Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional
Having had my fingers burned reading self-published books before (not sure if this is one, but it looks that way) I was a little worried about how this one would be. No need. It is a very well-written book, with a great plot, good dialogue and very believable characters, even though their actions, if understandable, are not always good. Some of it is autobiographical, but...
Published on 21 Nov 2012 by tommyr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay!.
An absorving book. I usually don't read novels as I like to read historical fact books!. A good book this was anyway.
Published 14 months ago by Guy Fleshbourne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
Having had my fingers burned reading self-published books before (not sure if this is one, but it looks that way) I was a little worried about how this one would be. No need. It is a very well-written book, with a great plot, good dialogue and very believable characters, even though their actions, if understandable, are not always good. Some of it is autobiographical, but the story is extrapolated so far from his own experience that it hardly matters. Having read many great books about flying in the war, I have decided that all the best ones (of which this is most definitely one) deal as much with the emotional and social effects of the war as they do with the bravery and sacrifice shown by so many. If you like this, read Robert Radcliffe and Frank Barnard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 20 Sep 2012
By 
C. Meacham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic read set in 1964 with flashbacks to 1944. Where the 21yr old lead of this story sets on a journey to piece together his previously unknown past. As part of it is set in my home town of Edmonton, London. (The first book I have found to be so) I was able to relate well to the descriptions.
The base of this story is loosely based around fact and the Authors own experience.
For once I found the descriptive text formed a pivotal part of the story. Ensuring I savoured every moment. The first time in a long time I had to stay up to get to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story with a twist, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
I throughly enjoyed this book, but originally bought it as I thought it would be like a wartime accident investigation. It was however an absorbing story.

I'd recommend this to aviation enthusiasts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read and good value too.
Would recommend it to anyone who likes a war tale with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Pleasant surprise, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
Like some others here, I usually read non fiction. I expected this to be a story about a pilot's flying adventures - and in part it was. But weaved through the interesting bits of documentary about the realities of life for the young men caught up in the terrifying realities of flying in the last war, the author has threaded an exciting mystery.

I thoroughly recommend the book to anyone who is interested in historical flying adventure; the narrative mystery cleverly threaded through the story is a real bonus. I'm just a "reader" but I admire the author's skill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A secret uncovered, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
The story of a young man in the 1960's trying to unravel events that took place during WW2. Loosely based on a true happening this is worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars per ardua ad astra, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
A novel approach to a war story, but all the better for it. The title slightly belittles the story so buy it and read it - wait for the twist at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 12 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Jonathan Martin (Yatton, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, it made a nice change to read about an ordinary person doing something that perhaps there sholud be more of. I think the bomber crews of the WW2 have been much maligned, and deserve the praise they are due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pilot Error, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
Very good, and as an ex RAF Regular I enjoyed the story very much andi think it was well written.
Technically it was pretty accurate, which I appreciate. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilot Error (Kindle Edition)
A well written and easy to read little book. Historical background details make it difficult to know where fact becomes fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pilot Error
Pilot Error by David Spiller
£1.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews