Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2013
Firstly, i would like to say that the book arrived relatively early. As for the substantive part i have only one thing to mention, OUTSTANDING. Throughly explainable regarding energy security around the world. It gives a lot of examples and provides you the necessary theoretical background so as to deepen your understanding regarding the issues that are addressed throughout the book. Recommend it for every student, academic and every one who interested in learning about enrgy security and how it would be transform in the modern era. RECOMMEND IT.

Thank you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
This book is "unputdownable!" It is a bang-up-to-date study of every - and I mean every aspect of the oil industry worldwide today; the new shale oil explosion, and then a review of the latest aspects of the renewable industries. As I read it, I felt I was eavesdropping on the decision -making discussions of the various Great Power governments. And I marvelled at how short-sighted these policies were! I fear that our lives are NOT going to get better in this age of "global warming"!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Very well written analysis of the energy industry. Takes a relatively centrist view of things, enough to annoy ardent greens and ardent oilmen.

Only bad point is that it is extremely US centric. At one point it talks about the first solar farm in history, that was built copying an existing Israeli design.

If you're looking for a good tour of the energy industry, this is a very good place to start.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
For anyone interested in the history of energy, this is a must read. It is extremely well researched, covers a very broad scope and a complete page turner. Yergin has a strong grasp of every aspect of his topic: the history, politics and technologies of the energy industry - how the industry has developed over the years, why we are where we are today and ideas on what direction it's going.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
A great potted history of the global energy business, that is bang up to date, covering everything from the early discoveries of oil in the 19th Century to climate change, renewable energy and electric vehicles. Yergin's style is easy to read, some of the stories of oil exploration are real page turners. Inevitably US-centric but doesn't leave out the rest of the World.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
Ordereded this book a bit back , but had to wait as none where in stock .
The wait was worth it , the book was mentioned on a bb forum , the GKP
to be specific .
It's easily digested and not the heavy Reading tome that I expect .
Neither do you need to be a mathematical , political or expert on oil .
Thoroughly suggest you buy it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
I'm not kidding - this book is the product of immense learning and a clear understanding of what's going on in the world and the technologies relevant to hydrocarbons and solar power. This has to become the standard work in this area of learning.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Contents and book condition perfectly ok.Some delay in delivery.
The oil international history from 1991 on. Quite clear. It's Crystal for an extremely strategic question.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Gives all the interesting political, financial, and personal background to the various sources of energy used and developed over the past 200 or so years. An excellent read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 8 February 2012
This book is level-headed, sober and deeply informed account of humanity's quest for a sustainable energy system.

Covering geopolitics, economics and narrative history, Mr Yergin takes us through the last two centuries (or thereabouts) of human civilisation's relationship with energy, playing particular attention to the host of scientists, technologists, industrialists and politicians who've shaped it.

His style is wonderfully understated and incredibly knowledgeable, filling in all sorts of corners in one's knowledge. The picture painted is one of relentless progress beneath the surface; ever increasing effectiveness of energy systems; a venture capital industry getting to grips with renewables; the growing centrality of climate change to policymaking; and a fluctuating oil price which affects everything.

The book is studded with brilliant anecdotes, such as Margaret Thatcher making her cabinet sit through a day-long tutorial on climate change, or the first pre-Rio IPCC meeting, when the UN translators walked-out just as negotiations were reaching a climax, because it was against their work rules to stay past 6 pm.

Rather than taking explicit positions on the energy issues covered in this book, Mr Yergin gives the reader an understanding of, and the background to, those issues. He seriously knows his energy chestnuts, and his book is a one-stop shop for anyone seeking a rounded grasp of grasp this fundamental question for the global economy, and the prospects for our species.

Peter Baker
Author of The Jolly Pilgrim
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.