Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars39
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2011
This is a nicely paced point and click adventure game. It isn't a hard game to solve the puzzles and has some humerous touches. It had quite a lot of jokey references to well know films and video games. There are four characters you play as during the course of the game. Most of the time you are playing as just one of the four, but there are times where more than one character is in play and you need to work out which character is able to do what ever is required.

On the down side is that at times, the game can seem to have too much chat.

I have played the whole game and during chapter 4 the game suddenly crashed. The writers of the game have released a patch on their website which you may need to download if this happens whilst you are playing.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
So much to say about this game, but for me the most important is the fact that you will become immersed in it. The characters are alive, the scenery is alive, everything about this game takes you and places you directly in the story.

The attention to detail in this game is phenomenal, as others have said, the voice acting, its the best I have ever heard, and I have played a great deal of point and clicks, as well as games with a much larger development budget.

This game was made to the highest standards I have seen in a long time for this genre. Outstanding
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
The Book of Unwritten Tales is a first class point and click adventure with first class graphics and is a joy to play. Just for a change the story line actually made sense unlike may other games I have played. The puzzles are all intriguing but don't need the brain of an Einstein to be solved. Saying that, my old fingers had some difficulty with that annoying Rain Dance! All in all I can honestly say it is the best game I have played in a long tine. Recommeded. Buy it!
33 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
This has to be one of THE Best games I have ever played. When was the last time you heard termites speaking in an aussie accent? Voice acting SUPERB.

You fall in love with the characters and really can relate to them, especially the Irish Gnome Wilbur. Each line, scene, puzzle has been very well thought of.

You basically start off playing as iVo , the hot elf and then as the story progresses all four characters , the gnome, the hilarious and arrogant human pirate nate and the critter get together. There is a main story line and wilbur the gnome is the main character who has a mission involving a ring and as the others join party there are littles quests, puzzles and lots more.

The superb voice acting makes the story really come alive and , well check it out on youtube, most of the scenes are hilarious. The conversation between Wilbur and Death for example.

P.S. I actually didn't have any issues with the rain dance as some others have had, you just need to hit the keyboard fast!

I am seriously get this company's another game which is similar but in german and i dont speak a word of it... but the game was so good that I might use google translate to get through it

5 Stars!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
An outstanding adventure game. This game combines beautiful scenery, well designed characters and top-notch voice-acting with wonderful humor and it offers many funny references to films and games like "World of Warcraft" or "Star Wars". There are some minor ishues (some animation stoped before finshing and sometimes its hard to find small things), but that doesn`t affect this wonderful game in anyway. If you like adventures or fantasy games with humor, this one is a must have. If you haven`t played a adventure game till now, it's now time to play one! You won`t regret it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
Impressive game, just like the old point&click adventures and a lot of phantasy world jokes. It remains me a lot to Simon the sorcerer.

I'm having a real good time playing this adventure. I hope they translate it to spanish and make more adventures of Wilbur, Ivo and Nate! (I don't care about critter ;P)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
hello,

IMPORTANT: the game (boxed version) must be patched, sad thing the support forum has a wrong link for downloading the patch, i had to search on google! I sugges you search on google too should you have the same issue; currently the download is located at: [...]

the game is superb; great graphic and very funny to play (when it doesnt crash!) it remember of old style moneky island serie but way funnier that that and puzzles are very logical yet in a fantasy RPG like world. I would recommend the game, but the support is a fail, except the missing link the forums are full of ppl with many different issues; it is a shame yet a mistery how such incompetent ppl were able to build a such good game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
The Book Of Unwritten Tales is (other than a title that makes no sense!) a traditional point-and-click game with the usual humour thrown in. Set in a fantasy world, it tells the tale of an archaeologist gremlin named MacGuffin who discovers a book which gives the location of an artefact that can put an end to the war. As an evil clan abducts him, Ivo the elf witnesses the event and rescues him (at least temporarily). The gremlin tells Ivo about the book in his cellar and how the Arch-mage would know what to do. After the rescue, MacGuffin manages to pass on a ring to Wilbur the gnome and tells him to take it to the Arch-mage. And so the two unlikely hero's paths intertwine on their quest to put an end to the war.

The game-play is the tried and tested formula of picking up objects then either: using them, combining them, or giving them to someone in order to make progress. The puzzles are always logical and there's no sign of some of the crazy, illogical puzzles you tend to get in these games.

Clicking on objects in a scene gives you a description of them. The icon changes to a pick-up icon if you can place it in your inventory, becomes disabled if it is not required any more, or stays active if it is needed in a puzzle. This helps you realise what is important and what can be ignored. Pressing Space bar highlights all the items of interest rather than 'pixel hunting'.

Placing your mouse at the bottom of the screen pops open your inventory. You can right-click for a description of them, or left click to select them.

The voice acting is very good, so it's always a pleasure to listen to the dialog, but you can skip it by clicking if you wish. Early on, there's little nods to Lord of the Rings since you are playing as a small humanoid who is on a quest to keep a ring safe. As the game progresses, there's jokes based on fantasy games and some that 'break the fourth wall'. The game never takes itself too seriously.

It's a well-made point-and-click adventure, with likeable characters. The puzzles are a bit on the easy side though and it's not as memorable as other adventure game series. If you like this type of game, then it is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
Having played most of the classic point and click adventure games over the years, I played this one and found it to be very good indeed. It reminds me of the later Monkey Island and Simon the Sorceror titles and contains a lot of humour. The graphics are very good and the voices are well done. The only gripe was the fact that at the very end of the game, the voices and subtitles switched to German.
If you enjoy a good adventure game then this could be one for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
I whipped through this game in about a week of playing it at night. Partly because its not particularly challenging and party because I had so much fun with it that I couldn't stop! If anyone has enjoyed classic point and click adventure games like the Monkey Island and the Simon the Sorcerer series, this game is a must play! You will have loads of fun. And that's what this game is all about. Fun. It doesn't push you to use walkthrough's and it frequently pokes fun at other video games and movies of a similar genre. In addition, the artwork and graphics of the game are stunning in my opinion, truly adding to and complementing the gameplay.

The only small criticisms of the game I can possibly think of are that I needed a small patch, switching between characters can be a bit slow and I would have liked a slightly more difficult, brain teasing conclusion. However, none of these criticisms really detracted from the fun experience I had playing the game and I eagerly await the British translation of its prequel 'The Book of Unwritten Tales: Critter Chronicles.'

Play and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)