Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than a spinners book about wool
Essential reference book, beautifully presented and bound, delightful and fascinating to read from cover to cover. If you are interested in sheep and wool, this is a 'must-have' book.

Clear index makes using it as a reference book very easy.

I took it to a big county show with me and everyone, from farmers to knitters, who looked through the book...
Published on 11 July 2011 by D. J. Cooper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the beginner spinner
Fantastic book that was recommended to me by The Arkwright Spinsters group as I was a new spinner. I was not disappointed! What a joy to find such a beautiful book. Very informative nicely presented and a practical size to hold. I could even read the print without struggling with my reading glasses. You won't want to put this book down and do your spinning. This is one to...
Published 9 months ago by SUSAN LAVENDER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than a spinners book about wool, 11 July 2011
By 
D. J. Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Essential reference book, beautifully presented and bound, delightful and fascinating to read from cover to cover. If you are interested in sheep and wool, this is a 'must-have' book.

Clear index makes using it as a reference book very easy.

I took it to a big county show with me and everyone, from farmers to knitters, who looked through the book loved it and wanted their own copy.

This is a book that I would classify as an essential resource for any spinner, but also has a great deal to offer knitters and weavers. Deb and Carol set out to try and source as many spun yarns as possible for the breeds in the book and they found many more than I had thought existed - very good news for those who don't spin. This time last year I was a non-spinning sheep and breed-specific wool enthusiast so I know what this book would have been able to offer me then.

It also has a lot of fascinating information for people interested in the sheep and sheep-breed side of things - it is obvious that superb and exhaustive research lies behind this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fiber and Fleece Sourcebook, 24 Oct 2011
By 
D. Brien "textile artist" (hampshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Robson, Deborah & Ekarius, Carol 2011 THE FLEECE AND FIBER SOURCE BOOK Storey Publishing

Pre-publication praise for this book excited me enough to pre-order a copy . I have hardly stopped looking at it. Aesthetically it is a beautifully illustrated volume inviting you to share with the authors their hands-on knowledge and experience of sheep. To open the covers is to be introduced to the world-wide map of `fiber animals' so that the reader becomes part of the wider community that is promoting wool particularly. Three-quarters of the book is given to sheep and the last 100 pages to other animal fibres such as Alpaca, Camel and the hair of rabbits and dogs. Each breed is introduced with a concise historical background. The photographs clearly place the sheep in their own specific environment and the accompanying sketch-book style of presentation of fleece to yarn is an inspiration for textile students at every level. All the information given is clear and well organised. It enhances the reader's experience and understanding of sheep, fibers and techniques required for producing yarn for knitting and weaving. The joint authors' personal experience of raising sheep and publishing books on livestock farming adds a depth to the volume of facts they have elected to include. This will inevitably widen the number of readers. I was thrilled to find how thoroughly they have researched British Rare Breeds at this time when we have a national campaign for the promotion of British wool .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable resource, 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly invaluable resource book. As a spinner/knitter/weaver this is the book I have been waiting for. It covers all sorts of animal fibres including our local favourite the ouessant sheep, giving the characteristics and uses for all.
Not not a dumbed down book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheep and yarny goodness, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautifully produced and photographed book that is a must for the coffee table of any spinner and yarn enthusiast. If you already have Clara Parkes "The Knitter's Book of Wool" this may not give you any additional knowledge but my! what cute pictures of sheep! You will swoon!
There are no projects here but great info, great photos and great breadth of knowledge.
I thought about taking away a star because the text of this book is - literally - textbook-ish but the production quality of the book leads you to expect something more such as project patterns. Then I realised what a fantastic thing it is that a textbook looks so beautifully produced. Who needs token-gestures towards patterns & photos of people wearing knitted or woven goods would distract. All credit to the authors and publishers they have created the very best book they could imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleece & Fibre Sourcebook, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent reference book for spinners, felters or anyone else interested in fleece and other animal fibres. It covers many different breeds of sheep and other animals such as alpacas, goat, camels etc. Each type of fibre has been tested by the authors and there are clear photos of the fibres before and after spinning, knitting, weaving etc and in both it's raw and washed state, along with pictures of the particular breed of animal. The text for each fibre type contains a short history of the breed/animal concerned and plenty of information about how to process and use that particular fibre and it's most suitable applications.
The authors are based in America and the book is written from that perspective, but they have taken the trouble to research and include plenty of information about sheep and fibre from other parts of the globe, including the UK, Europe, Australia, New Zealand & South America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yarn Lovers must have, 12 Oct 2011
By 
P. J. Morgan (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a must have for all wool/yarn lovers, spinners and weavers. The book contains information about every type of wool and other fibre producing animals from around the world. The animals are shown plus their fleece and the end product, with an extensive description to aid in the use of each type of fibre. Well written and beautifully illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the beginner spinner, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book that was recommended to me by The Arkwright Spinsters group as I was a new spinner. I was not disappointed! What a joy to find such a beautiful book. Very informative nicely presented and a practical size to hold. I could even read the print without struggling with my reading glasses. You won't want to put this book down and do your spinning. This is one to keep using on a permanent basis for reference so will earn its keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being new to spinning I have discovered that I can spin some fibres better than others. If like me - the vast array of breeds of sheep leave you wondering what you've let yourself in for - this book is an absolute MUST for your hobby. I nearly said 'Book shelf' but that would be selling it short!

When you buy it keep it close to dip into. I have learned several varieties of sheep fleece which I can spin with relative ease, as well as more interesting facts about the history of the breed and how best to prepare the fleece.

As I said in the title - an excellent reference book and a must buy for any person interested in woollen textiles..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the bookshelf!, 28 Feb 2012
This book has so much information. It covers all of the most popular sheep breeds, plus many other animals. The information includes fleece weight, staple length, fibre diameter and characteristics. There are pictures of raw and clean fibre, plus very small skeins and knitted or woven samples. My only complaint is that the samples do seem to be very small. Overall, a very weighty book that contains a vast amount of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Animal Fibres, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This long awaited book is all it was expected to be. Although it was written in the States it covers all the Brittish Heritage and Conservation Breeds. It covers not only the type of fibre but it characteristics before and after spinning although I do not always agree with the text it does give a good indication. After all each batch of fibre has slightly different handle depending on the source and weather that season. A great book for browsing and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews