetics and whatnot. It could also have mentioned all the things I've noted above!

Overall, as a Dr Who toy it is really good for getting the science back into TV, the cyber head I thought was good though the kids thought the whole mechanism should go into a Cybermat rather than a head; I guess it is a bit weird to having a head move about on its own, I was told it had something to do with Stonehenge, but I lost the plot. As an electronic kit it is fiddly for young hands and I would say 11+ for unsupervised kids. It has stimulated a lot of interest and the result is I have one kid now wanting to look more at electronics; and I will be catching up with Dr Who..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity for fun and education, 18 Jan 2014
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
This was given to my wife for Christmas, and we sat down to put it together hoping to learn a bit about circuitry, robotics, and also have fun in the process.

The instruction sheet is straightforward, and the assembly is relatively easy as long as you have a small screwdriver set handy.
The diagrams for wiring up the three different modules are very easy to follow, and actually putting the wires in the right spring circuits was easy.

Two problems presented themselves almost immediately.
One, the "off" wire coming from the power block came out of its solder. Reconnecting it took stripping the wire down and re-threading it through and wrapping it around the metal connector. It's hard to know if that problem led to the second issue, which is that the thing just won't work. We could not get it to turn on. I tried the infrared and object detection sensor, but neither worked. I tried multiple sets of batteries just to be sure it wasn't an issue with the batteries. I also reset all the wire connectors and ensured all contacts were solid.

This would have been a lot better had the manufacturing process been a bit more rigorous, and I think they wasted an educational oppportunity with the instructions. Instead of, or in addition to, all the Dr. Who fun facts about Cybermen, there could have been a lot more information about the circuits and sensors, how they work and how electronics work in general. For a kid interested in electronics, it could have been a very good learning opportunity. The diagrams utilize letters and numbers, but those aren't used to explain how the wiring works, so they seem superfluous. Also, why are there extra pegs that don't seem to be used at all--are those for expansion modules, perhaps?

Finally, I think it would be great to have a system where you could install all three sensors at once--limiting you to just one at a time seems antithetical to the whole Cyberman ideal, after all.

Overall, this product could have been lots and lots of fun for both kids and adults. But for me and my wife it was a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
Bought this for an 11 year old who is mad on dr who and enjoys science at school. Arrived really quickly - would definitely recommend this ite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dr who rules!, 27 Feb 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
really like this product. its not something you buy for a kid who just wants a quick thrill and fast moving r/c type of toy. this is for a dr who enthusiast who understands that its all about the science of it. pretty easy to put together, but will still need help of an adult, its for 8 yr olds really, who will get a kick out of building something that works. liked the realism of the finished item, as it really looks like the cyberman head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dr who cybernetics., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
Product came fairly quickly and well packaged.
My son wouldnt have been able to put it together as its abit complicated.My husband assembled it for my son.Works really well with most remotes.
All in all quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 30 Nov 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
A complete waste of money. The instructions are awful and if you do not own a small electrical screwdriver, you will not be able to assemble the product. When assembled (we used the object sensing circuit board) the toy does not work as advertised. My daughter was very upset that the product did not work as advertised. It now where it belongs - in the bin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
it is very complicated. i put it together twice and both times it did not work. i think it's apalling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy it!, 26 Feb 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Cybernetics (Toy)
Waste of money. My son did nothing but talk about this for months before Christmas, saving up money so he could buy it. He is 6 so we knew it would be beyond his skills to assemble. My husband helped him put it together after 15- 20 mins it went around the room at snails pace my son lost interest because is was so slow and he went to do something else. My husband played with it for a while decided it was a waste of money ,then it went back in it's box and my son has never asked for again. That was 3 months ago!! Absolute waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Cybernetics
12.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews