Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive study of energy
This remarkable book covers the whole subject of energy, its history, science, economics and politics. Yergin examines oil, coal, gas (both conventional and unconventional), nuclear power, climate change, the electric age, new energies, and roads to the future.

He notes, "In a carbon-conscious world, nuclear power's great advantages are not only the traditional...
Published on 26 Jan. 2012 by William Podmore

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly for us and our parents than for our children
I have not read "The Prize" so I can't compare. I launched into this 800 pages long book thinking that Mr Yergin would be able to sort out where we are and where we are going. He did a good job on the first issue but much less so on the second.

This book is a massive presentation of the present situation concerning the worlds energy production and the history...
Published on 16 Mar. 2012 by Strv 74


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An education!, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Pooter (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is "unputdownable!" It is a bang-up-to-date study of every - and I mean every aspect of the oil industry worldwide today; the new shale oil explosion, and then a review of the latest aspects of the renewable industries. As I read it, I felt I was eavesdropping on the decision -making discussions of the various Great Power governments. And I marvelled at how short-sighted these policies were! I fear that our lives are NOT going to get better in this age of "global warming"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone interested in the history of energy, this is a must read. It is extremely well researched, covers a very broad scope and a complete page turner. Yergin has a strong grasp of every aspect of his topic: the history, politics and technologies of the energy industry - how the industry has developed over the years, why we are where we are today and ideas on what direction it's going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you want to know about modern energy..., 9 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Quest: Energy, Security and the Remaking of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
The sequel of "The Prize", which focuses on the history of oil. The author deals in "The Quest" with the short period about oil that was left uncovered in the "The Prize", starting from the second Gulf War (invasion of Kuwait). In the meanwhile, oil has further dominated world politics: Chavez, Saddam Hussein, Nigeria and Iran. Next to that, the oil industry got involved in several mergers & acquisitions: Conocco Phillips, BP Amoco, Exxon Mobil and Total Elf to name a few.

Contrary to Fukuyama's illusion, China and USA have been working further on their goal to be energy independent. The latter seems to be harder than expected, although coal and nuclear energy benefit China, shale gas and shale oil favor USA, energy conservation both. There is still a long way to go, but the growing non-OPEC share leaves opportunities for geopolitical diversification.

What about Japan and Europe? Notwithstanding the Fukushima tragedy, the country has little more options than nuclear energy (taking into account a 80% import dependency on Middle Eastern oil). The same goes for Europe. It is OK to think green, but eliminating nuclear energy leaves no European option than to heavily rely on Arab oil. What if the US decides to retreat from that area? Europe lacks both the political courage and military means to protect its energy sources.

Obviously, Yergin also spends quite some time on green energy and energy conservation. Solar cells, electric cars, biofuel,... Whether or not humans caused the climate change, it is never wrong to use energy more efficiently and to diversify its energy sources. To save the planet and also to be more self-dependent from a geopolitical point of view. Any European politician could learn from this double lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book but amazingly US centric, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quest: Energy, Security and the Remaking of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
Very well written analysis of the energy industry. Takes a relatively centrist view of things, enough to annoy ardent greens and ardent oilmen.

Only bad point is that it is extremely US centric. At one point it talks about the first solar farm in history, that was built copying an existing Israeli design.

If you're looking for a good tour of the energy industry, this is a very good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic overview of the global energy business, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
S. Roberts (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quest: Energy, Security and the Remaking of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
A great potted history of the global energy business, that is bang up to date, covering everything from the early discoveries of oil in the 19th Century to climate change, renewable energy and electric vehicles. Yergin's style is easy to read, some of the stories of oil exploration are real page turners. Inevitably US-centric but doesn't leave out the rest of the World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for All Investors, 25 April 2012
Ordereded this book a bit back , but had to wait as none where in stock .
The wait was worth it , the book was mentioned on a bb forum , the GKP
to be specific .
It's easily digested and not the heavy Reading tome that I expect .
Neither do you need to be a mathematical , political or expert on oil .
Thoroughly suggest you buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book!, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not kidding - this book is the product of immense learning and a clear understanding of what's going on in the world and the technologies relevant to hydrocarbons and solar power. This has to become the standard work in this area of learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good story of oil strategy and CO2 !!, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contents and book condition perfectly ok.Some delay in delivery.
The oil international history from 1991 on. Quite clear. It's Crystal for an extremely strategic question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Modern History of Energy Production, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives all the interesting political, financial, and personal background to the various sources of energy used and developed over the past 200 or so years. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Book is an eye opener, really worth the read ..., 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book is an eye opener, really worth the read. The seller however was awful. The book (bought second hand) came with glue all over the last pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews