Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tree Becomes A Forest
It's fair to say that 'The King Of Limbs' was recieved with little more than muted praise, something along the lines of "Another Radiohead LP of - interesting - experimentation." Which is a shame as 'TKOL' contained some of the most beautiful music Radiohead have ever released. The previous release, 'In Rainbows', saw them embracing melody, simplicity and emotion in a...
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by T. Hooper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marmite
Radiohead are as they say like Marmite. You either love 'em or hate 'em. As one firmly in the love 'em camp, TKOL Rmx is like Marmite with even more Marmite. First listen my reaction was 'this is a step too far' with disk 1 challenging and the second unfathomable. I know one fan who sold it after one play but as with many Radiohead albums TKOL Rmx gets under the skin...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by Dark Lord


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tree Becomes A Forest, 17 Oct 2011
By 
T. Hooper (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
It's fair to say that 'The King Of Limbs' was recieved with little more than muted praise, something along the lines of "Another Radiohead LP of - interesting - experimentation." Which is a shame as 'TKOL' contained some of the most beautiful music Radiohead have ever released. The previous release, 'In Rainbows', saw them embracing melody, simplicity and emotion in a great leap forward from 'Hail To The Thief's' slightly overwhelming screed of protest, bile and musical grit and with 'TKOL' they have completed the journey with exqusite songs such as 'Give Up The Ghost', 'Codex' and 'Lotus Flower'.

With 'TKOL RMX 1234567' they've handed those 37 delicate minutes of music over to a host of remixers and let them do their thing and in a move similar to the way 'Live Recordings' reflected different aspects of 'Kid A' and 'Amnesiac', here elements of 'The King Of Limbs' are removed expanded, polished, spun and re-ordered to create something entirely new but wholly satisfying.

At a little under three times the original LPs running time, there's considerably more to get your teeth into and many of the remixes are far more full bodied than the original tracks on 'The King Of Limbs'. Interesting.

The good news is that it works brilliantly, with the remixers managing to keep the emotional essence of each of the original tracks intact whilst making them entirely new.

Radiohead must be thrilled; I know I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Easy Listening, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tkol Rmx 1234567 (MP3 Download)
In typical Radiohead style this album avoids all the usual `remix' clichés & heads off boldly down it's own path.
There are no shrinking violets here as every track is given a big makeover and all are presented loud and proud.
To be honest not everything works but with such a lengthy selection to choose from you are bound to find a few that appeal. I have never been much of a fan of drum & bass and those tracks that are re-worked heavily in a D & B style don't convince me to change my opinion. However there are a generous amount of mixes here that really do show an understanding of the Radiohead style and manage to add a unique approach that surprises the listener.
A sound reminiscent of BOC & Stars of the lid with a Solar Fields vibe is to the fore amongst the first half of the album and makes for a laidback and chilled atmosphere that always seems to have something unexpected lurking to catch you unawares. This is particularly the case if listening on headphones.
Some tracks that stand out to me are the Caribou remix of 'little by little', a looped beat is suddenly completely overrun by beautiful harp track & sampled vocals that drift in & out of the track. 'Morning Mr magpie' Nathan Fake remix remixes the vocals & Thom ends up sounding like Perry Farrell with Stars of the lid like loops.
The Blawan remix of 'Bloom' is potty with a thumping groove & stereo effects buzzing left & right. Not sure if I love it or hate it but it's impossible to ignore & pretty much sums up the whole album.
I have been listening at night on my i-pod with the lights out and the opening half really works as far as I'm concerned with a great showcase for some top notch programming and mixing.
As the album moves into the second half my interest wanes a bit as I think too many tracks begin to sound the same while others are, frankly, a bit of a tuneless mess. Radiohead may be happy enough to aim for the weird but they are never tuneless and I can't help feeling some of the later remix artists have missed this point.
The occasional track has some recording quality issues too.
In the end there are certainly more than enough decent tracks here to make this worthwhile as far as I'm concerned but then I am a fan. For those who are not too sure or who have not listened to anything but Radiohead's singles then I would have to say that this is not the place to start as it won't give you much of an idea what they are about.
For fans this may well be worth a try just be prepared not to like it all. Variety keeps this fresh though and means it should have a lengthy stay on your playlist.
It isn't a substitute for a genuine new album but it'll do while we wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars radiohead - re-mixes, 15 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
having already got every radiohead cd ever made, this was a compulsory purchase, it certainly put a different slant on some of the tracks, but it's a cd to listen to when you have time to hear it properly, preferably through a good set of headphones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass ! Radiohead are all time greats...., 2 Mar 2012
By 
Stan "Mr Stanley" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
If you enjoy the modern sounding Technical and complex sides to experimental music, then you will absolutely love this Remix album. This Album represents evolutionary experimentation of where Thom Yorke is at right now.

The depth of musical knowledge and open minded abilities of Thom Yorke, is truly ore inspiring to any like minded music fanatic...

Although it has to be said that the style has moved on from the original days of Radiohead. I can only see this as a positive step forward, as they clearly display the sign of the times in how they perceive and appreciate all kinds of music. Exploring the depths and spectrum of Technical Electronica.

All in all an exceptional move forward in modern music....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marmite, 8 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
Radiohead are as they say like Marmite. You either love 'em or hate 'em. As one firmly in the love 'em camp, TKOL Rmx is like Marmite with even more Marmite. First listen my reaction was 'this is a step too far' with disk 1 challenging and the second unfathomable. I know one fan who sold it after one play but as with many Radiohead albums TKOL Rmx gets under the skin after a while and reveals some great tracks. A month or so down the tracks I would now say that disc 1 is for the most part interesting with one or two tracks rivaling if not surpassing the originals. However disc 2 is still largely bonkers and one for the most ardent of fans only. All in all, not the best Radiohead album by far but worth having in your collection if you are prepared to give it a few listens. Marmite on the other hand, well that's a different proposition altogether!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't drink the Radiohead KoolAid, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
On the embers of the underwhelming, determindedly uncommercial "The King Of Limbs", Radiohead venture to the remix album. From a slender 34 minute record, this is nearly four times the length of the original, and an unessential addition to the canon. Compiling the multiple remix 12"s released to please the trainspotters, the remixes here follow the avenue of experimental - in so much as they jettison the concept of listenability - without necessarily being anything other a tedious diversion.

The old world of the remix was to pay another artist to warp your song : either to pad out numerous multi-formatted singles, create a few quick b-sides, make an OK song a hit, or to extend the lifespan of a song or album. Here, it's presumably to drag out a slender album into something else. Smaller artists - the kind of estoteric creators that often count few amongst their patrons - are endorsed by the big names, and given a leg up. Really though, with the 'remix' as is, these days, being so far removed, they are often independent pieces of work, interpretations, repaintings,reboots, cover versions, with fragments of the originals one. The Mark Pritchard mix of "Bloom" contains barely anything more than a distorted vocal of the original : the Harmonic 313 mix is a shimmering instrumental with only a shadow of the parent song. Perhaps the remixers have different ways of looking at these works. For me, the finest remixer creates material combining the best of their abilities and vision on the grounds of the original. Sometimes though, the best remixes are nothing to do with the originals.

If you are expecting something that expands upon the parent album, or enhances it, you will be lost here. The fine non-album songs ; including "Supercollider/The Butcher", are absent. Some of the mixes are memorable, worthy - but none unforgettable : Does the world need 5 remixes of "Bloom"? 3 of "Morning Mr Magpie".? The whole album is presented here in a revised form, but one that bears no relation to Radiohead anymore. Slender portions of Yorkian vocals come in and disappear, occasional sound effects and twangs from the instrumentation ghostly rear their presence then are gone. The nearest, most recognisable one if Four Tets version of "Seperator", retaining the seperated, art-for-arts-sake air of the original. But over this exhaustive two hour excursion, there's little sense of a thread or a join : just a bunch of unconnected tracks, sharing little but Thom's vocals and a vague sense of atmospheric unease. It's nothing more than a curio, a mild distraction. The record fades out with no sense of a journey or a result, just an end. Next stop doesn't matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much..., 3 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
I love Radiohead. I love electronic music. This is just too much though and doesn't do it for me. Some remixes of Radiohead tunes (mainly by others) are superb and I expected this to be on a par but sadly, it's not. I've given them two stars for making the effort though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ..............???, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. N. Jackson (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
Oh hell, why do Radiohead allow talentless "remixers" to completely wreck their incredible music? It's like giving gravel to a master baker and asking them to make quality bread...

'scuse me while I spit the grit out and get my teeth mended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indie Electroniforcation, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: TKOL RMX 1234567 (Audio CD)
Fans of Indie, Electronica, DubStep et al will join forces and love this album, Iknow I did. Absolute magical WOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TKOL RMX 1234567
TKOL RMX 1234567 by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews